Women vs. kids

Ariat Kids Legend Courtesy of Zappos

Ariat Kids Legend Courtesy of Zappos

I’m talking shoes here.   I wear a women’s size … most often 6.5 M/B.  Some charts suggest going 2 sizes smaller for kids, some, 1.5.  What say you?  I know some of my other little-footed friends sometimes wear “youth” sizes, and some of you have not-so-littles with a foot in each world.  I haven’t tried it in years, but I’m considering it now that ladylike heels are becoming less and less a part of my footwear.

Pros?

Cons?

Help!!

This entry was posted in Boots.

14 comments on “Women vs. kids

  1. Katherine says:

    My tiny Thai daughter-in-law often wears kids size flats and boots but I will have to ask her how she handles sizing. All other members of our family have the long-narrow-foot gene like hubby and I have. Anyway, love the leopard boots with a hint of pink!!

  2. Nancy says:

    I’m no help because I have a size 10-11 foot.

  3. Kathy says:

    Can’t help because my feet haven’t worn kids sizes since, well, forever. However, I had to tell you I thought of you in Dillard’s yesterday as I passed the shoe department. They had a big display of beautiful Luchese western boots. Lots of gorgeous boots there!

  4. Sue says:

    Haven’t the foggiest! Are you narrowing in on the boot search?

  5. Walden121 says:

    I’m not much help, big feet here 10 US, but my sister used to do that with shoes and skirts!

  6. AlisonH says:

    7.5 is the average. 6.5 is harder to find. I’ve never shopped on the kids’ side. I know my aunt with the 5.5M used to find expensive shoes all the time that were the pair that had had one in the window of the fancy shop in Manhattan (she lived nearby) that were a season past now, and she would get them for, oh, maybe ten bucks, because they couldn’t sell that size (and one might be oh so slightly faded from the light exposure, but not enough so’s you’d tell.)

    That aunt had a huge collection of nice shoes. Paid very little. I always regarded Mom’s stories about her big sister’s shoes with a certain oh-I-wish.

  7. km says:

    We’re on the opposite side. My kiddos are wearing the adult shoes. My girl found size 5.5 sandals and 6.5 boots. My older boy wears mens 8!!! (That would be a women’s 10!!!) He needs to stop growing.

  8. km says:

    PS…I kept the gray boots. I wore them out to our anniversary dinner on Friday! Love them. Love that they are flannel lined so they are ok with short socks.

  9. Marjie says:

    Kids’ sizes end around ladies’ size 4, so much smaller than you or I wear. My oldest daughter wears a 5 or 5.5, and sometimes she can wear kids’ sneakers, but not usually. So I seriously doubt you can find anything in children’s sizes. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.

  10. Mr. Puffy says:

    I wear a size 7 shoe which is considered small for my height (5’6″) and I’ve always felt my balance has been compromised because of that. It has never have occurred to me to look at youth shoes and I don’t know why because I often brows through the youth clothing department and often find blouses and sweaters. I am on the lookout for boots too on my never ending quest to find a comfortable and stylish pair!

  11. Blond Duck says:

    I wear size 10 and am depressed I can’t wear those shoes.

  12. Barbara says:

    Haven’t a clue. Shoes are impossible to buy without the kids there.

  13. kathy boyer says:

    THEY are sooooooo cute. I LOVE the look. !!!!
    I have to try them on to know…my size varies with the shoe maker…:)

  14. Nichole says:

    Having an 8.5 / 9 women’s foot, I can’t help you on this one… but good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

