Wine and …

I’m settling into a new routine, but evidently, it doesn’t include much blogging, keeping up with emails or much of anything other than work, dog walks and the musts in my datebook.  One of those included a Wine and Design mini-fundraiser for the League, even though I kept trying to tell everyone I can’t even draw a stick figure.

Before I share precisely how untalented I am, I do suggest you check out Wine and Design if there’s a location near you.  It was a lot of fun, and while I’m still arguing with the co-worker whose wife and mother had done it before, who assured me I couldn’t fail, I highly recommend it.  Before I show off my un-art, I will say it turned out better than I expected, and it was great fun, especially with other Leaguers and a guest or two.  (Turns out the local W&D owner went to school with a new JLC member AND said member’s sister inlaw, who was there to paint too.  I keep telling everyone… we’re all so very connected here.)

And I’d love to go back for the paint your pet session.  Wonder if the Knight would go with me so both girls could be immortalized badly  ?

Untitled

Well, there you go.   I don’t love it, but in all fairness, I don’t like yellow much, and the art just isn’t my style.  I should have taken a photo of the sample, but I didn’t, so … just imagine what it might look like if someone who knew what she was doing had painted it.  

Did I mention that Wine & Design handed me a check for the JLC before the session started?  So it was more than worth it, even if I have no idea what we’ll do with this canvas.  I had joked that I was going to give it to my mother inlaw for her birthday, but I really do love her and it won’t work anywhere in her house either.

Have you tried a new craft lately?

16 comments on “Wine and …

  1. I rather like it! I have a collection of photos and artwork in my house that are paths that you can’t see the end of just like this. I kid you not.

  2. AlisonH says:

    Better’n anything I could have done, and I’m with Person, that looks like fun.

    I have a sister who is a gifted, skilled, professional artist who gets several thousand a painting. Maybe that’s part of why I’ve worked so hard at getting good at my knitting?

    One thing, for photos, paintings, you name it, is the rule of thirds: the eye prefers things in odd numbers, and if it’s readily divisible into thirds it pleases. This is one reason why, say, polo shirts with two or four buttons are always passing fads and it goes back to threes.

  3. Kathy says:

    I’m glad you had fun even if you don’t love your art. My group at work is going to do the paint & wine thing for our quarterly team building exercise in December. I’ll report back!

  4. gmarie says:

    Umm – I like it. I’ve been trying to get to a wine and painting thing for a while. There is one local to me that serves beer (we all know I don’t do wine!) and they let you paint wine glasses – a pair. I love the idea of that because Jay could go with me and we wouldn’t have 2 of the same painting.

    Hope you find some balance you feel good about. g

  5. Katherine says:

    I think your painting is very interesting and would hang it in my home. Of course I have grandkids’ paintings scattered around the house that look about the same. Heeheehee.

    I am not a very crafty person–knitting being the exception! I guess we could call my recent passion for bread baking a craft. Maybe?

  6. Bubblesknits says:

    I agree with everyone else…I love it! There’s a chain like that here in Alabama called Sips ‘n Strokes. It’s always fun to see how different all the pictures end up. They even do kids classes/birthday parties…DL loves going there. 🙂

  7. Mr. Puffy says:

    OMG I LOVE it!!! You are so talented ~ I’ve not heard of this but then I do live under a rock. I have gone to those pottery painting places and been happy with what I made. Hope the new job/routine is working well for you!

  8. Betty Riggs says:

    Since you haven’t seen my new apt or bedrm. you don’t know, but that fits in my colors, yellows and browns, and I could add it to my collection of your arts and crafts!!
    Love you,
    Mom

  9. Karen says:

    I like it. I like that the colors are unconventional, I think you did a good job. I’d frame it and hang it somewhere unexpected. I worked in a Gallery and did custom framing and those pieces were always our favorites. 😊

  10. Ruth says:

    Darn good Miss Non-Painter! New craft? I feel lucky if I find time and energy to spend time with my ‘old’ craft!

  11. Ruth says:

    Darn good, Miss Non-Painter! New craft? I feel lucky if I can find time to do my ‘old’ craft.

  12. Nancy says:

    The colors and design appeal to my eye. Nice job!

    No new crafts here, but I did turn on my sewing machine this week after a four month hiatus.

  13. kathy b says:

    Channon. So we share something ELSE in common. I got a D in art once. The only D of my life.

    Stretching my knitting skills is enough for me these days

  14. Marjie says:

    Well, at least the path disappears to nothing, as it should. One of your commenters liked the yellow background, so you could gift it to her!

    I am afraid of art ever since the witch teacher in 6th grade smashed my clay pot because it wasn’t good enough, failed me on every single thing I ever did, and then told my mother at the end of the year that she was giving me a D out of the kindness of her heart. I wonder if that’s the sort of kindness that the Mongols exhibited before they slaughtered all of their foes?

  15. gypsyknits says:

    hmmm…I kinda like it. Not sure why but it’s rather captivating ;).

    Tried something new? hmmmm…Does trying to ignore Mr. Bettis who wants to run in and out all day long count?

  16. Nichole says:

    We have a couple places around here who do those painting nights… I’d love to try it sometime, but then again, I may fail as badly as I did with the needle felting (sculpture) classes………..

Leave a Reply

