The Big O-Five

DSCN2117

10-2008

Happy Thorsday, little friday and Thankful Thursday, but most of all, a very happy fifth birthday to Lady Gretchen Greer!

I thought I’d just share a photo from each year of her life.  She still likes to hang out on my desk when she’s at work, but this photo doesn’t do justice to how tiny she was when we brought her home.  She was only 4 pounds!

DSC00999

This is from her first birthday.  It was so hot that year…  I really didn’t get any great solo shots of the birthday girl, but she’s always happy to share space with the DIVA.

July 2010 014

And while there are CUTER photos from 2010, this one ear (or both!) flipped back is vintage Gg.  It makes the Knight crazy, and he has taught her to recognize “fix your ear.”  She will generally come to me to have the ear(s) flipped forward again, but sometimes, she just stares him down, seemingly pleased that it bothers him!

photo.JPG

Yeah, Sissy gets all the DIVA press, but Sis-ma (her benevolent alter ego) is very tolerant of the Brat, Gg’s own alter ego.  This photo from fall 2011 is a great depiction of what we call the “my sister is furniture” pose, which is seen almost daily.  The inner Jack Russell presumptiveness is alive and well within the generally sweet and timid wee one.

photo.JPGJust to bring everything full circle, you can compare this photo from last December with the puppy photo at the top of the post.   She takes up a little more real estate, but she’s still a tiny little girl who likes to be close to her pack. 

Thankful?  Duh?!  We’re all so very thankful Gretchen came to us.   She’s a bit of a challenge, with her highly (reactive) sensitive nature, but she’s so smart and so sweet and totally worth the extra effort it takes to make her world closer to stable.   Happy birthday Gretchen Greer!  I’m looking forward to a not-rainy walk this afternoon, since I know the last two have not been to your satisfaction.

Are you celebrating anything today?

16 comments on “The Big O-Five

  1. AlisonH says:

    Happy Birthday, Gretchen! Balloons and streamers and noisemakers, huzzah!

    Our nephew Ryan who lived with us last summer is going to be here tonight. I can’t wait to see him!

  2. Katherine says:

    Happy birthday Gg!! Your supreme JRT-ness Is appreciated not only by your people, but by blogging friends as well. Hope your day is super special and Sissy lets you be queen for the day!

    So funny about the ear–it seems to be a JRT thing and it drives me crazy when Macy’s ear is turned back. She just stares at me when I tell her to come and let me fix it. “Not bothering me so why should it bother you mom?”

  3. Nancy says:

    What fun to see Gretchen’s puppy photos! My favorite is “my sister is furniture” shot – too funny.

    Happy Birthday, Gretchen!

  4. Susan says:

    Happy B’day sweet little girl!!! You were a precious puppy and are still a precious “big girl”!!!

    Aunt Sus, Cory, Kenzie and Bagel

  5. Bridget says:

    Happy Birthday Gretchen! Love from everyone at our house. Have a fun day!

  6. Marjie says:

    Five years old already? I keep thinking she’s maybe 2, probably because she’s so tiny and timid. Happy Birthday, little girl; hope you and Sissy get special treats today!

  7. Kathy says:

    Happy birthday, little pup! Hope you get lots of treats today!

  8. We’re barking happy birthday to you, Miss Gretchen Greer! You remain truly adogable, the added inches notwithstanding. And WE understand tiny pups…Sasha was all of 3 1/2 pounds when she came home.

  9. Karen says:

    Yes! Sweet Gg’s Birthday 💗. I totally get the “my sister is furniture”, my wee one does that on a daily basis too. 🙂

  10. Krystle says:

    Happy Birthday Gg!! Much love to you sweetie on your special day!
    I love how tiny she was in the first pic curled up on your desk. Sending love from the North 🙂

  11. StarSpry says:

    Happy birthday to Gretchen! Great photos of the sweet girl 🙂

  12. Mary says:

    Every diva needs her day…not that Gretchen doesn’t get ‘her day’ most days, but still, Happy Birthday, sweet one!

  13. Blond Duck says:

    I love their little shirts!

  14. Bubblesknits says:

    I’m a little late, but Micro & I hope Gg had the happiest of birthdays! Give her lots of snuggles for me. 🙂

  15. gypsyknits says:

    Happy Belated Birthday to Gg from Mr. B & the Gang 😀

  16. Nichole says:

    Happy belated #5 Gg! We hope you had a wonderful celebration with lots of yummies and new toys!

Leave a Reply

