Gift of Fear

414Zq7nPGKL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-52,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_Some of you are still praying and sending good vibes for Alexis, and I thank you.  Her family thanks you, and Save the Next Girl thanks you.   But the JLC (Junior League of Charlottesville) wanted to do something to honor our member-friend (Alexis’s aunt), so one of our awesome leaders scheduled The Gift of Fear as our October book club selection, with the blessing of Alexis’s aunt.

I’d say I’m the only fairly well-read woman in America who is late to the “party” with this best-seller, but at least one other book club regular hadn’t even heard of it either, and I know of at least one other friend who keeps up with reading trends who hasn’t read it yet… but is aware of the book.

I confess…  If a League friend hadn’t promoted the book as a show of support for our friend, as something tangible we could do to make ourselves and our community safer…  I wouldn’t have read it.   I mean…  I was a fire fighter.  I was a power lifter.  I went to college in Washington, DC and am not an unaware country mouse.

… and I got so much out of this book, especially from sharing it with other strong women who found so much value in its pages.   The very short version is… trust your instincts.  Listen to your intuition, and don’t worry about being polite if  you feel threatened, even if you can’t put your finger on “it” so to speak.

Have you read the book?

Do you listen to your intuition?

Has your intuition saved you?

 

 

14 comments on “Gift of Fear

  1. sue says:

    Have never heard of the book but it sounds like the lessons I’ve learned from life.

  2. Walden121 says:

    I hadn’t heard of the book before, but am intrigued and will go over to amazon to look at it once I am done with this comment. I try to trust me instincts, but I wish I was more comfortable doing so.

  3. Katherine says:

    I have not yet read the book but plan to very soon. My instincts have saved me on more occasions than I can count and I trust those feelings that shout “danger” to me. My friends tell me, however, they have noticed that when I am in a group I am not alert to what is happening around me. The two friends I hang out with say I am “out to lunch” when we are all talking and laughing. They are helping me work on that.

  4. StarSpry says:

    I haven’t heard if this book before, but I am very interested in reading it! They have a copy at my local library so I’ll have to check it out soon. Thanks for the recommendation!

  5. Nancy says:

    I haven’t heard of the book, either.

    Instincts and intuition have helped me a few times: I’ve learned to heed to that tingle at the back of my neck or in my gut – both signify danger.

  6. Never heard of the book before today, but intuition has been valuable to me

  7. Blond Duck says:

    I’m always double guessing my instincts, even though they’re right.

  8. Kathy says:

    I can’t say I’ve ever heard of the book either. Ever since the best-seller list was moved from the Sunday paper to the Monday, I haven’t kept up. Love the Sunday paper but don’t have enough time to read the weekday paper except occasional bits on the iPad. And unfortunately the book list isn’t an easily clickable headline.

  9. kathy boyer says:

    New book to me Chan. Thanks….Al may love it.
    I think it is imperative to pay attention to the hairs on your neck, OR your dogs neck. Huck was a great judge of character. Im sure it has saved me on more than one occasion. I just cant think of one right now. I am one to report any thing suspicious…..like the time I was behind a car and someone was banging on the trunk to get out!

  10. Marjie says:

    Looks like there are a lot of us visiting you who haven’t heard of this book. I was thinking about Alexis last weekend; sorry that there’s no news about her yet.

    I sent you a package yesterday; it was just a little something. Dave the UPS guy showed up early, so I didn’t even have time to find a note card, but I’m betting that, like me, you’ll appreciate a note scribbled on paper. Hope your new job is going well.

  11. Looks like you’ve opened a lot of eyes to this book, Channon. I must check into it. Thanks for sharing…can’t wait to hear about the new job:)

  12. AlisonH says:

    I was about eleven. Walking along a roller-coaster-hilly road. A car came barrelling over the crest of the far hill in view and I had this instant inexplicable sense of dread that got louder as it got closer.

    And over the near crest close by me. The guy stopped. He asked how to get to some street and was mad that I stayed across the roadway and tried to get me to come closer in answering. I tried to give him directions to the best of my not-a-driver-yet ability but he cut me off angrily and demanded I get in to show him. C’mon! Get in the car! Everything in his face and voice reeked of hate.

    By that point everything in me was screaming get OUT of here!

    Another car showed up over the crest there and wondered what on earth this guy was doing stopped in the middle of a two-lane but fairly major road; that gave me my break and I ran and the guy totally floored it and disappeared.

    It was a lesson for life to be aware of my surroundings.

  13. gypsyknits says:

    Have never heard of this book but will be certain to add it to my must-read list. Intuition or otherwise known as the ‘listen to your gut’ has saved me more times than I can count. Not listening has had major consequences.

  14. Blond Duck says:

    Hope you’re doing well!

Leave a Reply

