Branding and Budgets

Do you vote with your wallet?  I’m starting to be much more mindful of what my purchases condone, if not legitimately support.  I’m sorry Lilly P and Vineyard Vines don’t offer a full range of women’s sizes, but their charitable efforts both locally and in general allow me to be okay with their limited size offerings.  However, Lululemon’s founder has gone too far, and I will be unsubscribing from the LLL ambassador blogs I follow and won’t be supporting their brand (beyond using the products I already own) in the future.

Less than nine months after Lululemon came under fire for the “sheerness” of its yoga pants, the company’s founder says that woman’s bodies may be to blame for problems with the luxury workout attire.

“Frankly, some women’s bodies just don’t actually work [for the yoga pants],” Chip Wilson said Tuesday in an interview on Bloomberg TV’s “Street Smart” program. “It’s more really about the rubbing through the thighs, how much pressure is there over a period of time, how much they use it.”

SS Redemption Capri

SS Redemption Capri

If you love(d) LLL, consider Yogasmoga.  Their material isn’t sheer and feels a lot like the yummy, original Luon.  They also seem to understand that women wear their products to WORK OUT and thus, thighs might rub.  I own more Skirt Sports than any other line of workout apparel, but I confess, while their bottoms of all styles are rugged and do the job, I’ve never slipped them on for street wear as I have the Yogasmogas.  They feel more like … any other wicking lycra-like pants than the soft, comfy Luon that (in my opinion) made LLL worth the big bucks.

Are you a conscientious consumer?

13 comments on “Branding and Budgets

  1. I saw that segment on Street Smart. I found the guy to be quite annoying. You know me and this fashion “stuff” but I am trying to be more conscientious when it comes to buying food.

    Thanks for sharing, Channon…

  2. sue says:

    I saw those reports too. In recent months there have been several stores and companies that we’ve chosen to no longer support with our business. I’m trying to do my holiday shopping from sources that support causes we care about.

  3. Katherine says:

    I’m very careful to watch the political positions of various retailers and businesses. There are currently four or five that are no longer on my list of acceptable places to shop. They don’t have to believe as I believe, but I don’t have to shop with them either!

  4. Barbara says:

    Excuse me? Some women are too fat in the butt to wear their pants to work out? I’m sticking with Danskin.

  5. Nancy says:

    I heard that interview, too, and thought this man is shooting himself in the foot. Yes, I vote with my wallet every time I shop.

  6. Walden121 says:

    i don’t buy those because their sizes are too small, but I do agree, to say women’s bodies are to blame and not the gear is ridiculous!

  7. Kathy says:

    That guy is such a jerk, isn’t he? How many women have thighs that don’t touch? Maybe catwalk models. Recently I was reading an article that said non-touching thighs is often a goal of women with eating disorders.

  8. kathy b says:

    Some things really are best left unsaid~~~
    Loulou lost me as a gift purchaser

  9. AlisonH says:

    It’s all you customers’ fault for not having good enough bodies for our fine clothing, said no successful businessman ever. (Stockholder lawsuit in one, two, three…)

  10. Krystle says:

    I heard about the lulu thing too… very upsetting. If you are paying the price for their items, you should be able to use them for what they are supposedly intended for.
    That said, I get my yoga pants and workout gear from Target, Old Navy, Marshalls & TJMaxx!

  11. km says:

    He took a lesson from the CEO of Abercrombie.

  12. Bubblesknits says:

    O.o I missed that one. I’d read an article that said that the quality hadn’t improved, but this?!? Geesh! It’s hard enough trying to convince young girls/women that *healthy is beautiful* and that they don’t have to achieve “thigh-gap” or a certain clothing size to be accepted. It’s people like this CEO that burn me up. 😦

  13. Nichole says:

    There’s a total difference between what that jacka$$ uttered, as well as the Abercroonie dude and brands that just don’t have a HUGE range of sizes, but do so gracefully. 🙂

Leave a Reply

