Is this thing on?

Hello?  Anyone out there?

UntitledGretchen has an almost cute, not-quite supportive post of her own on the rat race that was the past week or so.   Launching a new fundraiser is very hard work, and while I can’t claim to have played a major role, I was more involved than I ever was in the League’s other events.  It was a smashing success, and I am (again) in awe of the dedication, generosity and talent we have in spades in the Junior League of Charlottesville.

During this unintentional blogging hiatus, there has been reading, a christening, an introduction to CAbi, and Girl Scout Cookies… not necessarily in that order.  There’s been knitting too, but no finished objects yet (soon though… because babies are coming – also in spades!).

Untitled

One of the special details that shows just how brilliant my fellow JLC members are was the “department” signs created by the tween girls in one of our community programs.  All of the proceeds from yesterday’s event return to the community via our grants and programs.  Not only was it good delegation to get the girls involved, but it allowed them to both benefit from the funds raised AND have a hand in the event.  There were dozens of ingenious little webs of connectivity like that woven into the whole event, and that’s what led to the OVERWHELMING success of the day.  I do know we exceeded revenue expectations, and I am eagerly awaiting a preliminary accounting.

What are you celebrating today?

 

 

9 comments on “Is this thing on?

  1. Whoa, someone sure has been busy while I was gone. Sounds like that was one successful fund raiser, Channon. It never ceases to amaze me how generous people are with their time and energy. Such dedication is to be commended!

    So did you take a blogging hiatus too? I must say, I feel so refreshed after taking mine and I got sooooo much done. Although, no knitting for me but lots of Girl Scout cookies have disappeared, lol…

    Celebrating? I think I’ll celebrate National Banana Cream Pie Day today while reading Green Eggs and Ham. It’s Dr. Seuss’ birthday today and once again Read Across America Day!

    Thanks for sharing, Channon…

  2. nancytimber says:

    It is gratifying when community benefits are successful. Glad to hear your event was well attended and raised so much money for the community.

    Today, I am celebrating a safe trip home on nasty roads.

  3. bubblesknits says:

    Craziness here too. Boy child (not much of a boy any more…he’s almost as tall as me and middle school bound) is playing soccer. Drama Llama is still loving dance and piano. Ready for spring and all this abnormal (snow) Alabama weather to go away.
    Give the girls some belly rubs for me. 🙂

  4. Katherine says:

    I am celebrating a blog post by Gg and Sissy’s Mom!! I am also celebrating a wonderful visit from granddaughter, her sweet husband and our precious G-grandson. Bryce is so cute and sociable. He has been the cause of many possession battles among the family. We all want him at the same time and if he could talk he would be saying, “Patience everyone, I’ll get to each of you eventually.” Such a joy!!

  5. Kathy b says:

    So glad you have been knitting too,
    Celebrating sunshine today!

  6. Marjie says:

    Doctors are making me crazy! Oh, well, after this Wednesday’s appointment and Friday’s blood test, I think I get a break for 2 weeks. I think.

    Bitter cold has arrived here again, and wants to stay until Thursday. But at least the snow stayed south of us. And now I must order a food delivery! Yes, people in this corner of the world want to eat. Can you imagine?

  7. AlisonH says:

    That poster is wonderful–look at all those cheerful colors! They did a great job, and so did you–congratulations!

  8. I won’t be celebrating today, but tomorrow– it’s Ben’s birthday!

  9. I am celebrating finally getting the date the Airman will be home! As a side benefit, the Youngest will also be coming for a visit…mostly to see the dogs and his brother, but still….

Leave a Reply

