Between the Lines

I did a lot of reading over the weekend.  I read a few more Annie’s Attic books, and then picked up Between the Lines Saturday night.   I like Jodi Picoult, but the endings of her books always put me off, so I was hoping that having a co-author would temper that.

It did.  The book is solidly teen lit, and the co-author happens to be her daughter.   For the first several chapters, I kept reading only because one of the characters is a beautiful basset hound named Frump.  Eventually, I found myself turning pages because I wanted to see how it ended.

It was a pleasant book, but aside from some tender kisses, I’d classify it more as an older youth read than teen lit.  Yeah, the main characters are teens, but the themes in the book are ones most well-rounded children could grasp.

It was an interesting premise, but I don’t want to say too much in case some of you care to read it.   The general gist is a teenage girl – Delilah – is rather obsessed with a fairy tale, because she’s drawn to the main character, a teenage prince named Oliver.  Delilah and Oliver are both being raised by single mothers.  Somehow, Delilah can hear Oliver, so the book jumps back and forth from Delilah’s point of view, Oliver’s, and the actual little story itself.  Oliver and Delilah spend the book trying to get Oliver out of the book and into … reality. 

Now, I’m plowing through The Cuckoo’s Calling by JK Rowling under the pen name of Robert Galbraith.  It’s the September JLC book club #1 offering.  (We’re up to 3 book clubs at the moment, and yes, I’m in all of them.)  I didn’t want to like it, but one of my book club friends had warned me that it would suck me right in, and it has.  I’ll review it later; we meet on Thursday, so I only have two nights to finish, and I have meetings and this inconvenient thing called work too.  Hrmph.

Sorry for the lack of photos, but such is life with a grumpy old computer.  I could blog from home… but see above.  I’m busy reading!

8 comments on “Between the Lines

  1. Krystle says:

    I have The Cuckoo’s Calling on my list… I loved all of the HP books, so I wanted to see what else JK Rowling was capable of… I may have to download it later on the nook.

  2. kathy boyer says:

    Wow you have had your nose in the books ! me too, oddly enough. I am close to giving up on the Jefferson book; I feel like I need a class on each chapter…maybe I’ll skip ahead.
    Im reading the darling Homers odyssey
    book on the blind kitten. So many similariites between homer and pie

  3. AlisonH says:

    A good book is a glorious thing. Enjoy!

  4. Nancy says:

    What’s your book tally after this weekend?

    My reading has stalled: I need to start reading again before I forget what has happened in the four books I have started.

  5. Katherine says:

    I tried reading The Cuckoo’s Calling and just couldn’t get into it. I have it on my Kindle and will try again when I finish the book I am currently reading. You always come up with good book ideas Chan! Thanks!

  6. Ruth says:

    Reading tops blogging or reviewing in my world. Keep calm, and keep reading!

  7. Barbara says:

    Glad to read you liked Rowling’s most recent book. I HATED the first one…Casual Vacancy. Makes one wary. I had both good and rotten luck with reading while we were away. Some, after reading, made me wonder what on earth I was thinking when I downloaded them.
    Frankly, I don’t know how you have time for reading!!

  8. Kathy says:

    Told you it was pretty good! My question is how does it compare to other mysteries. I don’t read enough of them to know if its spectacular as far as mysteries go or just average but entertaining.

Leave a Reply

