Thanks and Giving

UntitledHappy Thorsday, Thankful Thursday, Thanksgiving and …  You’ll note it’s not little friday.  I’m most grateful for a very long weekend.  My new employer gave us two days off, and Sissy is determined that we are going to make up for the two days of walking lost to foul weather.   I think the fur-girls are also a little confused about the “gobble” part of the holiday.

For us, this is a quiet holiday, a time to contemplate and collect my thoughts before we launch into a busy holiday season.  The Knight and my sister also have birthdays in early December, so I try not to rush into the Christmas decorating and such.  I have done a lot of my shopping, but the right cards still elude me.

What does Thanksgiving mean to you?

12 comments on “Thanks and Giving

  1. Nancy says:

    Thanksgiving is the perfect time to reflect on life’s blessings. The Lord has blessed me richly this year.

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and those gathered around (and under) your table.

  2. Sue says:

    It used to be a day to get together with siblings and cousins and friends that everyone brought along. Now it’s a quiet day thinking about the holiday season ahead.

  3. gmariesews says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours. JB just switched over to the dog show to hear a fabulous quote. Unfortunately I don’t know who said it. She said “Thanks to all the dogs I’ve loved over the years, I’m sorry I couldn’t teach you to heel, but thanks for always knowing how to heal me.”

    for me the holiday is a time to slow down. Connect with family and friends and remember how very blessed I am. We don’t do a big meal, just a normal, nice Sunday dinner. We do keep certain traditions along – like the Santa puzzle. g

  4. Katherine says:

    Happy Thanksgiving Chan! The fur-girls look like it was quite a day. I am reminded, especially at Thanksgiving and Christmas, that it doesn’t matter which day we celebrate because the only important thing is being with the people we love! Even with all of our shift workers we usually get one holiday on the appropriate day, but not this year. So I think it is truly special that our whole family works together to find a day when we can celebrate our love for each other. I am so thankful!!

  5. AlisonH says:

    Happy Thanksgiving! And happy birthdays to my fellow December babies.

    We got to see cousins today and their parents with all four of them grown now, three married with small children, and the joy in all the interactions–the helping, the stepping up, the noticing when one parent needed help, the pitching in… It was wonderful.

    And it was fun to see one little eight-year-old’s eyes when she found I had made a chocolate cake just for her and that, despite dairy and egg allergies, that she could safely eat. Normal treats like normal people. It was worth the trip just for that.

    • chanknits says:

      As that 8-yr. old (only allergic to scallops, but my mother was… weird), I can assure you, you don’t truly know what a gift you gave her! Thank you, Alison. I know you enjoyed giving her that moment, but I wish you understood how special that makes YOU.

      Chan

  6. The Grrls don’t understand ‘gobble’?! No turkey for Sissy, I know, but none for you either? We had a nice dinner with our ‘family of choice’ and the youngest, who returned for a brief visit, making Sasha one happy little dog.

  7. kathy b says:

    THis Thanksgiving I’m very thankful for my role as a resource nurse now. THe days of mandatory this and that are over. I still continue to work in my profession but in a newer more relaxed way!

  8. Marjie says:

    Happy Thanksgiving! I’m thankful that I survived a cooking marathon! And everyone is healthy and happy! And that we had only a couple of inches of snow, which didn’t impact travel in any way! And that most of the leftovers are cleaned out of the fridges, so there’s room for normal stuff. OK, maybe not the last, because I have to cook dinner tonight, but still….

  9. Barbara says:

    Such a cute photo of the girls! Love it.
    I know, we get caught up in the holidays and don’t take time to reflect on all we have or all we can be.
    I’m thankful for my family and our good health. What could be more important?

  10. Nichole says:

    Hope you all had a great Thanksgiving!

  11. I used to hate it because it seemed like all any one cared about was food…but this year it was about being thankful for being on the right path God wants me to be on. For once, I’ve quit fighting.

Leave a Reply

