Summer workout attire report

Over the course of the summer, the dogs and I logged roughly 275 miles of running, hiking and walking.  Some of my workout clothes are a year or more old, but even the newer items had a chance to get broken in and make an impression.  Here’s what I’ve learned:

Untitled

Taking a break on a dusk walk

On the hottest days, the dogs and I can manage a dusk walk.  I prefer a Skirt Sports dress over 7″ compression shorts, and Sissy needs her cooling vest.   I do have two different running skirts too, but they annoy me; the dresses fit looser and “float” rather than bunching up and/or sticking to the shorts.

All in all, I prefer cropped or capri compression pants.  Yeah, they’re hot, but since we are in the woods on our longest walks, I am uneasy about being too exposed.  I realize bare ankles are a bad idea in  a snake-populated region, but it’s a compromise and it beats overheating.

My favorite crops are Yogasmoga, but at $88, I don’t wear them into the woods.  I’ll wear them on a road run, but one of the other things I learned this summer is that my hydration packs “pick” my wicking fabrics.  Those packs are best over my cheap running crops and a plain tee or a wicking shirt so cheap I don’t get upset if/when it gets damaged. 

Which brings me to another lesson learned…  Save the expensive, no-show pants for the gym, yoga class or the barre class.  For just walking or even running down the road or in the woods, the $12-$15 Danksin Now pants are just fine.  Unless I bend from the waist to pick up Gretchen, my neighbors won’t know whether my pants are a little see-thru or not, and if I have to make a quick grab for the wee one, I don’t care who sees what.

For tops, I definitely prefer nearly full-coverage tanks in a wicking fabric, and whether I paid $70 or $12, they don’t seem to look good much past one season. 

Sports bras.  I wish I had a brand and a style to share, especially for those of us with … plenty of assets.   I have retired all of my uni-boob, narrow strapped models now that we at least walk briskly most days.  Smash and separate with a T-back of some sort seems to work best, but gosh I hate paying $60+ for something I only wear for 30-90 minutes and then it’s so sweaty-nasty it needs a bath.

Socks.  Synthetic, no-show, not compression.  Here again, the investment isn’t worth it.  It’s not unusual for me to wear them once and get home to find them quite muddy/stained.

This spring/summer, I tried Lucy brand capris (not compressing enough, fabric is far too thick/not soft, storage pocket across the back waistband is about 1″ too short for my iPhone), and a pair of Skirt Sports capris.  Skirt Sports makes up most of my workout attire now, and their tops/dresses are awesome.  Their bottoms are not soft and comfy like Lululemon or Yogasmoga, but I was able to add 3 SS bottoms not anywhere near full retail price, thanks to SS’s own specials and the fact they’re offered on Sierra Trading Post.   I have one pair of LLL crops and the Yogasmogas for public workouts, and that will just have to do.

Sorry for the lack of photos.  I can no longer make the “Add Media” button work here at work, and the new Flickr barely operates on this old beast.

What did you learn this summer?

10 comments on “Summer workout attire report

  1. gmariesews says:

    Hmmm, I’m having a hard time with summer being over. We had the perfect summer in Seattle this year – it was lovely and warm and only had a few days with horrible hummidity. Fall came in with a storm and I’m back in tights and boots at work today.

    I learned I need to walk my dog more. And pay far more attention to what I eat. I spent all weekend making a dress that should be fabulous and instead I feel pregnant in it. Not a look I want to sport. Frustrating.

    I learned names and what people do (at the new job). I learned that people do appreciate my knitting and entering stuff in the fair is fun, even if it’s not displayed well.

    That’s enough – g

  2. Katherine says:

    The cheapest and easiest to find sports clothes are the ones that I buy the most. I want to be able to throw them away without feeling guilty. I do invest more in yoga clothes, not just to look nice in the yoga studio but so they will wear longer and move more fluidly with my body. An ongoing delimma!

    I don’t know that I learned anything new this summer. It just reinforced the fact that I really hate 100+ heat!! So happy the temperatures are coming down. This is me doing a happy dance!

  3. Barbara says:

    Ummmmmm….snakes?
    After that word, I missed the rest of the post.

  4. Marjie says:

    That’s a lot of learning, and you didn’t mention the snakes but once.

    I learned that a whole house stand by generator is the best thing since sliced bread. It’s back on again today, because with temperatures of 53 degrees, overcast skies, no rain and no wind, naturally the power goes off and doesn’t get turned back on. So the rest of the block can sit in the dark. The lessons of last October were reinforced: Generator is Good. Cold and Dark is Bad. Not as profound as great exercise clothes, but it will have to do.

  5. Nichole says:

    Well, I just learned a whole lot about work out wear…and here I was thinking I’d start taking Tut for walks on the old rail trails by our house in every day capris…. hmm, probably not. Can you share a tale of compression vs non-compression with a novice like me? What’s the benefit of either?

  6. AlisonH says:

    Snakes and ticks and shivers, oh my.

    I learned that I won my bet that I could harvest apples off my trees after all in spite of all the critters could do. Ergo, I won my point with my hubby and now I get to plant a Comice pear when the yard and season are ready for it.

  7. Nancy says:

    Since I walk mostly the trails around town, I don’t have to worry too much about ticks and snakes, but the mosquitoes are a real concern in this area where West Nile Virus is prevalent. I’ve learned to be comfortable and safe I must wear a repellant that contains DEET.

  8. kathy boyer says:

    First off that a huge amount of miles in the VIrginia Humidity and heat. Hats off to all 3 of you!
    Confesson: I get on the eliptical in my pajamas for 20 minutes. I need to find some decent work out stuff for my walks around the town.

    Summer Lessons for me:
    Plant many more herbs next year. I loved the fresh chives and rosemary but I didnt plant nearly enough. Go golfing with Fireman more often. IT was glorious out on the Smithfield course.

  9. Mr. Puffy says:

    YAY!!! Summer is almost gone gone gone :))) I love Champion sports bras and I do think the Thorlo socks are worth the money because they cushion my feet well and helps protect my knees. Love the beautiful wildflower pictures from your last post. I’m curious how you feel in general about the new Flickr format (aside from it not interfacing well with your blog).

  10. That’s a lot of miles! This summer I learned that my house, dogs, and I don’t prefer house guests under ten yrs of age…

Leave a Reply

