Wardrobe Decree

(Sorry again for the lack of photos!)

After months of reading fashion blogs and hearing that if I don’t love it, if it doesn’t fit well, it shouldn’t be in my closet…  I get it.  I shouldn’t confess to wearing my Target “cheetah print” ankle pants with one sort of denim/chambray shirt or another three times in less than a week, but it’s true.  And I’d waited all summer to wear my coral capris with a plaid shirt and a dark purple cardigan, so it made great first full day of fall attire.

So, whether the JLC votes in a rummage sale as our new fundraiser or not, I’m going to cull my wardrobe.  That black with gold dress I’ve kept just because it’s a little black dress and every woman needs one?  Gone.  I don’t love it, even though it looks fine on and was wearable off the rack when I needed it.  Instead, I’ll keep my eye – and clothing budget – open for a truly perfect LBD that makes me want to wear it.

And the perk of having a smaller wardrobe to work from?  I get to wear my favorites more often… as in every day.  I’m sure I’ll still bring home duds that need to culled, but once I wear them and realize they don’t make me feel great, don’t make me reach for them even when I have plenty of other clean clothes… they need to go.

I’m even applying this to jeans.  I have two pairs that fit but I glare at them when they’re the only jeans clean, so… buh-bye.  I’ll replace them (eventually) with jeans I can’t stand to leave in the closet.  (Don’t worry; I have three pairs of jeans I do love, so I won’t be jeansless.)

Have you had an epiphany lately?

This entry was posted in Fashion.

10 comments on “Wardrobe Decree

  1. Karen says:

    Yes.
    I need to get out of the house more.
    I need more clothes.
    I need better clothes.
    My husband and son have more clothes than me!! How wrong is that?
    Cracker Barrel has surprisingly lovely, romantic clothing.
    I’m glad it’s Danskos weather again.

  2. Krystle says:

    Such an important fashion epiphany! I need to go through my clothes again. My problem is the bargain hunting… I am a sucker for a great deal, so if I see something I like for cheap, and I know I will get good wear from it, I will buy it. Though I have been getting better-Starting with my shoes! Jeans are next… I need to dump those that I don’t love..
    And I think I will share this post with P, as he has plenty he could afford to get rid of. I think he has enough tee shirts to wear a different one every day of the year. That will need to change!

  3. Amy says:

    I plan on going through my wardrobe tomorrow. I’ve recently purchased some staples ( new tshirts, tank tops for layering,) but I want to see what fits well and what I can’t live without … and what I can get rid of.

  4. Marjie says:

    I realized today that I need more 3/4 sleeve tops. I just cleaned the tarnation out of my closet last fall, and sent away 4 big bags of clothing. That was a lot of culling. But I never discard shoes. I just finished telling a doctor that I have shoes older than him – and it’s probably not an exaggeration!

  5. km says:

    I need to cull my wardrobe too. What’s hard for me is that after years of not being able to buy new, I feel the compulsive need to save everything. Even when I won’t need it. Trying…

  6. susancyr says:

    You could start a business, cleaning out all of our closets!!!! 😉

    Karen: What is not Dansko weather??? I have them for year around.

  7. Nancy says:

    I need to go through my closet with a critical eye and do the same thing. The question remains, “Will I actually do it?”

  8. Blond Duck says:

    My only epiphany is I need a new gym! I’m in the middle of packing up our house so I don’t want to go shopping!

  9. kathy boyer says:

    Well Our home is small and our closets are too, so I go through the clothes seasonally. I need to work on a few “uniforms” as I call my dress up go to’s. I need slacks and I need a dress.
    I also need new long sleeve t shirts. Does anyone wear a belt anymore?

  10. Barbara says:

    They say if you haven’t worn it in two years, get rid of it. I find that to be the case…did a decent job culling my wardrobe during the move, but still held on to some things, hoping I’d lose weight and get into them.
    My fave everyday is still capris and a Lily golf shirt.

Leave a Reply

