All That Jazz

Evidently, I’m very late to the Jazzercise party.  A fellow League member owns the local Jazzercise studio, and I’ve been meaning to go…  So when yet another League member posted on our private Facebook group wall that she was going to the 4:30 class, I decided to join her.

Let me give you a Jazzercise primer.  You might have noticed there are no photos in this post.  That’s intentional; Jazzercise doesn’t do mirrors on the walls the way most “fitness classrooms” do.  The main goal is to feel comfortable being active, so I’m pretty sure snapping photos wouldn’t have been appropriate.  Also, as I understand it, each location is independently owned, so your experience might be different.

  • Wear what you’re comfortable in.  I wore the same absolutely no-show (Yogasmoga) cropped leggings I wear for any fitness class and for walks and runs that don’t take me through brambles and brush, but the instructor looked poised for an exercise video, while some other ladies were in tees and pull-on pants.
  • Bring water.  This isn’t a prance and dance session; no matter your fitness level, you will SWEAT if you’re keeping up – or trying to.
  • It’s all very adaptable.  If you don’t want to do the floor work, don’t; keep standing.  If you can only do low-impact, march instead of skipping or hopping.   The instructor will still challenge you to lift those knees and raise those arms!
  • If you did grapevines with Jane Fonda, you’ll quickly adjust to the “modern” routines.  They aren’t the same, but…
  • Walk-ins are welcome, but plan on arriving 5-10 minutes before class to sign in, especially the first time.

I’ll be going back.  I know I need to do more cross-training, especially if I intend to run some longer races this year.   I can’t really compare it to barre classes, because Jazzercise is as intense of a cardio workout as you want it to be.  Barre is more toning, although I do have friends who use it as their lone form of exercise, just as some only do yoga or tai chi.

Have you tried Jazzercise?

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Fitness.

11 comments on “All That Jazz

  1. gmariesews says:

    I’m glad you had a positive experience. I wish I had a place to do jazzercise locally in a time that fit around my work schedule. I loved going to Barre, but I think Jazz would be fun as well. g

  2. Karen says:

    I have not tried it, but back in my cheerleader days, we worked out to Jane Fonda 7 days a week. I like the no mirrors, those days are long over! What are your thought on the new Sketchers Sketch Airs? Seen them? Tried them?

  3. Mary says:

    I have…but sad to admit it was many decades (no, not just years…decades) ago.

  4. Nancy says:

    I tried it a couple of years ago,and my heart was not happy. I probably should try it again.

  5. Kathy says:

    Sounds like you enjoyed your class!

    I have never been to an exercise class of any sort.

  6. Katherine says:

    Thanks for the info! I might try it in the future. Since I have been cast in the role of caregiver I have been “covering the ground” according to my Fitbit. I walked two and a half miles before noon yesterday as opposed to sitting in the office as usual. When this is over I will need a new source of exercise to keep up my fitness level and Jazzercise may be it.

  7. kathy b says:

    I think I would like it if it was a video I could do alone at home! Is there such a beast?

  8. Jessica says:

    I’m so glad that you liked it. Mine has mirrors, but they only show your lower half of your body? Kind of odd….I usually do not stand anywhere near them as I can help it. The new building has big open windows, too. No curtains. I have noticed a lot of people standing in the parking lot watching us. One guy was watching and just started shaking his head and walked off. I wanted to yell at him to get his rear in and dance before he shakes his head at us, LOL!!!!

  9. I hesitate to tell you long ago (multiple decades) I was in Jazzersize. Glad you enjoyed. I have a Zumba for Wii coming my way…no mirrors AND no audience. 🙂

  10. Sue says:

    I used to do Jane Fonda at home. The only class I even took was yoga. My sister-in-law teaches Zumba which I think is similar to Jazzercize.

  11. AlisonH says:

    Um. It sounds like great fun for those who like it. My personal reaction is a secretly panicked, nooo, I graduated from college–I don’t have to take gym class ever again! (shhhh)

Leave a Reply

