Chemistry and Beauty Products

So…  I’ve heard all kinds of theories.  Some say you shouldn’t mix brands of beauty products, especially with skin care, because you never know how the different formulations will react.  I’ve never mixed shampoo and conditioner brands, but KathyB’s post last week made me wonder…

UntitledDo you mix and match?  Is this just some OCD head-game I’m playing with myself?

There’s an awkward selfie that inspired today’s analysis paralysis.  A rather good hair day on a damp, dreary day – unheard of!  What I did…

I used the AG Colour Care Shampoo & Conditioner my stylist sent me home with two appointments ago.  I had declared it sub-par, and have been just trying to use it up, and since today is a rainy day, it seemed like a good day to just throw in the towel and submit to a bad hair day from the get-go.

The little sample pack had some split end treatment thing with it too, and honestly, I wasn’t impressed with that either.  This morning, the pump wasn’t dispensing, so in frustration, I twisted off the whole contraption, globbed a “huge” dab out, saturated my ends, and… well… 

Huh.  Go figure. 

In other news, that super-awesome Cover Girl “orange” mascara?  Nah.  It flaked off all over my greasy little eyes.   It didn’t irritate my eyes as much as most eye products do, but it definitely wasn’t a pretty picture 4 hours later when I looked in the mirror.  Maybe I’m just meant to stick with foundation, concealer and lipstick?

This entry was posted in Beauty.

14 comments on “Chemistry and Beauty Products

  1. sue says:

    I mix it up keeping my allergies in mind. As a true woman of the 1960s I gave up makeup years ago but hair products are whatever I fsncy at the time.

  2. Karen says:

    Love your hair! As for the mascara, the one I like best is They’re Real from Sephora. Mid priced, washes off, makes your eyes pop! Love it. They even have a tiny version so you can try first. The whole line is good, this one is just my personal favorite. Try it, you’ll like it! 😉

  3. AlisonH says:

    Your hair looks great!

  4. kathy boyer says:

    YOu loooook mahvahlous! I GOT THE southern Lady thinking about mixing hair products!!! ??

  5. Katherine says:

    Your hair is beautiful. I’d opt for doing what works again and again! I DO mix hair products and makeup all the time. I have to stick with Almay mascara because it doesn’t irritate my eyes the way other products do, but I love their “for green eyes only” mascara a lot and would probably use it anyway. They used to give us samples of cosmetics when I worked at NM so I never knew what I was using. I mixed a bunch of stuff and it never bothered my skin so I guess I’m lucky!

  6. Marjie says:

    I mix. I add baking soda to my shampoo once a week. I also use Suave or VO5 shampoo because they are cheap. I never use rinse-out conditioner because I can never get it all out. And I use CHI volumizing spray just before I dry my hair. I use Revlon mascara, L’Oreal foundation, Cover Girl concealer, Revlon eye liner, and whatever eye shadow is in just the right color. Oh, and L’Oreal finishing powder, and cold cream for cleaning up the whole mess. How’s all of that for confusion?

  7. Nancy says:

    I use whatever is handy and have not qualms about mixing brands.

    Like Sue, I gave up on foundation, mascara, etc. years ago. I rarely made it through the day without looking like an aging raccoon, so I quit cold-turkey! I don’t regret that decision.

  8. Mixing products is a problem? Someone forgot to tell me that, so I’ve nearly always done so. I don’t wear make-up more than 2-3 times a year, and pretty little then…so really? Orange mascara? Who knew! As you know by now, I’m a big fan of ” whatever works for you”.

  9. Amy says:

    In the summer – it’s eye liner, eye shadow, powder, and sometimes lipstick. I can only wear concealer and foundation if its cold out.

    I use this gel-based styler called ‘ Confixer’. I got it at the salon when I chopped all my locks off. It’s really light weight, smells good, and tames the fly-aways. I think it is an Aveeno product.

  10. gmarie says:

    My hair products tend to ‘match’ in scent and brand. I also wear all the same brand of mascara but use different cleaning products. Oh and I use the green cover girl mascara – I get long lashes that stick! g

  11. Blond Duck says:

    I like the Almay blue eyes mascara– it really works. It’s actually navy with a little bit of shimmer. They have different ones for brown and green eyes too.

  12. Nichole says:

    Oh yes, I mix ‘n match daily! Almost always with shampoos and conditioners, and my make up bag is varied with different brands of cover up, foundation, blush and eye shadow (my usual go to… VERY rarely do I add in mascara and that would be whatever sample size I received most recently that hasn’t dried up).

  13. Nichole says:

    PS – Love the hair today… and well, we were talking yesterday about those not washing days and guess what? I didn’t wash today (for lack of time – it’s a class day) and my hair looks better today than it has in weeks…. strange day indeed!

  14. Jessica says:

    Oh yes…i mix and match. And I am a “product whore”…always have been, always will be.
    lets see, for shampoo and conditioner i use Aveda, Bumble and bumble, Garnier fructis ( love the smell). For product (hair spray, gel, etc) i use Tri products mostly…their spray gel, aero gel, and aero whipped gel. Its the best stuff out there. I’ve used almost everything out there, but now that i can order Tri online…that is what i use.
    For my face, i use Paula’s (The Cosmetics Cop)Choice products, and make up is mixed between Clinique, MAC, and Stila. For every make-up product i buy, i read the reviews on The Cosmetics Cop first. I have used Clinique since high school.

    Your hair looks great! Dont you love a good hair day?
    Sorry the orange mascara didnt work out for you. I was shocked that i liked it so much, because i am so in love with Clinique’s Super Glossy Jet Brown mascara. Still love it, but i’m in serious like with the orange stuff, too.

Leave a Reply

