Rummage, Tag, Research

While I wait for the first-ever online vote for the League to conclude, will you share your thoughts with me about rummage sales by any name?  I understand that in the Northeast, you call them tag sales, but what I really want to know is if you’ve ever been to, donated to or otherwise had a good experience with one?

The Fund Development Council prepared a great proposal – two of them, actually – but to my knowledge, the only rummage sale I’ve even been near is the one at my childhood church, and those memories are dark, hazy and … certainly out-dated.

Here are my questions:

  • Is a $2-3 admission fee a deal-breaker? 
  • Would you pay (significantly more… like $10?) for a preview of a boutique/designer section?
  • Would you appreciate food/beverage sales on-site?
  • Back to admission fees… if there is a fee, what age and under gets in free?
  • What else might I/we need to know if this fundraiser is approved and we muster to host one in the spring? 

They’ve sorted out pricing, donation quotas, what kinds of shifts (day of and before) we’ll need to work, etc., but having no experience at all with such, I’m feeling the potential for being blind-sided is high!

How was your weekend?  I turned my ankle (again) on Saturday, but otherwise, it was a relaxing, lovely weekend.

This entry was posted in JLC.

11 comments on “Rummage, Tag, Research

  1. kathy boyer says:

    Weekend was good after Friday nights work…..I got slammed in Newborn.

    I don’t like paying an entry fee. It stops me from going. IM so cheap.

    I like a cookie walk! YOu know where there are all those homebaked cookies and you get a glove and fill a box for a certain amount of money…

  2. Kathy says:

    I wrote a comment and the internet ate it! Basically I said I think the entrance fee would discourage people. Also, your plan is way fancier than any garage sale I’ve ever been to!

  3. Katherine says:

    I’ve been to lots of rummage sales but not with an entry fee. I probably wouldn’t go to one if I had to pay to get in because it diminishes the “savings” on the goodies I buy. Some have had beverages and even cookies and drinks but never food type eats. We have one at our Church every year that is well attended and makes lots of money for missions. One thing I enjoy is a bidding event with the bidding being done on paper at the display of the object. When the sale item is really good, like a painting or a donated cruise, the bidding gets quite high, being pushed by competition. I’ve worked the event a couple of years and the work is HARD! There is so much to do in preparation and during the event!!

    Sorry to hear about your ankle. As soon as I read that my ankle started hurting in sympathy. We are metaphysically linked somehow! Heehee!

  4. AlisonH says:

    A chance encounter with a church’s rummage sale once was life-changing. http://spindyeknit.com/2008/04/jonathan/

    Me, I would skip the entry fee. I would definitely offer food for sale. (Little kids will spill theirs. But they will be happy with their cookies and the moms will be happy that their kid has something to focus on.) I like the preview idea, assuming there was really great stuff there.

  5. The notion of a silent auction is a great idea. Not only do people like the idea of winning, they love the anticipation too! (people bidding on paper in front of object can sometimes make lots:)

    I don’t know about the admission fee, I would say no to that but, a preview fee if there is a big selection of novel items and or jewelry, is a great idea. People love jewelry at tag sales!

    I’ve never been to a tag sale where there were children so can’t help you with that. (although one of those blow up slides or something might be cool for the kids:)

    I once went to a tag sale, (rummage sales around here fall more into the yard sale category, where tag sales usually means higher quality) where there wasn’t very many people. When I asked the two ladies holding it why, because the stuff was a shoppers’ dream, they told me they didn’t budget enough for advertising. Heed the warning:)

    Hope your ankle is feeling better, Channon. Good Luck!

  6. Amy says:

    I think a $3 admission price is totally fair, though I’m not sure I’d pay additional money to see the botique once I got in. I feel like admission price should cover it all. Maybe up it to $5 and not charge for the other ?

    Food sales? Yes. I think that’s a great idea!

  7. Marjie says:

    Churches and schools hold tag sales hereabouts, and never charge admission. I think that might be a deal-breaker. Our libraries make out big-time on baked goods sales, where we members donate cookies, breads, cupcakes, etc. I can’t say I’ve seen frosted cakes or pies for sale, however. I paid something like $10 once for a mini loaf of banana bread in an adorable little baking dish, even though I just “knew” it wouldn’t be as good as my own. People love to take home goodies. If you have people who want to serve coffees and snacks, say at “The League Cafe,” that would probably draw in big bucks, too.

  8. Nancy says:

    I wouldn’t attend if a rummage sale had an admission fee.
    It is always a good idea to have some simple treats for sale.

    Make sure the items are clean and in good condition. Have an electrical outlet available for testing electrical items. Put small items in zip-top bags and group larger items in larger bags. It makes check-out easier. Offer soda flats or similar boxes for people to place their items in while shopping: they will purchase more if they can easily carry the items. Have lots of newspaper for wrapping fragile items as well as grocery bags for bagging purchases. Have teenagers available to carry bags, if necessary. It doesn’t hurt to offer delivery of large items (for a minimal fee).

  9. I’ve been to, and been part of, many a rummage sale ( by any name) and have never even heard of an entrance fee. Food for sale is a plus, preview seems like a good plan. Definitely budget for advertising as someone mentioned above! We raise good money each year with our Youth Group’s rummage sale…

  10. Blond Duck says:

    I’m so sorry about your ankle! I wouldn’t think $3 is a deal breaker.

  11. Nichole says:

    My parents are yard sale & flea market nuts! Around here, a few of the bigger outdoor flea markets charged $.50 – $2 entry. I don’t think it’s a deal breaker, esp for the regulars who know the goods for sale there. If you’re doing it as a fundraiser, you can state very clearly the entry fee is a donation to help XYZ. I would keep it minimal – $1 – 2 – but clearly note any additional donation is greatly accepted. When you do that, someone might just toss ya a $5 for the otherwise $1.50 entry free… But of course, it also depends upon your area and what is fair there…

Leave a Reply

