343 x 12

12 years ago today, 343 firefighters died in the line of duty, and rougly ten times as many people total lost their lives in New York, Pennsylvannia and Virgina.  (Yes folks, the Pentagon is in Virginia.) 

I’m all for a stiff upper lip and keeping on with life, but so many lives were changed that day, because of those terrorist attacks, and I think it is a disservice not to pause and reflect. 

Untitled

This flag hangs behind my father inlaw’s desk in his office.  We owe it to them and to those who loved them, to keep remembering.

This entry was posted in History.

12 comments on “343 x 12

  1. sue says:

    Rewatching the footage this morning I still feel the shock, fear, anxiety and sadness. It will be with me always.

  2. Katherine says:

    Thank you Chan for a beautiful tribute! I remember well where I was and what I was doing at the moment the first reports came in. It has forever changed the lives of Americans and has certainly changed mine and those of our family. My prayers today are for the families of the lost ones–so many and so precious!

  3. Nancy says:

    Hard to believe it has been 12 years since that tragic day that changed the world. May we never forget those who died and may the families and the survivors find peace.

    The flag poster is amazing: I haven’t seen anything like it.

  4. Betty Riggs says:

    Thanks Daughter, proud of you! Yes, many lives were changed that day. But even those of us who know freedom isn’t free, we to seldom honor or follow the footsteps of those who paid the price from the ultimate price to those who scare their famlies with their nightmare yells as they relive the horrows that they lived.
    Thanks to all of those who stand firm for freedom!!!

  5. Nichole says:

    Well stated……. never forget.

  6. Marjie says:

    Ryan had been in Kindergarten for 6 days that morning. And now he’s a senior in high school. And all of our lives have been changed, and not all of those changes are positive. It is incumbent upon me to ascertain that my children never forget.

  7. AlisonH says:

    What a powerful flag.

    I was coming home a few minutes ago and the radio was giving a brief biography of person after person. Starting, as I switched it on, with a little girl scout. Oh honey.

  8. gmarie says:

    I find it hard to believe that it was 12 years ago. It often still feels like just last month. I love that flag behind the FIL’s desk. Very nice tribute. I am continually thankful for people who put their lives in harm’s way so I can do whatever I want on a daily basis. Thank you. g

  9. Blond Duck says:

    It’s so sad. I was in physics class.

  10. Barbara says:

    It was amazing to me that the 9/11 films were only shown by one or perhaps two TV shows. Why shouldn’t we remember???
    Tracy sent me some marvelous live videos of the lights last night.

  11. gypsyknits says:

    A sad day indeed and a beautiful tribute. God Bless those who continue to protect America.

  12. Jessica says:

    I remember it so vividly, the entire day. Watching as the 2nd plane flew into the building. That sinking feeling a little later when it was announced it was a terrorist attack, when i realized we were going to go to war. Talking on the phone with my friend as she sat at work on Corps Staff as the first tower fell, and then sitting in the Officers Club with Jason as we ate lunch on post, everyone watching the big screen TV in kind of a daze. It was amazing i was even able to get on post that day, they locked it down minutes after we had lunch.
    Our lives changed so much that day, I honestly cannot remember what it felt like to be in a Army without war, back when all the deployments my husband went on were peace keeping missions.
    I think in our moment of greatest weakness, we became so much stronger, and found out that we are resilient.
    I will never forget the ones who fell first, nor will i forget the ones who have fallen since and continue to fall 12 years later.

Leave a Reply

