Two New (to me) Series

Courtesy of Amazon

Courtesy of Amazon

After talking about weaving last week, imagine my surprise when the first book in the Haunted Yarn Shop Mysteries, Last Wool and Testament, turned out to feature weaving. 

It was an easy read and the characters are entertaining, but unfortunately, I had correctly guessed whodunnit very early into things.  However, there were still plenty of twists and turns, so I was still a little surprised at the end.

I will note that if snakes make you squirm… well, it’s not exactly a spoiler, but consider yourself warned.   There’s one scene/chapter that caused me to put my feet up, and pet Gretchen lots.  I was relieved that I did NOT end up having bad dreams about snakes that night, but the Knight says it’s because Gretchen kept them away.  (Remember?  I’ve suggested the girl needs to take up knitting and quit snake hunting.)

Next up was the start of the Creative Women series, also done by Annie’s Attic, following the same, multi-author format as the Annie’s Attic series.   The parallels between the two series would be highly annoying if the characters weren’t so well-done and likeable.  Both main characters are young widows.  There are fraternal, male-female, twin “children” in both series, in Annie’s, they are her grands, and in CW, they are Shannon’s children.  Both Annie and Shannon inherit big ol’ houses from their grandmothers, and obviously, both series are all but set in a craft shop.

I’m just into book #3 in the CW series, but so far, I like it better than AA.  Basically Bloggless Susan says it’s because the CW mysteries are a little more developed, but I’m not sure…  I think maybe I just like Shannon better than Annie.  Both women are roughly the same age, but Shannon is more relatable for me.

My reading goal for 2013 was 100 books, and unless I cheat and add some low-page-count children’s books (The Jack Russell Detective books maybe?), I think I’m going to fall short.  Right now, it appears I’ll finish up around the 75 (give or take) that I read last year.   This is why I don’t do resolutions and goals!  I don’t want to read just for the sake of reading.

Have you discovered any new series or authors lately?

10 comments on “Two New (to me) Series

  1. kathy boyer says:

    75 books! That’s amazing. I’m told I need to read God’s Hotel.
    Still s l o w l y reading the Jefferson’s Sally book.

  2. grace yaskovic says:

    i don’t know if I told you before but Betty Hechtman has a series of crochet mysteries that I am enjoying a lot. There are 8 in the series I am on 4, but I only read about an hour a day—i exhausted the knitting ones so went to crochet.

  3. AlisonH says:

    Just reading your post might get me to finally start reading–I recently got Anne Frank Remembered, the story of the woman who helped hide the family.

  4. km says:

    I read 1 1/2 books this summer…but they changed my perspective on life and that’s what’s important. I’m guessing Holly would snake hunt. Mike caught her with a opossum in her mouth on Saturday night. He first thought it was her soccerball, but she sort of hunched and glared at him trying to hide her treat. But, when he told her to drop it and come…she OBEYED!

  5. Sue says:

    I hate to admit that I’ve gotten hooked on a series that were free on Kindle. They’re so awful that they’re funny, but now I have to see where it winds up. There are five in the series with another due out next year. I finished the second one last night. I don’t recommend them but what can I say, I’m hooked.

  6. Katherine says:

    I just downloaded Dyeing Wishes, next in the Haunted Yarn Shop Mysteries. I enjoyed the last one so I thought, “why not?” I am currently reading One Dog Night by David Rosenfelt. I love his Andy Carpenter series and really hate to reach the end of them.

    I believe you can reach 100 this year!! You can do it Chan!

  7. Nancy says:

    I have no doubt that you will reach your reading goal.

    My tally of books this year is terrible: I simply do NOT read enough.

  8. Kathy says:

    Looks like I’ve read about 12 books so far this year. Good thing I didn’t set any reading goals!

    I’m looking forward to new Stephen King in September and Grisham in October.

    Currently I’m reading a fictional account of Frida Kahlo’s life. Major events are real but obviously her thoughts and specific actions are imagined. After I finish I want to revisit some art books and nonfiction about her. I found the book a while back browsing in a book store and I’m reading an actual book.

    As much as I love my Kindle, browsing online is completely unsatisfactory. I would have never found this book without time spent in a bookstore.

  9. Marjie says:

    I’m another who just finds free books on Kindle. But I’m also reading the boys’ summer reading list. I am up to about 50 for the year, but have been at a virtual standstill for a couple of weeks now, due to reorganization and whatnot.

    And, no, I won’t be reading that book. My dreams are just too vivid without adding snakes. I’m still upset about the guy who insisted that I paint Brutus in yellow and white stripes in my dream last night!

  10. Last Wool And Testament sounds interesting….New to me series…Agatha Raisin Mysteries by M.C. Beaton

Leave a Reply

