Irony

Untitled Oh, the irony!  My sweet sister gifted me what has turned out to be my perfect bag, and Coach hasn’t repeated the silhouette.   I don’t know that I can carry it once fall become official this weekend, and I’m a little worked up about it.

Yeah, I know I *COULD* just carry it, and some of you will think I’m silly for not carrying on with a great bag that just happens to be in lighter colors that *I* associate with spring and summer.   Call me old fashioned and a slave to outdated rules, but I don’t feel comfortable carrying this bag year ’round. 

I do have my plaid tote, and I’ll likely return to it, but I’ll miss this bag.  It’s a little taller, a little lighter in weight and it’s just been ideal.  Evidently, I was looking for a modern Mary Poppins bag, that could manage my regular purse gear and not strain when I add an iPad, a bottle of wine and more.

Another thing I love about this bag that the reliable plaid tote lacks is that zipper across the top.  Granted, I rarely zip this bag shut, but when I need to, it’s an option I appreciate.

And those straps are perfect.  I’m really, REALLY  sad that Coach didn’t offer the same bag in maybe a buttery, toffee-colored leather, or something fallish in fabric.

Do let me know if you see something similar, will you?

This entry was posted in Bags.

19 comments on “Irony

  1. bittergirl13 says:

    What’s the silhouette? I’ve never owned a Coach bag, but I love everything about that one! Time to go troll eBay……

  2. Katherine says:

    Amazon has a bunch of Coach duffles and totes in ALL colors. I think their 30% off sale is still on too! When I got their email about the sale I popped this one (http://www.amazon.com/Coach-Signature-Black-Duffle-F15067/dp/B008M9S6JS/ref=sr_1_1?s=apparel&ie=UTF8&qid=1379521186&sr=1-1&keywords=coach+handbags) into my cart but I haven’t bought it yet. I’m trying to justify buying it when I just bought one a few weeks ago.

    Anyway, I think your beloved Coach bag transcends all seasons and could go into fall and winter with pride!!

  3. Nichole says:

    I am LOL-ing because I think that bag is perfectly acceptable to carry year-round, but… I understand! Do you get any use of the Seacoast Baby tote? I’m guessing that’s not big enough to house all your needs though. I started using one of mine for a knitting project bag (of course, I have at least 4 or 5 of Seacoast bags, but…).

  4. Karen says:

    Loving this bag, big time but understand the season thing. I feel the same way. How do you feel about Vera Bradley? My friend Maggie also makes fantastic bags and has a shop on Etsy. She doesn’t list but a few, but if you are interested let me know and I will take pics for you on Saturday at the Farmer’s Market. 🙂

  5. Karen says:

    Ugh. Bundaflicka is the shop name! She is getting ready for Rhinebeck so not sure what she has listed.

  6. Nancy says:

    Love the bag and hope that you can find its fraternal twin in fall colors.

  7. AlisonH says:

    Oooh, I *like* that! I probably wouldn’t use it for fall or winter either but I’d sure want to. Good luck!

  8. kathy boyer says:

    We are the same in this way Channon. I must have a fall colored purse and cannot use my good leather light blue from Mexico once September hits. Im still in love with my purse inserts that organize my current bag that is free form inside!

  9. Marjie says:

    I follow outmoded rules, too. The white shoes are done until April. Everyone laughs at me. But, that’s OK, the fashion police will not be fining me for having improperly colored shoes or bags.

  10. Ruth says:

    Does this mean I have to put all my fav bags away now? I’m pretty sure none of them would pass your ‘Fall’ test!?

  11. gypsyknits says:

    Oh this bag is perfect and the color? Even more perfect. I’d carry it even in fall :). Beautiful bag.

  12. Walden121 says:

    It does look lovely!

  13. KM says:

    Have you looked at the LE purses? One says the inside wipes out to keep it clean.

  14. gmariesews says:

    I need to see the inside and know how tall it is, how deep and how wide. Then I can look for another one for you – unless it’s already been found. g

  15. Blond Duck says:

    Did you check Banana Republic?

  16. Barbara says:

    Well, if you lived in Florida you could get away with it year round. Surprised Coach doesn’t have a fall version.

  17. Susan says:

    I carried my winter bag all summer because I love it, so if you carry your summer bag all winter, we will cancel each other out!!! 😉

  18. Bubblesknits says:

    I did buy a fall colored bag (nice steel grey) the other day from Target. Although, most of my bags are what you would consider fall colors, so I guess I’m off in the summer. lol Like Susan said, we’ll just cancel you out. 😉

Leave a Reply

