Ramble, Raffle, BROOD, Bentley

Because life does ebb and flow, I cried at a stoplight on my way home yesterday.  Not only had I enjoyed a rooftop meeting on a perfect late-summer evening with two passionate, League-leader-friends, but when I checked my email, I found a wonderful surprise…

I won.

Image property of Sir Bentley Art

Image property of Sir Bentley Art

I do enter raffles when they benefit a cause I want to support, and I do aspire to a life stage when I can do more than just pay dues and throw a few extra dollars now and again at Basset Rescue of the Old Dominion.  (Virginia = Old Dominion)  I had meant to check on some of the auctions for this weekend’s Ramble (think bassets on parade?), but life got in the way.  Thank goodness for social media; somehow, I managed to click over and enter a special raffle for some Sir Bentley scenes.  The four seasons were represented, and the winter one is based on the Christmas Carol.

No coincidence;  I love that story.  I can’t wait to see this in person.  I can’t wait to take the Knight shopping for a special curio cabinet or something for the blessed treasure.

But wait!!  There’s more!  We get a custom sculpture too.  Basically Bloggless Susan and I have been in conference – it seems the DIVA already has an agent – and we have an idea…

I am beyond excited.

I can wish you a happy Thorsday after all.  Gretchen is all about her happy Thorsday, because she’s showing off her birthday loot.  I am still so very sad for my friends and relations who have big doggy holes in their hearts, but I am insanely thankful for the generosity that allows for special raffles and awed winners.  I am grateful for every rescue everywhere, and all the people who care about pet health, safety and well-being.   And I am pleased that I still seem to have that lucky horseshoe or whatever it is that allows me to win more than my fair share of goodies.

So, happy little friday too.  Funny thing about these short work weeks…  Monday is really extra sunday, Tuesday is fake monday, Wednesday doesn’t feel like the middle of the week because it really isn’t, but Thursday is still little friday.

Do you have any really cool art?

10 comments on “Ramble, Raffle, BROOD, Bentley

  1. gypsyknits says:

    Congratulations! doing the Happy Dance for you over here and Mr. B is very happy for Diva (as he snoozes ON the couch).
    Holiday mix-up: yep! That just about sums it up.

  2. kathy boyer says:

    WOW that is an amazing Win CHANNON!!!!! I love it. I love creche scenes in general> SO happy for you!!! Rooftop dining sounds lovely too!

  3. Nichole says:

    Congrats – and how cool on 2 fronts – you get awesome art AND support a great cause! Win-Win!

  4. Nancy says:

    Congratulations!

  5. Katherine says:

    Congratulations!! They are so beautiful and so perfect for you! I love the one on the left with his tongue out.

    Short work weeks are great but I can never figure out what day it is and this morning I was wondering why it seems like I’m a day behind. I’m not behind on the swap though. The envelope will be on the way to you tomorrow morning. (Tomorrow is Friday-right?)

  6. Sue says:

    That is so neat, congrats. We have so much art around here, yet I’m negotiating for a fun piece from my sculptor friend. I’ll send you an idea of how it’ll look.

  7. Susan says:

    I am so jealous!!! I was in that drawing too!!! But glad, if I couldn’t have it, you got it!!! How is that for sour grapes?? 😉

    Basically Blogless

  8. AlisonH says:

    That’s so cool! Congratulations! And happy pinkness to Gretchen.

    Had to laugh at Tuesday being a fake Monday–Tuesday night I happened to see (good thing!) that the neighbors had put their bins on the curb for the Wednesday morning pickup. (“Wait–is this Tuesday?!”) Otherwise we would totally have been hosed.

  9. Yay You! I was laughing at the fake Monday phrase too. After working nights and weekends for over 20 years, I never knew what day it was. Sometimes Tuesday was my Friday!

    Congrats on the wins, Channon…Can’t wait to see the new curio:)

  10. Congrats on your win. 🙂

Leave a Reply

