Women’s Equality Day 2013

Happy Women’s Equality Day!   As the old cigarette commercial used to say, “We’ve come a long way baby.”  There’s still plenty of room for improvement, starting with the very Congress that created this day in 1971, but it is nice to know that there is a day to honor the accomplishments and remind us to keep working for TRUE equality.

streetViewIt’s also fun that it falls on one of my favorite events in the League calendar.  The Champagne Toast is only about four years old in our League, but it’s the evening when we toast our newest members and formally welcome them into our organization.   This year, I’m even more excited because the event is being held in our glorious, historic Paramount Theater.   It happened to open about a decade after women were given the right to vote, which also happened on this day in 1920.

I cannot imagine my life without some semblance of equality.   For those who aren’t long-time, regular readers, I was active in politics in college, was a professional firefighter for 12 years, and have spent the past 12 years in the male-dominated water-well industry.   I confess that until I became familiar with Occoquan (the town… its prison and history), I took my right to vote and the equality that comes with it for granted. 

I’m of two minds on that taking for granted.  As a lover of history, I am ashamed that I went to college just a few miles from said prison and yet it was never mentioned in history or political science that little Occoquan housed some of the suffragettes.  However, albeit unknowingly at the time, I was a trail blazer for women in the fire service, and I’m actually delighted that we came so far so fast that few people think anything of seeing women firefighters, police officers, etc. these days.  

Any thoughts on the state of women’s equality?

9 comments on “Women’s Equality Day 2013

  1. Sue says:

    What I see happening politically worries me and makes me furious. There are those among us who would rescind our right to vote along with all the other hard fought advances we’ve made. The struggle goes on.

  2. AlisonH says:

    My grandmother was hired to teach music at the University of Utah I think just before women got the right to vote. (Again, in Utah’s case, since they started out with it but were required to rescind it to join the Union.)

  3. AlisonH says:

    …Or maybe what I should say is I came up empty at first trying to think of women around me doing extraordinary things, and then I realized after typing that post that of course I know some right here–it’s just that they all seemed so ordinary to me (and that is extraordinary in itself, compared to where we’ve been) that they… the NASA rocket scientist with the doctorate in astrophysics, the friend who is if memory serves the head of her department at Stanford. Etc.

  4. Nancy says:

    A couple of years ago I watched a movie on the Suffragettes. I was surprised how little I knew about this movement – history books just didn’t contain a lot of information when I was in high school or college. I have never taken my voting rights lightly, but I appreciated them even more after I watched the movie.

  5. Katherine says:

    I believe that the biggest problem today is getting women to believe that they can do anything, and then not let anyone or anything stand in their way. The Suffragettes certainly didn’t! I was blessed with grandparents who went to college and parents who told me everyday that I could do anything I wanted to do! I never doubted that and I pray that young women today believe it! You have accomplished so much Chan and I know you must have learned early to not take “no” for an answer.

    Hope you have a wonderful evening!

  6. My thoughts on equality might frustrate some…but I will dare to say this; While I am in favor of equality, I don’t always agree with what the loudest voices have to say about what that equality looks like. Viva la difference?

  7. Blond Duck says:

    It was national dog day yesterday! 🙂

  8. gypsyknits says:

    For once I’ll keep my political trap shut ;).
    I admit being a SAHM for 30+ yrs was a challenge and unappreciated by peers and yes it was a J-O-B! 🙂

  9. kathy boyer says:

    Very excited for the TOAST event at the theatre that you took me inside of briefly!!! Now I can picture it perfectly. I’m in a female dominated career, but I push for nurse / doctor equality. A bit of a losing battle!

Leave a Reply

