Eating by Example

Happy Thorsday, little friday and thankful Thursday!  At least… it’s still Thursday when I’m writing.  When you’ll read is another story.

Thanks for all of your comments about my new(est) food focus.  Some of the obvious changes I’m making include:

  • I’m not eating out as much
  • I’m avoiding processed food
  • I’m seeking out leaner protein sources

Today’s post is supposed to be about our March delivery from Chewy, but while I was working on the REAL content, I realized that I feed the dogs the way I should be eating.  I stick to natural products as much as possible, and limited ingredient products are best… because Sissy is so allergic to so much.  They eat a fish kibble, lots of fruit and veggies…  Gee, if I follow a similar plan, I bet my cholesterol level will drop.

UntitledThis time, the furgirls got to try Old Mother Hubbard’s Gourmet Goodies in the carrot and pumpkin variety.   There are only 8 ingredients (which is amazing for a cookie of any sort), but the girls have assured me they aren’t short on flavor.

Who eats better in your house?  One of the Knight’s favorite stories is about the boy-dogs eating prime rib while we had hot dogs.  (True story!)  He always leaves out the part where the prime rib was really nothing more than leftover bits, and maybe I should be ashamed to admit it, but I love a good, kosher hot dog.

I’m giving up on suggesting that my former normal of daily, weekday posts will ever return again.  My life is just different now, and even as my time as League President winds down, there are only so many hours in a day and so many more things I want/need to do.  I’m very grateful that you still check in on me and wade through my ramblings!

Oh – and if you’re here for furgirl photos, you can click over to their blog for your fix… unless you’re sick of snow.

16 comments on “Eating by Example

  1. Katherine says:

    I was in Costco yesterday and discovered that top round roast was $19.99 lb. I swore off beef then and there!! I came home with a load of fruit and vegetables that didn’t cost more than two pounds of beef. We had a Caesar salad tonight that was A+ and could compete with any steak.

  2. Jessica says:

    Oh, the dogs eat better by a long shot! I try…but….I also have a stupid candy drawer that I cannot seem to rid myself of. At least I limit myself to it…but really…it is kind of ridiculous.

  3. Mary says:

    DH was read the riot act by his doc yesterday re: his cholesterol. Must be catching!

  4. No worries about you new “normal” for the blog…you know my story….poor neglected blog and all.

  5. nancytimber says:

    Post when you have time, I’ll be hear to read and comment.

    No pets in my house, but Sissy and Gretchen eat much healthier than I do. Sigh!

  6. Marjie says:

    I thought your picture was oatmeal cookies you made for you. Le sigh. I’m gathering pages and information for you; maybe I’ll get it all together by this afternoon. Like you, I’m finding life to be awfully complicated. One of these days I”ll figure out how to juggle everything (ha!) but until then, blogging is hit-or-miss. It’s the way of the world, isn’t it?

  7. kathy b says:

    I love a grilled hot dog. LOVE LOVE LOVE Them. So bad for me! I prefer it over steak!

    Post when you can, things change…pretend friends dont’

  8. I totally understand. I feel the same way about blogging. If no one reads anyway, why trot out daily posts? There’s so many other things to DO!

  9. AlisonH says:

    Hazelnut cookies are my favorite declaration of being such a good eater (while not talking about the sugar in them). Roasted hazelnuts, skins rubbed off, ground up with a little sugar and an egg and baked. And if you dip them in melted dark chocolate they’re extra healthy.

    See how helpful I’m being? (Those edemame chocolate bars you pointed out to me are to die for.)

  10. Barbara says:

    Re your cholesterol post: sorry about your news….I went on Crestor several years ago and mine is nice and low. I know a lot of people don’t resort to medications, but I don’t mind.
    The powers that be change their minds on what’s good and what isn’t…it makes your head spin. Now, eggs are fine. Does anyone really know? Besides, change something and the next thing you know, it’s not good for you. Ex: skim milk, it turns out is bad for you.
    Not a hot dog eater, but do have some in the freezer left over from some recipe or other.
    You lead a busy life, Chan. Don’t worry about posting!
    (AC finally has a board for next year….GC not such good news.)

  11. Walden121 says:

    Wookie definitely eats better. Sadly, I care more about him being healthy than I seem to about myself. Although, I am really focusing on improving my health, so there is hope! 🙂

  12. Sue says:

    No doubt that my dogs eat better than the humans in the household. I cook for Noah more often than I cook for Rob.

    Do you have a copy of the Heart Association Cookbook? It’s probably used more frequently than any other in this house.

    I was afraid you were going to abandon blogging for Facebook as so many others have done. I look forward to your posts and the actual person to person chat that goes with it. Facebook is too cold and impersonal for me. If you post, I’ll be here to read it and comment.

  13. Mr. Puffy says:

    Simcha is a big fan of Old Mother Hubbard treats. But I think he would say he gets the short end of the stick in the food department around here lol As far as eating meals out – that is a killer and Steve who has to watch his weigh much prefers to eat at home. Yes, everyone’s lives have changed over the years and I’m comfortable with my pace of once a month or thereabouts. I think if it feels like a chore than it’s too frequent.

  14. Does Marion count? She is such a healthy eater and yet, I do find her smuggling in some no nos. I do believe much of it has to do with generics which of course doesn’t help at all!

    Not to worry about the changing of posting, Channon. You do as you can and get out and enjoy. I really think we are all just spending too much time in front of these computers. We should just have a LIVE party and chat!

    Enjoy your weekend Channon. I’m off to breakfast!

  15. Kathy says:

    Cholesterol….ahem…(hanging head here). Mine is also high and yes I know it’s in the genes but it certainly frosts me that the hubby’s is very low and mine’s high. He eats everything wrong and I try to stick to a decent diet and whammy! Mine is always higher. I’ll admit sweets are my downfall but I’ve been very good about limiting them unless of course I’m stressed then it’s downhill…lol.
    Anyway, good for you sticking to your guns on this one and I’ll join you on the ramblings now and again when time allows 😀

  16. I hope you had a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

