Whale of a Time!

IMG_9721Last Thursday, we had the honor of being the receiving non-profit for the podunk Vineyard Vines grand opening fete.  Thanks to the owners and staff of Vineyard Vines, and all the VIP shoppers who assured we got a significant check for one evening’s… socializing and shopping.  I bought a Vineyard Vines tote when the League sold them as a fundraiser a few years ago, and it looks almost new despite basically daily use, filled to the zippered top with boring League papers, yearbooks, cocktail napkins and the trusty gavel.   I confess…  that was the extent of my VV awareness.

I’m all in.  Their dock to town style suits my new work environment nicely.  This being very casual thing is getting easier every day.   I enjoy supporting the local businesses that support the League and/or the fire/rescue responders, but I’m a little shocked at how quickly I’ve fallen for the company with the pink whale.

If Vineyard Vines is new to you, think LL Bean meets Lilly P.  Lots of tees and ballcaps, and yes, I have one of each and the Knight has a tee too.  (I’m pretty sure he won’t wear a navy cap with a pale pink whale on the front, but for all the things we share… caps are PERSONAL, and I’m glad.)  If the tote is any indication, someone needs to declare herself the heir to my VV clothing because it will outlast me.

VV SS Fair-Isle Sweater

VV SS Fair-Isle Sweater

Now, if it will just cool off again so I can wear my pretty new sweater.

What’s new in your closet/town/life?

 

 

This entry was posted in Fashion.

10 comments on “Whale of a Time!

  1. gmariesews says:

    Ummm – I want that sweater! Seriously. Guess I’m going to have to have some ribs removed to inherit your VV clothing. That is stunning. Glad dressing yourself for work is getting easier by the day. That makes life better, no? g

  2. I popped on over to that link Channon and I actually like some of the stuff they offer. Pretty unusual for me as you well know:) Thanks!

    I think it’s so cute that you and the Knight wear baseball caps. Now that I’d love to see!

    Surprise! Three new flannel shirts from Woolrich, three turtle necks to match also from Woolrich and two new pairs of jeans! Yes, I finally went shopping for some warmer clothes. I had no idea there was a Woolrich Outlet store only 20 minutes way!

    Thanks for sharing, Channon…

  3. AlisonH says:

    Knitted till my wrists died at town hall tonight, trying to save a beloved local business from a greedy and proven-dishonest developer…

  4. Kathy says:

    Thanks to a day off yesterday I have some new items from Banana Republic in my closet: 2 pairs of pants, a knit jacket, a turtleneck. And from Clark’s, a pair of shoes and the cutest burgundy boots!

    http://www.clarksusa.com/eng/product/mojita_sorbet/26066574

  5. Nancy says:

    Love the sweater: it is really cute!

    I purchased two skeins of Noro sock yarn last night. I know I didn’t need it, but the price was good and the color irresistible. Sigh!

  6. kathy boyer says:

    Nail polish color: Halloween. Its perfect.

  7. Nichole says:

    Cute sweater… and YAY for finding some new workwear that you love! Bonus that you also love the company.

  8. km says:

    Love that sweater! I realized that I need a few new tops for my wardrobe. I have been able to pull out some handknits and wear, so I’m enjoying the weather. But, most of my long sleeved tees from last season don’t look great. I have a friend that always looks great. The last few times I’ve asked her where a top comes from, the answer has been H+M. I’ve never been there…and I need to remedy that.

  9. Marjie says:

    Don’t worry; if my weather is any indication, you can wear your pretty new sweater on Friday or Saturday. So glad you had a fun fundraiser and found a great place to shop! Your Knight may not be as glad, if the credit card bills are hefty, but it’s for a good cause, right?

  10. Nothing new here….yet. Popped over to your new site…and nearly choked on the prices. I guess I am really a tight wad!

Leave a Reply

