FO #1 of 2014

UntitledDon’t look now, but for the first time since May, I’ve finished knitting something other than a cotton dish cloth.  At least, that’s what Ravelry says.  It’s not as lush as my cashmere scarf for my now far-away friend, but it’s pretty, it’s for me, and it’s complete.

UntitledI’m not at all sure the two yarn companies in question would be thrilled with my cross-pollination, but I am.  Meet the Kudo Cascade Cowl.

Pattern:  Cascade’s Tangier Cowl is a very basic, happy pattern.  It’s beginner-friendly, but it has enough of a pattern to stave off boredom.  Six simple rows make a repeat, eight repeats make a cowl.  I’m not a fan of “baby cables” and these are especially lame up close, but from the distance, it’s just great.

Yarn: Plymouth’s Kudo is a fabulous mix of cotton and rayon with a splash of silk to make it feel luxurious, but at 198 yards, I cut it too close to recommend anyone else trying it, unless she’s willing to play chicken and risk tinking back almost 150 stitches to bind off.  It doesn’t have much “sproing” so once I stretched the cowl to slide over my shoulders, it wasn’t excited about slimming back down, but I’m sure a little mist and a scrunch would restore it.Untitled

Needles:  Bryspun (acrylic) #7 circs.

Verdict:  I have more Kudo and could easily go wind and cast on for another one, but I have babies to knit for.  One is due in April, so time is wasting!

Have you finished anything exciting lately?

What’s your favorite baby knit to make, give or receive?

11 comments on “FO #1 of 2014

  1. Karen says:

    Terrific job Chan, you look stunning! 💖

  2. gmariesews says:

    That’s lovely and you look thrilled with your new cowl! I finished a pink shawl for a coworker fighting breast cancer. I also (finally) finished a pair of socks that have been OTN since December!! Did you see KnitPicks is putting out a free dishcloth pattern every month? g

  3. Susan says:

    Looks great!!! Now that you “have your groove back”, you can keep going!!!!

  4. Nancy says:

    It looks beautiful over your shoulders.

    Wow, you certainly did cut it close on the yarn!

  5. Kudos to you for finishing this gorgeous Cowl, Channon.

    I’m attempting to comment on my MacAir, let’s see how this goes…

  6. Jessica says:

    Sproing might just be the best new word I have heard in a long time!
    so glad that you knit something for YOU! It is lovely too…I love it! Are you wearing it to work today? Looks like it would be perfect for a chilly workspace.

  7. kathy b says:

    Channon

    Im in love with the hugger you made! I want to use my noro to HUG me. HOw many did you cast on?

    Favorite baby gift to knit: Stocking cap. You only have to make one. They are adorable on babies and they are unique.

  8. monnibo says:

    Kudos on the FO (pun fully intended)! I’ve seen a TON of people knit the Baby Surprise Jacket. I’ve never knit it myself though.

  9. Strangely enough, I have finished several things lately. A cowl of my own design and a pair of alpaca mittens took off for Canada recently, and I am two rows from completely a scarf with a long history…since 2008!

  10. Kristyn says:

    My go to baby knit is the Seamless Yoked Baby Sweater. A very cute and easy pattern.

Leave a Reply

