Here I am … turn the page

(Thank you, Bob Seger. )

There’s not much I care to reflect upon from 2013, but I do want to tell you about a few books.  See, that’s the one thing that seems to be working for me, other than running.  (Yes, running is bad for my back, but it’s good for my soul so…  we’re running some.)

Heck, I don’t even know where I left off telling you about books, so I’ll hit the high points.

thecheesecakequeen-v1-final-199x300I bridged from 2013 into 2014 with our very own, darling Duck’s Cheesecake Queen.  (Lookie there!  She’s an Amazon author!  Wooo!)  It was just the thing I needed during a post-Christmas, difficult time in a not-friendly town.

Here’s her publisher’s link for more information, but what you really need to know is that it’s a sweet little read with characters who will make you laugh, make you grunt (okay, maybe  you’re too ladylike to grunt when a character is annoying, but …), and definitely, it will make you crave creamy, rich cheesecake in flavors you haven’t imagined before.

It’s really exciting to have a friend who is PUBLISHED.  It’s even more fun when she asks you to review her book AND give away a free copy.  So, in the spirit of the Sugar sisters and Miranda by any of the other names you might know her by, all you have to do to be eligible for the drawing is make up your own cheesecake – or pie, if you are sure you don’t love cheesecake – fusion blend.   The combination of flavors that tickles me the most (good, bad or for reasons I can’t imagine right now) will get a digital copy of this delicious book.

CONTEST COMMENTS MUST BE POSTED BEFORE 9 PM EASTERN TIME, FEBRUARY 2, 2014.   Winner will be contacted by email, so make sure I have an email address for you.

After such a sweet treat, I wanted something meatier, so I opened All Roads Lead to Austen via my Kindle app on my trusty iPad.  I quickly realized I’d never read Pride and Prejudice, so when I discovered it was already on my Nook (app) waiting to be read, I flipped right over and read that, then finished ARLtA.  If you haven’t read anything by Austen, you should.  I’m definitely no Janite (rabid fan), so don’t look for me to wax poetic telling you how much like Lizzy I am.  The Knight’s no Mr. Darcy either, in case  you were wondering, although one of my co-workers did joke today and ask what kind of bet I lost to end up married to a man so different from me.  Still, I enjoyed Ms. Smith’s account of an Austen South American sabbatical, but I’m pretty sure I’ll never re-read it.

After that, I gave in and started on another classic I’ve never read – Stephanie Plum.   I read the first three and have already ordered 4-6, and predict the rest of the series will float on in too.  Given that my father worked for a company with a service center in Trenton (New Jersey), I was willing to give the series a chance.  Add in a rather non-traditional, female, untrained bounty hunter and two manly men watching her back, and I have yet another series to devour.

If you’re a Plum fan…  Morelli or Ranger?

13 comments on “Here I am … turn the page

  1. Hi Channon!

    How sweet of you to review Miranda’s book. I’ve been thinking about buying a hard copy for my granddaughter, what do you think? She’s eleven.

    As you know, I haven’t been reading much lately but I’d be tempted to pick up Pride and Prejudice, it’s been ages.

    Personally, I think opposites attract, after all, he is your Knight, lol…

    Thanks for sharing, Channon. Please don’t enter me. If the book is age appropriate for Tabi, I’ll be buying it for her in hard copy. She has a brand new book shelf in her new room she’s trying to fill, lol…

  2. Ok, you know I’m not “the cook” in this house, so I’m not sure what a cheesecake fusion is. lol However, T says he thinks a standard cheesecake with candied bacon and chocolate would make an interesting fusion.

    And Ranger. Always Ranger. Hubba hubba! ; )

  3. Katherine says:

    I love Stephanie Plum even though the last two books have irritated me because she will not choose between the two guys. I’m a Ranger girl all the way!!! Joe is too wishy-washy about his feelings. As for Pride and Prejudice–it has been years. And I like it that way! Heehee.

  4. gmariesews says:

    This book sounds like fun. flavor cushion, huh? How about lemon ginger? Or raspberries and lemon.

    I have read Stephanie Plum. She is funny and bumbling and annoys the crap out of me. While both Ranger and Joe are nice on paper, I’m more a Joe fan. 🐾. Sorry playing with my new toy. 😉

  5. Barbara says:

    Fun that you read and reviewed Miranda’s book for us. Good for her! I’m back on a diet, so no cheesecake coming from this corner.
    You know my books….nothing very light. (Although Tracy gave me The Wet and the Dry by Osbourne…about booze around the world. She said it was fascinating and she discovered it because she had read The Forgiven (a rather terrifying book, but I liked it) by the same author.)
    Harvest was the latest book group book.
    (Computer changeover complete…no problems…now waiting for Carbonite to dump all my files back into the new computer…takes days.)

  6. Marjie says:

    So glad you finally got to The Cheesecake Queen! I told you it was cute, didn’t I? I’ve done a lot of reading, too. That’s what happens when you can’t sleep, I suppose.

  7. Jessica says:

    Oh definitely Ranger! Especially after seeing the movie!!!
    how about peanut butter chocolate? That one probably already exists, actually!

  8. kathy b says:

    Cheesecake flavor:
    Im in for the contest. Flavors :Fusions
    I would like a dreamsicle orange cheesecake
    I would enjoy a pretzel cheesecake for the salt
    and I would like a mai tai cheesecake flavor

  9. kathy says:

    Must agree about running being good for one’s soul…that’s why I do it constantly.

    I recently compiled my list of 2013 books. Been thinking of putting it on my blog for posterity’s sake.

  10. Sue says:

    No cheesecake for me. It’s one of Rob’s favorites so I’m glad that I don’t like it, too. Not familiar with Plum either. I’m a bit of a downer, aren’t I?

  11. AlisonH says:

    I think I’ve told you about my cheesecake cookbook with the Oobleck Pie recipe: sticky and green like the Dr. Seuss story, so, avocado/lime/honey cheesecake with a wheat germ crust.

    But me I’d be trying maple, caramelized sugar, and organic reduced orange juice because I’ve combined those in a homemade streudel before and I know how good those are when playing together.

  12. Glad you found some things to occupy your brain in a happy way. I re-read Austin somewhere in the last few years, and while not a raving fan, I do enjoy them. Plum and I got through about three or four adventures together before I realized her mouth and morals left me feeling squeamish. As for cheesecake, I remain a purist at heart…only adding a little lemon or orange oil and/or zest for zip. Guess that won’t win me much! 🙂

  13. gmariesews says:

    How about bacon and butterscotch? g

Leave a Reply

