Octoberember

dscn0518

Fred, me, Mugsy circa 1997

Happy Thorsday, little friday, thankful Thursday and more.  October is packed full of remembrances and occasions here in the woods.  There are birthdays, death days, anniversaries, and a Gotcha’ day.  I’m not even going to try to list them all, but this is the month when many of our nearest and dearests celebrate or reflect upon something.  The girls are thinking ahead and are all ready for hunting season to begin.

Pardon the picture of the picture.  That’s a proof from my bridal portrait sitting.  Weren’t the boy-dogs handsome?  Mugsy was born on October 5th, and Fred crossed the bridge on the same day, 12 years apart.

Because this is a rather chaotic month around here, I’ll also mention that October 23rd is the 5th anniversary of Gretchen Greer’s arrival in the woods, the 24th is DIVA Sissy’s 6th birthday, and the 25th is our 16th wedding anniversary.

And I’m thankful for every bit of it.  Unfortunately, the way life rolls, if Fred and Mugsy hadn’t left us, we wouldn’t have the fur-girls.  I believe my maternal grandfather also died this week, 45 years ago.  I never met either of my grandfathers, but I’m grateful for what I do know about them.

This is also as good a time as any to note that October 11th is the end of a four-generation run for the inlaws’ family business.  That means retirement for MJ, Dae and Uncle.  The Knight will truly become self-employed, although he started his own business in a similar industry last summer, and has been working around the clock, sometimes 7 days a week for a while now.  I start a new job on the 14th, and when I’m not nursing a sore ankle and placating fussy dogs whose routines have been disturbed (and they don’t know the half of it yet), etc., maybe I’ll be inclined to share more.

I’m thankful for the 12 years I had at the inlaws’ business.  Despite the ups and downs and the end of the business, I can honestly say that yes, I worked (at one point) with my husband, his brother, his uncle, my inlaws and even the patriarch too, with Uncle’s wife showing up on Thursdays to deal with debt collections for a while, and we are all still speaking to each other, usually even in polite voices.  There were plenty of non-related by marriage employees too, and many of them were like family and are missed already.

What are you remembering today?

12 comments on “Octoberember

  1. Nancy says:

    Wow, you do have a lot going on this month. I love the photo of the photo – the guys are so alert and you are truly beaming.

    I hope the fur-girls are be allowed to go to work with you at your new job. If not, they will miss that.

    Remembering: my nephew’s BD on the 22nd and appointments on the 3, 8, 10, 13, 15 and 21. Gads, I almost need a secretary to help me keep them straight. Good thing my phone keeps track of these for me.

  2. Katherine says:

    I love the photo. You are the bravest woman I know to have Mugsy sitting in your lap wearing a white wedding gown!!

    Strange thing, I read all you have to remember and celebrate in October and realized that there is absolutely nothing going on with me and mine in October! We have a BIG family and every month of the year includes a birthday, anniversary or remembrance of some kind, except October. I guess I will just celebrate vicariously with you. Yippee!!

  3. km says:

    October is a big month for us too. 14 years on the 9th. And on the 27th it will be 6 years since my dad left us. My dad’s brother passed on the 27th of September. I’ve been eating pimento cheese and knitting to ignore reality.

    I can’t wait to hear more about your new job. But, that will have to wait until you actually start.

  4. Sue says:

    Love that photo. Mugsy looks so happy. Our month isn’t as busy as yours and I’m glad, but the events we do have are of supreme importance, especially on the 26th.

  5. Mary says:

    Can’t wait to hear about the new job. Yay!

    Oct is busy here, too: DD’s 3rd anniversary was yesterday; #1 son’s b-day the 23rd (sharing the day w/Gg, 24th is our anniversary (sharing the day with the Diva).

  6. AlisonH says:

    Beautiful photo!

    Suddenly remembering my grandmother, at 94, looking around on all her grandchildren come for Grampa’s funeral and asking when we were going to get together like that again: it was such a joyful thing to her to see all of us loving each other as one could only dearly hope for one’s offspring.

    My cousin Amy didn’t want to say, When *you* die, Gram, so she and I just smiled.

    Gram made it happen. Two years later she had my uncle send a large check to each grandchild to cover expenses with the promise of anything else incurred being covered, too, and two weeks later quietly slipped away at 96.

    At Grampa’s, I’d brought my camera to the graveside and my brother had growled quietly out of the side of his mouth, Not appropriate, put it away. I guess the others didn’t feel that way, because at Gram’s graveside a whole lot of cameras suddenly came out, cousins snapping cousins to take a bit of them home with them. There was much laughing. (No snowball throwing, but we could have.) There was much celebrating. We missed our Gram, but she’d had a good long happy life and that is a fine thing to take into the next one.

  7. Ruth says:

    Truly lovely photo of you and the boys. Remembering many things just now, as I was digging through a box of old photos just Monday. Change may be difficult, but most likely, in the long run you will be quite happy with the new “normal”.

  8. Marjie says:

    Great picture! October is indeed busy! GMarie and I both share days with one of your girls, but I’m sure you knew that already.

    Sentimentally, I’m sorry your in-laws are closing shop, but I’m sure it was inevitable. And since you’re all still speaking, that’s good. Hope the new job suits you as well; maybe they’ll even let the girls come to work with you. After all, what’s more business casual than dogs?

  9. Oh my Channon. You sure do have a lot on your plate this month. I’m terrible at changes especially under pressure. Thankfully the family ties are not totally severed. Self employment is always a big step but I’m sure your family is prepared.

    This month is quiet one for me on the home front. So maybe not remembering much but thankful that it is because next month will be making up for it. I’m excited for you, the girls and the Knight. A new season with ever lasting changes:) Thanks for sharing, Channon.

  10. Blond Duck says:

    You were a beautiful bride! I don’t envy your month. We’re moving the 20th and closing on the house, plus I’m teaching all sorts of classes– I can’t wait until it’s over!

  11. kathy boyer says:

    Channon, reflection before a new job is such a good thing to do. Look at you, the BRIDE!!! I got married in a hat as well. The dogs are so cute in your picture!
    Im thankful for Dr. Delgado our new optho vet!

  12. Barbara says:

    Such an adorable photo, Chan. Made me smile this morning!
    Yes, sounds like October is a month of memories for you. Andy busy days.

Leave a Reply

