Saint Nick

There’s so much loss right now in the doggy bloggy community.  Please visit Marjie and her family and Sue and her pack to wish them sympathy.

joan pic 003

Nick, Christmas 2007

Last Thursday, the inlaws’ sweet St. Nick, aka: Nick, Nu-nu made his journey to the Bridge.  He would have been 13 later this month.  I’ve known many shelties, but Nick was the only black and white one I’ve had the pleasure to meet.   Nick was ready for his journey; he’d battled bladder stones for years, and had been completely deaf for several months.  In the end, his mobility was the issue.  He was having more and more trouble getting up and was falling regularly.  Thursday morning, his feet went out from under him and he couldn’t stand even with assistance in the house.

It’s always too soon when a beloved pet leaves us, but what an honor it is to know such loving, happy creatures.

8 comments on “Saint Nick

  1. sue says:

    We’re so sorry. Nick looked like a lovely dog and I know he’ll be missed. There will be a party at the bridge to welcome all the newcomers.

  2. kathy boyer says:

    NIck was a beauty!!! I walked dogs to help out at the shelter last night when they were short. It helped to be around them; so soulful and wanting to be adopted!

  3. Katherine says:

    I’m so sorry to hear of the loss of Nick! Shelties are such loving dogs. My mother had a gold and brown Sheltie named Angel. I’m sure Angel and Nick are chasing rainbows together!

  4. AlisonH says:

    What a beautiful dog he was! I’ve never seen a black and white one either. And clearly he was well loved.

  5. Mary says:

    Sorry to hear about Nick and his suffering. As you said, a lot of loss in the dog-blog world.

  6. gypsyknits says:

    So sorry for the loss of Nick. He was certainly a beautiful well loved pup. ((hugs))

  7. Nichole says:

    OMG… I’m just now learning all of the devastating news of the week… 😦 I thought I was dreaming when I saw you type Marjie……. Life is so unfair. I’m glad Nick lead a very happy, long life … and may he be happily romping over the Bridge.

Leave a Reply

