Octoberfete!

Happy Thorsday, little friday, Thankful Thursday, last day of business for the inlaws’ company and more.   The girls have a little request for Shadow, related to the current flux in his life.

So, I’m going to cut to the chase.  There’s a lot to celebrate this month, and while I can’t pretend this will be the year I get my act together and have a great paw-ty for everyone remembering and celebrating, this CAN be the year I make a list so we can truly plan out Octoberfete for next year!

Please leave a comment with the date(s) and what you celebrate or memorialize in October, and I’ll follow up with a master calendar page at a later date.  (Like…  September X, 2014?)

Shadow & Pop

Baby Shadow 2 and Pop 2005

I am quite thankful for the time spent with my inlaws.  When I first went to work there, on Thursdays, there were three married couples and a total of 8 – EIGHT!! – Moores working in the same business.  I’ll miss the impromptu family lunches – like today’s – just because Uncle’s wife (the fabulous artist who did the painting of the fur-girls and the hydrant) called and suggested I call in the order to Tubby’s and she’d pick it up.

And there’s a fun slice of life in podunk.  I called.  Got asked to hold on… and before I finished ordering the first sandwich, I realized I was talking to a friend’s younger sister…  who knew which order was the Knight’s and joked that she might have to slip in some hot peppers (on egg salad with relish on white toast) in there for him.  She didn’t, but I’m content to sacrifice Nordstrom’s for happy little bonds, such as a sandwich shop where everybody knows your name/voice – and what your husband orders.

Don’t forget to leave your October dates to remember in the comments!

12 comments on “Octoberfete!

  1. Barbara says:

    Life is full of changes, Chan, but you have some good memories of working for your in-laws.
    Too many dates in my mind to remember…aside from Halloween. That’s one nobody can forget. No birthdays or weddings in my family in Oct.
    Opening of Lord & Taylor last night was a madhouse. The League sure came through. I hope they do well…I bought some Danskin workout clothes. Nice to know I won’t have to mail order them anymore!

  2. Nancy says:

    Happy times and memories are the best way to end a business. I love running into my former students in stores or on the street: strangely, I remember their faces but rarely their names (can be a bit embarrassing).

    Oct 22 – nephew Dwight’s BD – My family celebrates more events in July than Oct

  3. sue says:

    October 26 is birthday for Samba’s pups except Tess who was born the night before the 25th.

    We’ll miss hearing about the events there with the family and friends. Change is always tough even when it isn’t your own change.

  4. Walden121 says:

    I loved October! My birthday was the 4th and Halloween is always fun!

  5. Walden121 says:

    p.s. Change can be hard, but I’m sure we will hear much to come in your new adventures!!

  6. AlisonH says:

    Have a wonderful time laughing at that lunch, if you haven’t already (still 10:53 my time.)

    October is when my first child would have been born, had she lived. But then I wouldn’t have had my Sam, so it’s okay.

  7. Katherine says:

    You and your new job are in my constant thoughts and prayers! Celebrate this time to remember and be happy for both the good and the not so good. It has made you the person you are and we all love you!!

    I finally thought of a date to celebrate in October–The 15th means ALL tax returns and extended returns are finished for the year and we have two and a half months before it all starts again. I think I will dance on the 15th and call it “Happy Dance Day.”

  8. gmariesews says:

    Oh that does sound lovely. I’m glad you had a ‘nice as it could be’ last day. I totally get it. It’s the end of an era and you are having to say ‘goodbye’ again. No fun.

    Oh we are full of Oct in our house, but most of them you won’t care about – I might share anyway:

    10/2 – my boss’ birthday
    10/6 – JB’s brother’s birthday
    10/8 – my sister’s birthday
    10/22 – my uncle’s birthday
    10/23 – 2 very nice coworkers
    10/25 – JB’s birthday
    10/25 – my good friend’s anniversary
    10/26 – my aunt’s birthday
    10/31 – my baby sister’s birthday.

    I think I’m missing a few. Oh well – time to get back to work. Not making any progress at all today. g

  9. kathy boyer says:

    Well I cannot come close to gmarie!
    Your quaint lunch tale is sweet Channon!

    October: 31 Halloween!!!
    october 4th Tradiitional feast day of St. Francis Of Assist the animal patron saint

  10. Marjie says:

    G’s got the record of dates there, for sure. We have me on the 24th and my baby, Mark, on the 29th.

    Even if you hadn’t know the girl at the deli, it’s always nice when someone else will pick up and bring in the materials for a spontaneous lunch party! I’m sure this is a bittersweet week for you. Hope you have sunshine for nice walks with the girls this weekend.

  11. Nichole says:

    October is a wonderful month! 🙂 Birthdays galore here…

  12. AlisonH says:

    October is when, after 21 years’ anticipation, we finally got to eat fully ripe excellent Fuji apples from our tree. And two days ago there were the remains of a small critter that had tried fruitlessly to get in those plastic clamshells at one of those apples–the hawk had gotten it. Go hawk!

Leave a Reply

