Dogsbar

Happy Thorsday, little friday, thankful thursday and first Junior League General Membership Meeting of the year!  Needless to say, I’m a little scattered at the moment, but I did want to thank Bridget for the goodies I won in her bloggiversary contest.  As you can tell by the title of the post, we were most excited about the Dogsbars.  Dog for Dog’s Dogsbar is new to us, and the fur-girls have proclaimed it awesome, so now I must find more.   (It operates on what I call the Toms theory; buy one, give one.)

Untitled

If you want to actually SEE dogs on Thursday, you’ll need to click over and see the blooper-like photo from my attempt at a photo shoot.

Bridget didn’t know that I’ve been thinking maybe I need to reconnect with the sock mojo that had a lot to do with my knitting addiction, so I’m delighted to have a new book and some pretty sock yarn to inspire me.  (There are in fact, two of everything except the book, so much yarn and a bar per dog, not that Sissy thinks that’s fair.  Sissy believes they should share each bar, with her getting the lion’s share, because is both larger and the Queen… and in fact, that’s how we roll in the Woods, because Sissy is the alpha dog and Gretchen is quite a bit smaller… and almost plump.)

So, I’m most grateful for Bridget’s very generous prize, but I’m really very touched that she – that anyone – is aware enough of me, my blog, the furgirls, their blog, and Sissy’s tremendous run of food allergies.   It was a truly special package!

I’m also very thankful for the incredible leadership team in the JLC.  I’m moved beyond words by the dedication so many of these women have to our organization, by their continued above and beyond performances.   It makes the tough jobs a little nicer when you are shoulder to shoulder with women who are willing to give a lot extra and share the same vision for what we are here do to.

Now, back to collecting my thoughts and preparing my remarks for tonight.  What are you thankful for today?

10 comments on “Dogsbar

  1. kathy boyer says:

    awww You should make some awesome socks!!! Its getting to be that chilly time of year.
    Im thankful my yarn shop has some wooden size 17 needles that I need for my yest. IM off to buy them. Thankful for great weather here….70s cool sunny

  2. Katherine says:

    I know the fur-girls are happy campers! And you are going to be knitting some super socks. I can’t wait to see them. Dogbars–I’ll have to look them up because I know two little dogs that would drool all over me for one.

    Today I’m thankful for work, no matter how hard it may be sometimes it still gives me more than I could ever ask for. I have a great partner, loving help, and great clients who are demanding while at the same time so appreciative. Life is not worth living without hard work!! Today and always I am praying for those who do not have a job to go to. May they one day soon have the chance to work hard at a job.

  3. Nichole says:

    Congrats on the win – nice goodies! 🙂 I’m thankful that I *think* things may be picking up on the job possibilities… even if part time. At least I hope……….

  4. AlisonH says:

    How cool! Enjoy!

    I’m thankful I’m actually using up yarn (there might be a lot around here) and that I’m enjoying it so much.

  5. Sue says:

    What a nice package. It always lifts one’s spirits to get a package in the mail. Of course the furkids always think it’s for them and they’re usually right Still….

  6. Nancy says:

    Your winnings are wonderful: I hope you can reclaim your sock-knitting mojo without any problems.

    I’m thankful for a dreary day because it gives me an excuse to be lazy. I may even squeeze in a nap.

  7. Marjie says:

    Gretchen is “almost plump”. That is pretty funny. That package must have made all of you very happy. And new socks to wear with your ill-defined business casual on cold winter days seems like a very good idea, with some nice yarn to jump start you!

    Hope your meeting goes well.

  8. Blond Duck says:

    I’m thankful for painting again!

  9. gypsyknits says:

    Congrats on the nice package win.
    Mr. Bettis sees no problem with the Diva Queen receiving the lion’s share of the treats. Why not? She is the queen 😉
    Wonderful on the JLC.

  10. Oh boy, I bet those girls are sure happy! Congrats on the goodies. So, that’s the kind of yarn you use to make socks. I’ve got some strange yarn around here that Marion refuses to use. Some of it may indeed be sock yarn!

    Thanks for sharing, Channon…

    I’m thankful for this awesome weather!

Leave a Reply

