The Returns

41tX-NwWwZL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-70,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_I needed really light reading this week, and basically blogless Susan was kind enough to let me know last weekend when The Returns was free again.

IMPORTANT EDIT!!!!  NO DOGS DIE ANYWHERE IN THIS BOOK!

Look at that cover.  Talk about an angel!!  Swoon…  I’m a sucker for damp baby basset ears and those big ol’ freckled feet, and if you are a basset fan too, click over and click through to the author’s page.   Her basset, also named Bentley – just like the basset in this book – is one handsome dude, with a wild … well, click over and see if you see it!!

Oh, it’s a silly story.   Think All Dogs Go to Heaven with a slightly adult twist, and instead of an animated movie, it’s a book.   And it’s set in New Orleans, so what’s not to love?  Sigh.  I’m a sucker for shrimp and grits and beignets too.  Anyway, if you don’t take yourself or your reading too seriously and like dogs, you might enjoy it.   It does talk a lot about angels, God and heaven as the cover art suggests, so if you prefer to avoid such, consider yourself warned.

Now, I’m doing some rather heavy reading for book club, The Gift of Fear.    It’s yet another book I wouldn’t have sought out on my own, but the woman coordinating this month’s selection is a dear, sweet, AWESOME friend, and she is passionate about this book.  It’s also our way to honor our fellow League member whose niece is still missing.  Life is going on, but Alexis is not forgotten.  I got rather misty at work today when I saw a Facebook post… She was named captain of the volleyball team before her disappearance, and the team they played this week honored her with the sweetest pink roses…

What are you reading?

13 comments on “The Returns

  1. Karen says:

    Do dogs die in this book? I can’t handle that. I just downloaded 5 new books from BookBub. All light reading, first up is Last Wool and Testament by Molly MacRae. Fiber shop and mystery, what could be better? 🙂

  2. Katherine says:

    Karen has a good question! I can’t read books or watch movies in which the dog dies!! I just finished the latest J. D. Robb book and it was a little heavy so I’m looking for something light for this weekend. I also started a scarf to knit along with the sock and mitt currently on the needles. I’ll be busy.

  3. gmarie says:

    Ummm – seriously? You tell us after it’s not free any more. Nice! I’ve been reading the Heather Wells mysteries on VDK’s recommendation – I’m on #4 and enjoying them. g

  4. Nancy says:

    I’ve been meaning to ask you about Alexis, as she and her family are still in my thoughts and prayers.

    My reading is hopelessly stalled and has been for weeks. Maybe this weekend, I will have an opportunity to pick up a book and read a few pages.

  5. Bought myself a book that looks to be wonderful while in Mendocino over the weekend…Agatha Christie, Around the World With The Queen of Mystery; The Grand Tour…also received books 1-4 of the Cackleberry Mystery Club from a friend…plan to start at least one of the above this weekend

  6. Barbara says:

    Just finished one about WWII British spies…non-fiction. Very interesting and it prompted me to order one about Bletchley Park and code-breaking. Nice change from the two book group books I just finished.

  7. kathy boyer says:

    just reading blogs….

  8. AlisonH says:

    I have had Gift of Fear recommended by many sources. I haven’t read it yet, but someday. Glad you’ve got something light to balance it out.

  9. Sue says:

    I just finished Unsaid by Neil Abramson. It was one of the most depressing books I’ve ever read. Everyone in the book is depressed from the lawyer who’s wife has just died to the vet who’s young son died to the vet tech who’s husband left her with a disabled child. The narrator is the lawyer’s dead wife. Animals die too, dogs and chimps. I almost set the book aside after a couple chapters but for some reason I kept going and though it doesn’t exactly have a happy ending, it has a satisfactory ending. This book is definitely not for anyone who has the blues.

  10. kathy says:

    Stephen King’s latest, Doctor Sleep, has sucked me in big time!

  11. Marjie says:

    You should have told me when it was free! I mean, who could resist that puppy face?

    I just read Poe Shadow, which had a great cover, and the book did not live up to its cover. It was under 400 pages, and I stopped to read two books by P. G. Wodehouse in the middle of it. That’s not a good recommendation.

    And I never even heard of this Book Bub thing. Probably a good thing; I could spend a fortune on books. Another used book sale in a couple of weeks might calm me down….a bit.

  12. Blond Duck says:

    Oh, this sounds too cute!

Leave a Reply

