Wen 1 + 1

No photo today.  Trust me… you don’t want one.  Let’s just say that after a completely neutral impression this morning, by noon, my hair was far too greasy for public viewing.  Never mind that the Knight had a play date – er, invited one of our awesome neighbors over – but at least he came over while the dogs and I were wogging, and sweaty head and greasy head look a lot alike, especially when I’m almost being rude and hoofing it to the house quickly.  Hem.

My unofficial Wen resources both believe I used too much product.  We’ll try again tomorrow.  And yes, I routinely skip a day when I have nowhere to be.  I prefer to wash my hair daily, and that’s part of the why I’m trying Wen; I’ve been told by professionals and long-term hair colorers alike that the color lasts best if one doesn’t wash daily.  Interestingly, Wen advertises that it’s safe for daily use for processed hair, and then the bottle reads something like “you may find you don’t need to cleanse as often as with traditional products.”  Ummm…  double-speak much?

Since you’re here, can you tell me what “business casual”  for women means to you?  No, don’t go look it up, just shoot from the hip.  I’m pretty sure I have a reasonable impression of what it means, but yet again, erring on the casual side Podunk seems to be setting me up for confusion.

What’s on your mind today?

 

This entry was posted in Beauty.

11 comments on “Wen 1 + 1

  1. Katherine says:

    Good luck with the Wen. I think you may like the results using it every other day or so. You are very fortunate to be able to do that! My hair is so oily it must be washed every day. It gets tiring except that I have a “cast in bronze” routine that speeds things up.

    I think business casual can mean different things under different circumstances. I my office it means jeans or slacks with a sweater, shirt and flats. When I worked at NM it meant a skirt, silk blouse, cashmere cardigan and maybe wedges instead of 4 inch heels. If we wore slacks the sweater had to cover the hips. Go figure. Anyway, I would guess that the true definition for business casual is closer to my first definition. Just a guess.

  2. AlisonH says:

    Need to go wash the last of the baby spitup out of my hair. Totally worth it.

  3. I must have missed the reason for this Wen experiment Channon. What is it you’re trying to manage? As for the business casual question, I’m inclined to agree with Katherine. Dress jeans or pants with a nice sweater and flats. Sounds good to me!

    Thanks for sharing, Channon. Enjoy your Sunday:)

  4. Amy says:

    To me, business casual would be a nice short sleeve blouse, cardigan, pair of nice jeans or dress pants, and cute flats. Maybe a scarf or nice necklace.

  5. Nancy says:

    Business casual =
    Skirt, cardigan & flats
    Slacks, sweater set & flats

  6. sue says:

    Sounds like you’re not happy with Wen, so why not cut yiur losses and toss it. You gave it a try, now use something that will make you happier.

    I’ve been away from business too long to know. I do know that business dress in New York State is a lot different than business dress in Missouri.

  7. Marjie says:

    I’m with Sue on cut your Wen losses, since you have not been happy once.

    Business casual in my corner of the world when I went to an office? A sheath dress and jacket or cardigan, nice flats or heels if you prefer, or a skirt with sweater set or pullover top, worn outside the skirt, and belted at the waist, or something like that. My Podunk is probably a lot like yours.

    That said, I’ve been out of the real world a while, and was stunned at the clothing worn to a formal wedding, so I’m probably as clueless as you. Just do what makes you comfortable without being too formal (skirt suit). Oh, and skip the Hillary pants suit. It’s not pretty.

  8. kathy boyer says:

    ugh oh sorry about the bad hair day. Business casual means to me: No jeans. No suit required.
    sandals fine. no need for nylons. no shorts. What do I khow? I wear scrubs to work and play clothes otherwise.

  9. Barbara says:

    Well, you picked the right subject for me today….hair. My hairdresser really screwed me up this time…for the first time. Too short. Too blunt. To the point I have actually apologized to friends (and daughter…who said: what’s up with the hair?)! No point in going back until it grows out for a month. Mad. Very mad. Did I miss saying very unfeminine too?
    Re: business casual. If someone said that to me, I’d wear (depending on weather) 1. a suit or 2. a blouse and skirt or nice slacks.

  10. Ruth says:

    I’m all casual and no business, so it would be all guess work from me. Hang in on the Wen a bit longer. Re the seemingly contrary info…youCan skip days or you Can safely wash daily. Whatever makes you happy. Try NoT using some as ‘leave in’. I never do that…

  11. Kathy says:

    In my world jeans are definitely not business casual!

    Nice pants, skirt, neat top, jacket or cardigan to ward off a/c, heels or flats. I definitely prefer to err on the side of business rather than casual.

    No Capri pants, no tank tops, no flip-floppy shoes.

    I think it’s easier for guys!

Leave a Reply

