Exceeded Expectations

motivational_mileSo much for attitude and intentions.  Last year, I had great expectations and basically hated the race.  This year, I was worn out before I started, but improved my time by almost 3 minutes and can seriously say I had plenty left at the end.

Oh.

I should clarify that I’m talking about my 2nd Women’s 4-miler experience.

Even as the race started, I wasn’t sure whether I was going to run (vs. walk), but I lined up with a friend, and as we crossed the starting line, we kinda’ decided why not?!   I wogged…  I don’t call myself a runner.  To protect my back, I do a kinda’ low-impact shuffle that is part walk, part jog, and nothing like the sprinting or cross-country running I did long, long ago.  A seemingly bloggless friend coined the term, and it fits.

I didn’t push myself.  I could have done better, and am already toying with the idea of actually training for the race next year.  We’ll see.  This year, it was enough to just give the race – and myself – a second chance.  I didn’t hate it.  I still prefer wogging with the fur-girls, but there’s something to be said for 3,500 women taking to the road to raise funds for local breast healthcare.

There’s also something to be said for proper footwear.  Last year, I wore my favorite shoes… trail running shoes.  The course is 100% paved road.  This year, I bought a pair of not-trail running shoes and broke them in on the short walks where the girls and I  never leave the pavement, except for our driveway.  (The girls find excuses to off-road, even on our shortest walks.)  I’ve also accepted that while I love cotton socks, natural fibers are not my running friends.  Oddly, while I love a little negative ease (snug-fitting socks for the not-sock-knitters), I DO NOT like compression socks.  In fact, they make my arches hurt.

And no, there is no group photo.  We planned our gathering for about the time line-up starts.  Next year… maybe?

So happy Labor Day, America.  I’m celebrating with the girls, a long walk, some yoga, a book and lots of general relaxation.

 

11 comments on “Exceeded Expectations

  1. gmariesews says:

    I’m glad your race turned out better than expected. That’s always a good surprise, no? g

  2. Katherine says:

    As my Mom would say, “you did good.” Your plans for the day sound a lot like mine and they sound wonderful! Happy, happy!!

  3. Nancy says:

    Fantastic! I am glad that you had a good time and are looking forward to next year. I love the term “wogged” and while I prefer walking, I may kick my pace up a bit for a little wogging.

    Nice turn-out for the event: 3,500 women participating is amazing. Kudos to everyone who ran, wogged, jogged, or walked!

  4. AlisonH says:

    You learned, you improved, you enjoyed, you did good. Sounds pretty perfect.

  5. km says:

    Yeah for a good wog! Our kids have been grandparenting, and while M constructed a home office in a friends garage on S & S mornings…the rest of our time has been relaxing. Trip to a garden store. New plantings in the front. Trip to get M new jeans. Dinner out. Breakfast out. And running all the bags in the garage to the Goodwill. Kids come home in a few hours…and I’ve got to get ready for the week ahead.

  6. Walden121 says:

    Congrats! I’m glad you were pleasantly surprised with your experience!

  7. Ruth says:

    Awesome! Have a great day off.

  8. gypsyknits says:

    Wonderful! Enjoy your day off.

  9. Kudos to you Channon! I give you so much credit for joining this event. I am so bad walking, running or jogging for any event. Michele wants me to participate in The Relay for Life event they are having next year. We’ll see…Nothing much going on here today…enjoy your evening…

  10. kathy boyer says:

    Good for you CHAN!!! im proud to know you, AGAIN . I dont jog or won but I walk and Im hitting our eliptical again daily. As for the Firehouse 5k in a few weeks, I’m strictly support staff….yup gonna hand out those bananas!

  11. Blond Duck says:

    Kudos to you! That sounds like a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

