Inspire Change

So much for regular blogging, but today is International Women’s Day, and this year’s theme is Inspiring Change.  How could I fail to get a post up for such an auspicious day?

Untitled

Holiday Parade – Literacy-themed float – The basket in the front held our “take-away” reading challenge we handed out during the parade

Of course, the Junior League of Charlottesville is all over inspiring change and I can’t resist the chance to wax poetic about how much we’re changing how we do business – we have a new focus on literacy, a new fundraiser, a new strategic plan (Gretchen even mentions it in her post!) – and we’re changing the lives of our members and our community.

What inspires you as a woman to change yourself and/or your world?  Who are your s-heroes?  Mine are my fellow Leaguers.  Sure, there’s a remarkable list of well-knowns:

JL Founder Mary Harriman

Eleanor Roosevelt – and several other First Ladies

Shirley Temple Black

Julia Child

Katherine Hepburn

Sandra Day O’Connor

… and many more

Photo courtesy of the JLC

Photo courtesy of the JLC

But daily, I’m inspired by my fellow JLCers.  I’m surely biased, but we have some of the brightest, most dedicated women anywhere transforming our community.  They collaborate instinctively, and they are creative… gosh are they creative!  Not only was Dogwood Deals inspired and successful, but a new idea to unite STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) and our literacy focus in a program for young girls was sparked the other evening and I can’t wait to see where it goes.

Oh – and all four of those women are continuing in leadership next year.  The two on the far left were part of the inspired “small but mighty” fundraising group that made Dogwood Deals happen.  The two on the right (yeah, I’m center-right) are president-types.  I hope we’re all inspiring our fellow members to imagine and take action for even greater change!

 

8 comments on “Inspire Change

  1. Katherine says:

    Junior Leagues across the country are awe inspiring. Thanks for sharing the happenings. I am inspired by people like Stephanie Nielson who was badly burned in a small plane crash and has fought her way back to life as an adored wife and mother as well as an inspiration to all who fight health battles and refuse to lose! Your post reminds me that women are warriors too!!

  2. Marjie says:

    I like the dress you’re wearing in that picture; it’s a great, sunshiny pattern. Glad your Dogwood Fest was such fun (even though our dogwoods are weeks away). The Polar Express car was really cute; I hope everyone enjoyed the literacy challenge – after all, you know what a fan of books I am!

    And I hope this means you get to sit back and play with the girls this weekend.

  3. AlisonH says:

    If you ever make it out here, I have to grab the next-door neighbor and have her point out where in the foothills the locals called it Shirley’s Hill. She was neighbors with Shirley Temple for years before moving into a smaller house in town.

  4. I have gained most of my Junior league knowledge from the many Junior League cookbooks in my collection. They are not only my favorite but also a favorite of cookbook collectors across the US. There’s a reason. They are well thought out, educational beyond the kitchen and the recipes are usually local and from the heart.

    These ladies sound fabulous, Channon. I’m sure your spirit helps drive them:) Thank you so much for sharing…

  5. Barbara says:

    I don’t know of any group that inspires women the way the JL does. And educates and trains our newest members to take an active part in the community. As one of the older generation of JLeaguers, I am supportive and still impressed with the hard work these women do in the community.

  6. Sue says:

    I don’t feel the drive to change the world anymore, though it truly needs it. I’m content to just change my little corner.

  7. kathy b says:

    I love this post and your picture. You 4 are just beautiful.!!!
    Love your list. Mine would include: Betty White and her animal loving efforts, and
    Calamity Jane for her nursing care of 8 quarantined men.

  8. Too late in the day for me to feel inspired…but surely Chondaleza Rice would be in that group…

Leave a Reply

