Puppy Parade!

photo courtesy of DHY

photo courtesy of DHY

Happy Thorsday, little friday and Thankful Thursday!   The girls have their own thoughts on the day, but I thought I’d share Dog House Yarn’s knitted puppy contest post

You can read more about the contest (pattern, rules, etc.) if you follow the link, but since this is my blog, I picked my favorites.   They were all awesome, and I truly went back and forth for days before I voted, but in the end, this girl’s dress won me over.

Yes, I intended to participate, but my knitting has been neglected this summer with everything else going on.   Plus, I couldn’t decide on a color scheme…  I thought maybe I’d do a brown and white dog with a PANK and purple outfit, but then I thought I’d use one of my PANK and purple yarns for the body of the dog… and time ran out.

photo courtesy of DHY

photo courtesy of DHY

Obviously, I like this one because it reminds me of the fur-girls and of Fred, and it has a purple-ish collar, and a real dog tag.  I would have been out-classed even if I had gotten my act together.  I’m just not that clever and creative.

On wild and crazy weeks like this one, it’s very grounding for me to take a moment to count my blessings. 

  • I’m so very lucky to have some phenomenal women in leadership in the League.  They’re inspiring, innovative and committed to our mission. 
  • I’m fortunate to have a very supportive spouse.   I’ve forgotten my breakfast bars every morning this week, and when I got to the back door this morning, the bag was hanging on the doorknob. 
  • I have the best friends in the world and we manage to stay connected despite hectic live and very different zip codes.
  • I have absolutely no appointments this weekend!

What’s making you smile today?

13 comments on “Puppy Parade!

  1. Mary says:

    Smiling at how clearly delighted you are NOT to have any plans for the weekend. Bliss, eh?

  2. sue says:

    I love all the knit pups. Wish I could have entered one. I haven’t knit anything recently but I need to get started on Rob’s birthday present. His birthday was last week so I’m already late.

  3. Bubblesknits says:

    Ok, those are precious! We’ve got a busy couple of days here, but it’s fun stuff. Like, tonight, we’re meeting up with some of T’s old friends from his college marching band days. Mom is coming to spend the night while we go out, GeekGirl has a spend the night date on Friday, possibly GeekBoy, too.

  4. Katherine says:

    The knitted puppies are so cute!! These two look like Gg and Sissy. Making me smile today–it’s my birthday and all my children and all my grandchildren have called me. I’ve been on the phone all day and it’s wonderful!!

  5. The knitted puppies sure are cute, Channon. But, not as adorable as those “girls” of yours:) I’ve been telling you to keep that man of yours. He definitely deserves a smile:)

    I’m smiling today because it’s August and August is National Coffee Month! (it’s the little things:)

    Thanks for sharing, Channon…

  6. AlisonH says:

    Enjoy your weekend!

    I will too–can’t wait till my brother gets here tomorrow night.

  7. Marjie says:

    I get the too busy to do anything thing. And I don’t know how the summer is more than half gone already. Bah.

  8. Nancy says:

    Please don’t hate me, but I am thankful to be retired. Frankly, I am always on the go and don’t know how I ever found time to work. Having more control over the activities in my life makes me smile!

  9. gmarie says:

    Super cute knit puppies. I should drive up the LYS and knit some clothes for bears this year – haven’t done it in a couple years and I should. I need to go look, but are the dogs being donated to charity?

    cooking dinner, reading books, knitting, walking, sunshine and the rain showers are all making me smile. Along with the bouquet that JB cut in the yard.

    Weekend plans – we are headed out of town, but should be low key. Winery with a gem show and then staying for the concert in the vineyard. After that, we are headed to a little coastal town that is having an art show on Sunday and then we’ll have dinner at a very nice seafood restaurant. Then rush home to bake my weekday breaky (baked oatmeal), do laundry, get fresh fruit and veg for the week and run the sweeper. g

  10. Jessica says:

    OHHHH! i love the knit puppies!! I bought a “Knit Your Own Dog” book, HAD to have it. It’s sitting on the shelf, no dogs have been knit. Maybe one day!

    I am lucky, and have the best friends too, despite our different zip codes. I also have a wonderful, supportive husband, and the two best houndies in the world, even though one of them is determined to limit my sleep. I am thankful for 4-day weekends.

    No real plans this weekend yet, just enjoying the surprise 4-day, and spending time with the dogs, as usual. I think the weather might be cooperating with us, too. Loving the lower temps.

  11. Nichole says:

    Oh, what a FUN contest!!! Too cute! I bet they were ALL adorable!

  12. Barbara says:

    Aren’t those cute??
    You already know my plans….we leave early Sunday. Will email, but not blog. Have a peaceful August!

  13. kathy boyer says:

    I have to check out those puppies!!!!

Leave a Reply

