One down, one to go

32121335_6483My fall wardrobe is almost complete.  Talbots is having a great sale, and I found the green cardi I was looking for.  Now, I think I want a leopard print cardigan, and I’ll call it done.  I am intrigued by leather dresses, but I’m pretty sure I won’t find one at a price I’m willing to pay, so I’m not actively searching.  Plus… wouldn’t a leather dress be hot and bulky?  I’m recalling a THICK ponte knit Lilly P dress I loved a couple of years ago, but after trying it on and feeling bulky and warm in the store, I knew it wouldn’t do.

There.  I do believe I’ve talked myself out of a leather dress.

And yes, I *DO* wear 3/4 length sleeves all year.  I love bracelets and generally have at least one on, so I am constantly pushing my sleeves up anyway.

This has been a weird summer.  The weather folks keep insisting we’re not far off the norms, but it has been wet and cool.  Normally in August, it’s pushing triple digits with humidity levels to match, but no rain, save afternoon storms.  We’ve had the humidity – and then some – but I’m not sure we’ve hit triple digits at all this summer.  I’m not complaining.  While I love sandals and summer dresses, I’m not a fan of high heat or bugs. 

What’s on your weekend agenda?  I have a busy few days ahead, but you’ll just have to come back later to find out more.

This entry was posted in Fashion.

11 comments on “One down, one to go

  1. AlisonH says:

    Knit (within reasonable numbers of hours). My plan is to have the baby blankie finished, washed and dried because Rachel tells me that brings out the softness in that yarn, to show it off next Thursday in thanks for her yarn and then mail it off next Friday.

    And then start in on a graduation-present scarf for a friend.

  2. km says:

    you might need a chevron cardi too? But it’s not 3/4 sleeves.
    http://www.landsend.com/products/womens-long-sleeve-fine-gauge-supima-chevron-cardigan/id_257403

    Our summer has been really cool too, but I’m not complaining. This week has been warm (90s) but no real triple digit weeks.

    School starts Monday!!! And I’m not ready for summer to be over.

  3. Bubblesknits says:

    Oooh…I’m going to check out that chevron cardi that km linked to. Love chevrons! I love 3/4 sleeves, too. Although, what I’ve been on a hunt for are those wide leg dress pants, preferably with an elastic waist. I’ve got a black pair that I wear a LOT, but I’d love some more.

    The weather has been the same here. This is the first week we’ve had normal summer temps. The kids are not loving car line right now. lol

  4. Marjie says:

    That cardi is a great color. I hope it satisfies your need for green. And I had a leather skirt some years ago, and they are kind of hard to move in. Plus, they stretch out after you’ve been wearing it for a while, so you feel saggy and baggy (something we don’t want, right?), so I don’t think you would like a leather dress, no matter how appealing the idea might be.

  5. Nichole says:

    Oooh… love that sweater! Great color too! I love 3/4 sleeve year round as well. And I second the not complaining about the summer we’ve had. While we did have a couple nasty stretches, it’s been quite lovely… and I’m enjoying the pre-fall we’ve been having!

  6. Katherine says:

    Love the green cardigan!! I haven’t thought about winter clothes yet but they keep showing up in the stores (along with Christmas trees! OMG) I’m glad you decided against the leather dress. I think you would have been disappointed.

    I’m so excited about the weekend being here! I feel like I’ve been on one of those fast moving trains all week. It’s time to get off!! No plans–just chill!

  7. kathy boyer says:

    DOWNSTAFFED and delighted for it. WHAT you mean our weather in JULY with you was cool? We are wimps…I perspired the whole trip in Virginia….i was sooo hot

  8. Sue says:

    I’m looking forward to Fall and wearing my heavier clothes. It’s been a strange year weather wise. I hope to start a new knitting project this weekend if I can locate all my supplies. We movedeverything during the flood and haven’t put it all back in place yet.

  9. gypsyknits says:

    Cute cardi.
    Summer has been a complete bust in the mountains. We had one week of triple digit temps and we’ve certainly had our fair share of rain….thought about a boat in the backyard at one point…lol
    Fall is here. Leaves are turning, foggy in the mornings, the barn swallows left 2 weeks earlier than usual for their southern vacation and the deer are ‘on the move’. Won’t be long….

  10. Jessica says:

    Oh, i LOVE that green cardi. That is just SO YOU!!
    I am guessing the leather would be pretty pliable, so not too thick…and since it is a natural material, maybe not too hot…but then i remember that episode of Friends, where Ross sweat so much while he was on a date, after using the restroom, he couldn’t pull his pants back up! LOL.

    This weekend was the Draft Party for Fantasy Football, so Sunday has been recovery day. Jason prepped the area for the cement pad that will be under the hot tub. I have been knitting, Fred has been helping me knit, and Odi has been helping Jason dig.

  11. Blond Duck says:

    That’s such a pretty green!

Leave a Reply

