Friday night reflections

Photo courtesy of the JLC & EJGG

Photo courtesy of the JLC & EJGG

I’ve been meaning to follow up and share the link to the JLC blog.   It’s probably not of much interest to non-members, but as a blogger and JLC President, I’m pretty excited about our newest form of communication and marketing.  The most recent post features our first fundraiser of the year at Trump Winery.

I know some of you are curious, so left to right:  Fundraising PR, Fundraising Chair, yours truly and Nominating & Placement vice-chair.  Didn’t I just say yesterday how lucky I am to serve with some talented, dedicated leaders?  Never mind that we share a fondness for wine too…

MV5BMTkyMDczNjYwMl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNzcxNzI0MQ@@._V1_SY317_CR0,0,214,317_While I’m babbling, I’m pretty sure I’ve already shared how much I like Firehouse Dog, but Gretchen and I just watched it again.   Yeah, Sissy was in the room, but she doesn’t WATCH movies the way Gg does.  No, it’s not related to being one-eyed; Sissy DOES like wildlife shows and STILL watches them with the Knight.

It’s definitely a “family” movie, but I love the almost vintage fire engine, the diversity of the firefighters, and the star is a terrier.  What’s not to love?  (Well… there *IS* something about it that makes me cranky, but it’s a spoiler so… shhhh….)

51EESbTkMbL._SY346_PJlook-inside-v2,TopRight,1,0_SH20_Along the same theme, I plan to spend the weekend reading, walking the dogs and reconnecting with downward facing dog.   Yes, the reading has a dog theme too.  First up is That Old Flame of Minewith a heroine who just happens to have been a Chicago Fire firefighter, and I’m betting the dalmatian on the cover represents a canine character in the book.  I’d already set my sights on that book before we found Firehouse Dog on TV, and yes, I’ll let you know if it’s a must-read soon.

What’s on your weekend agenda?

 

This entry was posted in JLC.

11 comments on “Friday night reflections

  1. sue says:

    Have you read Rottweiler Rescue? I just finished it after seeing Mango Momma’s review. I don’t ordinarily like mysteries but this shows so much knowledge of dogs that I enjoyed it. I also couldn’t guess the killer in the first chapter.

    I hope to start a few new projects this weekend if the dogs will allow me some time.

  2. gmarie says:

    I’m hoping to finish 2 pairs of socks that I have on the go. They’ve been hanging out for too long now. I really want to sew, but it’s not gonna happen this weekend. g

  3. Bubblesknits says:

    Mmm…not much going on this weekend. Hopefully more swimming and reading. Definitely more laundry. I was lazy last weekend and didn’t finish it all and now we’re scrambling to find things to wear. lol Oh well.

  4. Amy Darsie says:

    John, Zoe, and I are headed to Montpellier this afternoon for a reenactment. Tomorrow I’m cleaning and knitting. Low key is the key this weekend!

  5. I love that Gretchen watches TV. You two must look so cute together sitting with munchies, eyes glued to the set, lol… Whatever plans I had for the weekend, yard “sailing” and such are on hold, it’s raining!

  6. Mary says:

    Celebrating birthdays of DD and 3rd DS (birthdays are a week apart) with dinner out at German restaurant. Wedding planning for same DS.

  7. kathy boyer says:

    KNITTING and playing with Pie whenever I can. I have to work today, and my dogs are barking. I worked hard wed, and thursday pm shift and then did the Segway tour first thing Friday. OMG my feet were KILLING me. So feet up today and tomorrow whenever I can!
    I love hearing about all thing JLC

  8. Nancy says:

    Hopefully, I’ll get some knitting done this weekend, but I must do the weekly laundry and run the vacuum, too.

  9. Nancy says:

    Have you seen the movie “Red Dog”? I recommend it.

  10. Katherine says:

    I’ve been a bum! All I’ve done is sit in a recliner and read all weekend. I plan to do more of the same tomorrow. DH, of course, is watching golf on TV. I would love to watch Firehouse Dog but I need a clue to the ending pease–I can’t watch movies that end with the dog dieing!!

  11. Nichole says:

    Great group of ladies!

Leave a Reply

