Roses Aren’t Red

Untitled… well, not all of ’em anyway.

Happy Thorsday (or whatever day you see this), little friday and Thankful Thursday.  The fast-paced, jam-packed schedule continues here, with no relief in sight until NEXT Sunday.

If you’re local and would like a complimentary early-bird ticket to Dogwood Deals, leave a comment or email me.

If you’re looking for fur-girl photos, click over.   I’ve missed two days of walks this week, but I did manage a couple of new photos and a post on their blog.

Thankfuls are even more important when I’m running ragged.  I’m thankful for a husband who will fix dinner, rolls with the punches when I deliver take-out at 9 pm, and who knows when I am fighting a migraine even before I do and urges me to go home, feed the dogs, and he’ll go to the next meeting alone.

I know I’m blessed to have a husband who also delivers the very best lunches on the very worst days at work.  I’ve written about Blue Ridge Pig before, and if you ever make it to Wintergreen, stop in and get a great sandwich and some of the dill potato salad.  I cannot find a similar recipe anywhere.  (Olive oil, dill and …?)

There are no coincidences; I landed a great job that gives me a sense of purpose.  It’s sad that our happy little quintet drops to a trio tomorrow, but ebb and flow… and I’m glad I got to know A and B, and I hope the next chapters of their lives are happy and  productive.

And there’s no denying how much two furry lumps squeezed against me makes the world a better place.  Gg rarely misses a chance to be a lapdog, but Sis doesn’t always grace me with her presence in such a close fashion.  I am missed, I am love, and I am honored.

1531881_399118636890503_1253398963_nWhere would I be though without my friends?  Thank  you for checking in on me, and thanks to those locals who are on the hamster wheel with me.   It will all be worth it!!

 

13 comments on “Roses Aren’t Red

  1. Katherine says:

    Hamster wheels ‘R Us!! I know something about fast paces these days and I feel for you! Take care of yourself. I’m so happy that you can find time to post and keep your blogging buddies up to date!

    What a blessing to have a husband who takes such good care of you and two furry bodies to snuggle. It makes it all worth while.

  2. gmariesews says:

    Even when you sound ‘frantic’ I love that you count your Thankfuls. I really need to get back in that habit. Breathe, enjoy, soak it up – it will be over before you know it and then you’ll wonder how to fill your time. 🙂 g

  3. nancytimber says:

    Even in the midst of chaos, blessing abound, and it is good to know that the Knight and the fur-girls have your back. Take care of yourself.

  4. Mary says:

    Your weekend weather ahead will be a small blessing for you. We had tornado warning earlier today (lower SOMD). Some trees down in St Mary’s, but just torrential rain here for a while. Craziness…from snow and freezing rain earlier in the week with temps in the single digits…to 71 today before the storm. DH gets to chisel my car out of its 4-ton ‘salt wrap’ tomorrow (e.g. wash the poor thing).

    Give hugs all round to the Furgirls (and tell them to give you a ‘hug’ for me). Say ‘hey’ to the Knight for me, too.

  5. Marjie says:

    Your roses are beautiful. Count the days until you get to that downtime each night, and that will let you sleep a little easier. And when the world really sucks, just remember that there’s no triple bypass wreaking havoc with your life! Everything’s good! (Not that I’m not thrilled to deal with the havoc each and every day, because the alternative would be dreadful.)

  6. kathy b says:

    OH I wish I could go to Dogwood days ! i need a new little kitchen table…….
    Al says the weather is warm and the best part of Living in VA. is SPRING

  7. I like that color better than red, when it comes to roses! Glad you’ve got the Knight and the pups to help look after you, in the midst of so much busy.

  8. Nichole says:

    Beautiful flowers! 🙂
    So your office is already shrinking? I’m just glad you are still loving the new gig!

  9. I’m glad you’re happy at your new job! That’s so sweet he’s bringing you lunches.

  10. AlisonH says:

    I just wanted to let you know that the chocolate/edemame bars you got me to try out turned out to be a lifesaver for me–10g protein bars, right?–while toodling around at Stitches. Took me two days to eat one. Then a second one went to Mel and Kris as a thank you for supplying me with water bottles both days (please, take, so we won’t have to pack them back up at the end of the conference, they told me) and to Susan and crew at Abstract Fibers, who surprised me with a skein I’d been admiring, telling me my blog entertains her everyday, so, there you go.

    I was so glad I had something immediately at hand that made their eyes light up, all of them. And I knew it was good stuff. So thank you thank you thank you! (And I still even have one left for me now.)

    Best wishes to your colleagues in their new lives. And to you.

  11. Sue says:

    Hang in there, Spring is coming. I’m just emerging from my winter funk, so I’m not one to give advice, but it will get better.

  12. Barbara says:

    I know how busy you are, but there is light at the end of the tunnel. Your girls have always been a comfort to you, but the Knight deserves the prize right now!
    Kids are here, off to Atlantis. Lets hope we can chat in a week or so….

Leave a Reply

