Mary Poppins

UntitledWe’re playing trick the old work computer.   It seems I can post photos if I use html, so you’ll have to settle for this sad, phone photo of my new handbag.   My wonderful, generous sister gave it to me for my birthday, and my League friends have dubbed it the Mary Poppins bag, because it’s deceptively roomy.  

I believe the phrase was coined last week.   I had to park on the street, and didn’t care to walk past the posse of neighborhood kiddos playing between me and my friend’s front door, whilst swinging a chilled bottle of wine, so …  I dropped it in my bag, which already had a box of Turtles and my iPad.   Maybe I did appear to be channeling Ms. Poppins as I whipped out the wine, a box of chocolates and my “e-book.”  The name has caught on, and I used it myself last night when I asked someone to grab my bag too when she went to get her own from the bag-staging bench our lovely hostess has just for her encumbered guests.

What you can’t see is the super-awesome strip of patent leather that is the exterior bottom of the bag.   It’s truly just about perfect.  I was a little surprised that Gretchen wasn’t drawn to the PANK lining, but Sis has a special fondness for sticking her head in this bag, for some reason.   Why yes, it does have a zipper and if I’d pull it shut…  but I don’t, because the phone lives in its pocket near the top of the bag, and that’s just one more unnecessary step at home.  When I’m out and about I do close the bag.

What movie character are you channeling these days?

This entry was posted in Bags.

16 comments on “Mary Poppins

  1. Karen says:

    A zombie. The bag is absolutely fab! I’m quite jealous and very happy for you all at the same time. So maybe a little Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum too 😉

  2. Susan says:

    Cute Bag!!!!

  3. gMarie says:

    Is that lovely Mary Poppins bag from coach? I love the colors very springy. What character is completely overwhelmed 80% of the time? I’m channeling that one. g

  4. AlisonH says:

    Oh, I *like* that one! And the description just gets better and better. And the Mary Poppins name for it is perfect–because it’s so cheerful.

  5. Nichole says:

    What a lovely bag!

  6. Katherine says:

    I LOVE COACH!! That bag is gorgeous. If I had that bag I would sleep with it. LOL! Good choice Chan!

  7. Bubblesknits says:

    Hrm….I think I’m channeling a teenage character…lots of drama here lately. /sigh/

    Love the bag. The colors are awesome! : ) I just found a roomy bag at Cato’s for 9.99. Pale pink and silver. It had to come home with me. lol

  8. StarSpry says:

    What a fun bag! And a great birthday gift 🙂

  9. kathy boyer says:

    WEll Fireman Troy calls me Mrs Doo little lately and I like it.
    The bag is gorgeous, and its YOU!! Happy Birthday.
    I just bought an insert for my bag that I bought with you in C’ville. It fits perfectly and keeps everything at my fingertips also giving the bag some structure. I got it on ETSY.

  10. Marjie says:

    If it works for you, it’s just great. Having the hard surface on the bottom is wonderful, because it will keep it from becoming stained in such short order.

  11. Nancy says:

    Love the bag and Mary Poppins, too.

    At the moment, I feel like I am channeling the Wicked Witch from the Wizard of Oz: houses seem be falling from the sky, and someone keeps snatching my ruby slippers.

  12. Ruth says:

    Very lovely bag, though I am not fond of big as a feature. :-). Channelling…the old woman who lived in a shoe…3 yr old house guest was almost the end of me.

  13. Blond Duck says:

    Elle Woods, of course!

  14. Kathy says:

    What a nice generous sister to give you such a nice gift! Glad to know that pretty bag is working out for you!

  15. I think duckie hit the nail on the head with this one, Channon. Can you hear me chuckling???

  16. Sue says:

    Love the bag!

    I’m feeling Scarlett O’Hara today saying “I’ll think about it tomorrow”.

Leave a Reply

