Red hot read

51EESbTkMbL._SY346_PJlook-inside-v2,TopRight,1,0_SH20_Ahhh…  I spent the weekend reading.  Not only did I devour That Old Flame… but I also polished off several books in the Annie’s Attic series.   Basically Blogless Susan had warned me they were a little weak in the middle of the series, and they are, but they’re still pleasant reading.  It still fascinates me that the Attic series is written by different authors.  Sometimes, the tone feels different, but the characters never do.

That Old Flame… is something else.   If you prefer serious, “real” literature, skip it.  But if you like ghosts, cliched plots and stereotypical characters in a hard-to-put-down book, it’s a happy must-read.   I loved it, but then I happen to believe our own firehouse is haunted by its first chief – my father – too.

Susan asked if it was true to the technical side of the fire service.  Mostly, it was.  There were a few mistakes, but not so much so that I couldn’t enjoy the book.  The author did capture the camaraderie and trust that are key elements in the fire service, and even dabbled in the “what if” when one (or more) member of the team isn’t fully trusted.

I don’t want to give spoilers, because I think several of you might enjoy this book, but another thing I *REALLY* liked is that the book ends with another mystery, and leaves several unanswered questions.  I like a series that builds anticipation and keeps me coming back for more, especially when it doesn’t take itself too seriously.

Did you get engrossed in anything this weekend?

 

7 comments on “Red hot read

  1. Amy says:

    Engrossing? Not really this but I did make good progress with knitting.

    I was down this week so I think I’m going to reward myself with a new book. “The Devil In The White City” has been on my list for awhile now.

  2. AlisonH says:

    Penguins, sea otters, fishyfish… And then there was a sea otter playing out in the Bay putting on a display for all those captive humans at the Monterey Bay Aquarium, and the cormorants who just fledged in the past few days, putting on quite the display outside.

  3. Nancy says:

    Actually I did some reading, too. A fun read with a somewhat predictable plot and characters, but a good read nonetheless: Homespun Bride.

  4. Katherine says:

    I read all weekend too. First was a Lacy Steele mystery (Vanessa Gray Bartel) and then I started Stuart Woods’ Dead In The Water. The Lacy Steele book was good, but the Woods book had been in my mind all day and I can’t wait to get back to it tonight!! It thrills me to read your and your commenters reading lists. I want to read all of them!

  5. Marjie says:

    It’s great that you finally got a “down time” weekend. I’m working a little at cleaning up my office, with an eye toward reorganization before the summer is out. It might happen. I’m also pushing the boys to clean up the playroom, so I can get Dan to build new built-in shelves, reorganize the furniture (maybe buy some new), so forth and so on…..(do we see a theme here? Hmmm…)

    I’m getting ready to buy the boys’ summer reading books, so my reading is laid out for the next few weeks. Why, yes, I do read their summer reading books!

  6. gmariesews says:

    Some thoughts as I read through the comments – off to look up both of Katherine’s book. And I’m wondering why Marjie is just now (on August 5) buying the summer reading books – summer is almost over.

    As to your post – I’m going to look up the fire book. I tried looking up Annie’s Attic, but was quite confused by the numerous authors. Apparently I missed that memo. I’ve finished Silver Linings Playbook – I enjoyed the movie. I think I would have liked the book more if I had done that in the proper order – book then movie. I’m now reading The Art of Racing in the Rain and I’m enjoying it so much more than I thought I would.

    Had a lovely laid back weekend. Finished the knee highs, got the mystery socks to the toe decreases and finished them today. Started Hemlock Ring and I’m not loving my needles. Didn’t like trying to magic loop on a long circ, not liking using double points either – what to do, what to do? g

  7. kathy boyer says:

    Engrossed in Pie and her daily antics. The whole cat household now plays with her.
    She is so fascinating to watch as she experiences new things as a blind creature

Leave a Reply

