Pasta Party!

Many of you already follow Louise of Months of Edible Celebrations, so you know why I’m posting.  I wish I could claim that I chose October 25th as our wedding day because it’s Pasta Day… but I had no idea.  But now YOU know, and you also are getting a sneak peek into the Knight’s famous Pasta Goulash.

UntitledPlease…  I know goulash has a definition and this ain’t it, but back before the man became quite the cook – and smoker chef extraordinaire – he created this flexible, dependable, quick mess, and that’s what he calls it.  Don’t let the misnomer or the simplicity turn you off; I’ve had pregnant friends demand the formula during that pre-delivery nesting phase, and returning JLC board members would be disappointed if *I* cooked on my night to host the pre-meeting meal.  Even though I have a meaty lasagna to be proud of, THIS is what people ask for, time and time again.

Ingredients:

1 box (or more!) of any bite-sized pasta, cooked and drained

1 lb. of ground meat, cooked, drained, crumbled

4 oz. pepperoni (we prefer the minis)

1 jar meat sauce or the equivalent from your freezer

grated cheese

Italian seasonings

So…  This is really more of a formula than a recipe.  This recipe is easily halved to serve 2 generous portions, or doubled to serve a small army.  We’ve used elbows, mini shells, corkscrews, ziti and more, and really, this dish is goulash-like in that is all about what’s available.

While the pasta and the ground meat are cooking, dump the sauce into a pan and start warming it up too.  Then, when the pasta and meat are ready, glop it all together.  The Knight NEVER uses the same combination of seasonings and/or meat twice.  When we’re using unseasoned ground meat, the seasonings go in the meat while it cooks, but he flies by the seat of his pants and seasons non-stop, even after the food is served.

Of course, the cheese is the final touch.

When you reheat, add more sauce.

Do let me know if you give it a try.  My cook runs on compliments and flattery.

This entry was posted in Recipes.

12 comments on “Pasta Party!

  1. I can’t believe the Knight is sharing his coveted Pasta Goulash recipe with us for the Pasta Party. Please give him a huge squeeze and a thank you! (better give the girls one each too:)

    I LOVE this “recipe” Channon. It proves that pasta is indeed quite versatile and always ready to be deliciously “dressed.” I can understand why it would be in such demand. Love the pepperoni kick:)

    Thank you so much for sharing, Channon. Your number is #3 but I really think you should share it with the Knight. After all, your anniversary is World Pasta Day!

  2. AlisonH says:

    Sounds good to me!

  3. Nancy says:

    I love pasta, but I love easy to prepare dishes even more. This formula recipe sounds great.

  4. gmariesews says:

    This sounds yummy! I’m gonna add it to the menu soon. When you say meat sauce from the pantry you mean spaghetti sauce, right? g

    • gmariesews says:

      OMG! I made this tonight. I added Hormel pizza toppings sausage (just because there was half a package in the fridge) the mini pepperoni, seasoned ground beef and penne. I tossed in some mozz and shredded cheddar blend. Then when I served it (in the same bowls you used) I told JB that it was the Knight’s recipe. He says, hmmm (trying to remember who the knight is) it’s good. g

  5. Barbara says:

    The Knight has a winner here, Chan. Love the pepperoni addition. My mother used to make goulash, but it’s one “recipe” I never watched her make. So many recipes were in her head and you had to write everything down while she was making it. Thank him for his willingness to share!

  6. Katherine says:

    Throw it all together in a pan? Sounds like goulash to me–and a grand one at that!! My thanks to the Knight for a meal I will try this weekend. We are hosting grandchildren while parents travel and what to eat is always a problem. Great idea!!

  7. Bubblesknits says:

    Hey! That sounds like a dish I could cook! 😀

  8. Jessica says:

    I make a pretty darn close variation of that with pasta sauce that is stored in the freezer…YUM!
    I love pasta, I could NEVER ever do the low carb thing. I can limit ’em, but I would never, ever restrict them!
    I think I am having pasta for dinner tonite, actually

  9. Sue says:

    I make a similar dish and also call it goulash. I guess everyone has a goulash recipe. In fact it sounds so good that I’m going to make it for dinner tomorrow.

  10. Ruth says:

    Gotta love a mon who cooks! One who cooks killer pasta and shares the recipe…winner!

  11. kathy boyer says:

    PRe – labor comment so cute! It must be amazing!
    I love when you do a recipe post Channon!!!

Leave a Reply

