Dud or Doosie

Long, long ago, I began blogging so I could participate in swaps.  It’s been a while since I’ve been in a swap, but the awesome Kathyb hosts a great swap and this was fun.   

UntitledThe envelope arrived from Katherine.   It was filled with goodies.  The rules were simple; replace what you take with something of equal value, but if you open the closed package inside, you have to take what’s within.

I’m not good with not knowing, so…  I opened the little envelope.  As the writing on the outside suggested, there might be something neat or not inside.   I don’t know who put the item in there, but thank you!

UntitledI like the little project bag, and I also took the rusty orange – er, squash – Skinny Dyed Cotton.  Pardon the quick, sloppy photo, but doesn’t it scream fall? 

What does it want to be? 

In Wen news, I cleansed again yesterday afternoon.  I used 6 pumps initially, rinsed, and then put 2 pumps on the “ponyail” section as more of a conditioner, let it marinade for a while, then rinsed.

Today, it’s drizzly.  My hair is a little frizzy, but my scalp didn’t tingle and it’s not greasy so far today.   I honestly don’t know whether I’ll Wen again tomorrow or not.  Maybe the bottom half of my hair looks a little healthier, but I’m not sure.   I really expected to either love Wen or hate it, and … thus far, I’m ambivalent.   I don’t know whether I’d classify Wen as a dud or a doosie!

Now…  A New Leash on Death was definitely a doosie.  Susan Conant’s Dog Lovers Mysteries are new to me, and no surprise, this dog lover loved the first book in the series.  It’s not a new series, and I found myself laughing at the pay phone reference early in the book, but the author knows a thing or two about the world of dog shows, and about dogs.  I’ve already started the second book in the series.

Any duds or doosies in your world?

 

 

9 comments on “Dud or Doosie

  1. Sue says:

    Just bought some yarn almost that color. I must be getting ready for fall. I’m having a tough time getting into a book. I hate when I finish one I like and can’t get into another. Maybe I need a quick, light read to bridge the gap.

  2. km says:

    I started blogging as a private journal, but found swaps and dove in to online friendships. I could use another swap.

    I’ve been using new skincare (still MK, but the repair line) and I keep wanting to know if my wrinkles are better. I’m waiting for someone to comment on my skin. Maybe someone will notice your “different” hair and you will make the move from ambivalent.

  3. kathy boyer says:

    Awww Love that squash from Katherine. So glad you got a doosie!
    Im happy the Southern Gal thinks I’m a good hostess!! Y’alls sweeter than sweet tea!

  4. Lucky you, Channon. Looks like you have a couple of doosies there. It’s beginning to sound like you and Wen are not on the same page. At least you gave it a go though.

    Thanks for sharing…

    P.S. I had no idea about Brutus. I just found out. Unbelievable!

  5. Katherine says:

    I hesitated to suggest Wen to you because it is not for everyone, but the people I’ve talked to who love it can’t seem to live without it. I hope you feel it was worth a try.

    The squash Skinny Dyed is something I am sure you will love. I made a sweater of it in baby blue and I live in it because the fabric is so soft and snuggy warm.

    I experienced a dud this weekend in the form of a book by Leighann Dobbs, Brownies, Bodies & Bad Guys. I just couldn’t get into it which is saying a lot for someone who regularly reads two books in a weekend. I usually skate right through even the dullest book but this one didn’t grab me in any way! Sorry Ms. Dobbs. I may try again but I don’t know.

  6. Marjie says:

    That yarn color is perfect for fall. I see a scarf in your future! And at least it’s not purple or PANK!

  7. Nancy says:

    Yes, indeed, the squash-colored yarn is perfect for Fall.

    I have enjoyed participating in three of KathyB’s swaps – always fun to see what’s in the box/bag.

    Today, I purchased a new knitting chair/recliner, and I’m hoping it will be a doosie – to be delivered on Thursday.

  8. Blond Duck says:

    I’m just trying to get back into the swing of things!

  9. Nichole says:

    Ahh… good ‘ole swaps! I miss those……..

Leave a Reply

