Downward Dog

Happy Thorsday, little friday and Thankful Thursday to you.  We’ve had the fur-girls at work with us all week, and we all love it.  Gretchen bounces and gets hyper-alert when the Knight asks her if she wants to go to work, and she’ll begin barking at me if she thinks we’re running late.  (The dog can either tell time or has the most remarkable internal clock ever.) 

UntitledI’ve been trying for years – five, to be exact – to get a good photo of Gg’s perfect downward dog pose, which she demonstrates several times daily.  This actually wasn’t the angle I was going for, but it’s the one that “took” so… I’ll take it.

Do note the tiny blob of pink below her nose.  Evidently, her tongue needed to stretch too.

UntitledSissy’s tongue is out on the post on the girls’ blog as well.  This however, is Sissy’s ideal pose.  I don’t believe it has a yoga translation, but we call it “Rub my belly!” and it is a command, not a request.  She’ll sleep like that too.  Modest, the DIVA is not.

I’m quite thankful for the chance to bring my dogs to work from time to time.  In an ideal world, I’d like to be with them 24/7 regularly, but given the DIVA’s high maintenance lifestyle (or medical issues if you prefer), staying at home isn’t an option. 

What are you thankful for today?

8 comments on “Downward Dog

  1. Krystle says:

    I love that Gg barks if you are running late! So cute (much like her downward dog!). Laying in the “rub my belly” pose, must be a female basset pose. That is one that Boo does all the time too, in fact my favorite picture of me and boo is one of us both laying in that pose side by side. Love that girl!

  2. kathy boyer says:

    Thankful for Al coming home! Her flight was cancelled due to our crazy weather but we THINK she’s still going to make it home TODAY.
    also thankful for:
    Pie, Bea, Tank and Rozzy. Thankful for gabepentin.
    thankful for Milkyway dark chocolate bars
    Thankful friend Helen can retire today from 40 intense years as a nicu nurse
    Thankful that the swap is ending successfully…..Grace’s package is on its way to me. Sarah’s swap is delayed..so I am worried about it from Judy…

  3. Katherine says:

    Macy has also mastered downward dog. Max prefers Sissy’s pose which we have chosen to call reclining side stretch. I’m so thankful for pets that keep us grounded and for working fur-kids to brighten up long work days!

    Gg is so cute in her pose!! I think JRTs are born with a strong sense of time. Macy told us yesterday, with barks, woofs and nose bumps, to not forget to unlock the gates because the lawn guys were coming. I had forgotten!

  4. AlisonH says:

    The good people that bless my life.

    And the fact that my son did not post pictures of me on FB–scrambling out of bed two hours early to catch a flight did not leave me looking my best. To say the least. (He shared photos with us and I looked at them and went oh, maaaan, tell me I didn’t look like thaaat…!)

  5. gypsyknits says:

    Awwww….great pic of Gg. LOL on the Diva 😉 but it is soooo her.

    I’m thankful for those (human and fur-beings who make me smile 🙂

  6. Nancy says:

    Love the photos –

    Today, I am thankful that my new knitting chair was delivered without a hitch and that I am retired and can break it in without any guilt.

  7. Marjie says:

    Someone told me that dogs, especially those with torsos which are relatively heavy, sleep on their backs to relieve pressure on their internal organs. It makes sense, but isn’t as cute an explanation as doggy yoga.

    I know dogs can tell time. Our neighbor down the hill had a golden retriever named Maggie when we moved in here. She soon learned that there were kids across the street, and she could play with them. And then she learned that they went to school. According to my neighbor (who was much older), Maggie would whine to go out at 2:40 every day, and sit in the street to wait for my kids to come home and play with her. She also knew when it was the weekend and the kids would not be walking up the street. Maggie followed this routine for the rest of her life. I was touched that she loved my kids so.

  8. Blond Duck says:

    I wish I could bring my dogs to work!

Leave a Reply

