Scatter-shot

This is just a quick, drive-by post.

Do you have broken windows?  (Click over… they’re more akin to pet peeves than shattered glass.)  For me, it’s missing a wog – walk-run – with the dogs due to circumstances beyond my control, having a cluttered front porch, hand/fingerprints on doors and walls, not finishing my to-do list at work…

I have an FO (finished object for non-knitters), but no photos.  Stand by.

I have read several books and am lost in Trenton, NJ at the moment.  So far, I’ve been unable to make myself sick of Stephanie Plum and her zany friends and relations.  I think it’s because I can relate.  I remember the first time I told my father I was going to be a writer.  His dark mocha eyes twinkled and he said, “It’ll have to be fiction, even if it’s biographical; no one would believe it was true.”

41MA5cxy7xL._SL190_SY246_CR0,0,190,246_I wear a size larger in Sanita clogs than Danskos.  Oh… and when I say clogs, I always mean closed-backs.  These are shinier and sparklier in person.  My idea of a great pair of shoes – or boots – is when the Knight and my (male) co-workers say something obnoxious about my footwear.  Maybe that’s why I like our “guest” technician; he seems to genuinely appreciate my slightly flashy choice in shoes.

51OM+b6ku+L._SL246_SX190_CR0,0,190,246_And speaking of boots…  I might have snagged another pair of Ariat boots.  These are kiddo sized, and they fit perfectly.  Ariat boots really are built for all-day wear.  I’ve tried to explain to one of my co-workers that my “wooden clogs” and my “stiff boots” support my feet well and aren’t just a fashion statement.

Yeah, they’re PANK and calf-hair leopard, and they’re ridiculously comfortable, right out of the box.  Now, if the snow would GO AWAY so I could wear them more…

And I still owe you a CAbi post too.  There just aren’t enough hours in the day.

Oh – and you absolutely have to try this recipe.  A friend brought it Sunday night, and even though I thought I hated mango, I shoveled it in, maybe even with both fists.  Eating well doesn’t mean suffering… until I think about the good ol’ days when I ate shrimp two times a day sometimes.

What’s new with you?

 

10 comments on “Scatter-shot

  1. gmariesews says:

    Oh dear – I think the last time I completed my to-do list at work was January 2011 – yeah way back when I still worked with Mr. TN. there just aren’t enough hours in the day. Some days there are less things flying at my face than others – so that’s good.

    Beau did not get a walk today, but I did and I did yoga with the snotty Wii Witch! it felt good – I needed to figure out more hip stretching moves.

    How far are you with Stephanie? I think I made it through 16 before she just annoyed the snot out of me. Who would you pick?

    g

  2. nancytimber says:

    Love the clogs and the boots!

    Not much crafting happening at my house. I am craving Spring! I want warm days when I can open the windows and let the stale air out of my house. Thankfully, my allergies seem to be manageable this year (fingers crossed) so my need for tissues has been reduced considerably!

  3. KM says:

    I love the green clogs. Maybe your coworker that doesn’t understand how comfortable the clogs are needs to pay attention the next time they are at the doctors office or hospital. Very quickly you see the people who are on their feet all day know what these shoes mean. Another one of my friends that swears by Dansko’s is a high school principal and she never sits.

    I love the article on broken windows. I’m going to read it to the kids and have a discussion with them this morning.

  4. Marjie says:

    I’m glad you have found shoes that work for you. And those cowboy boots are going to be a boatload of fun in less muddy weather, maybe with a denim skirt so everyone can appreciate them!

    I got all of your “food stuff” copied, and then didn’t mail it on Monday as I intended. So I’m thinking UPS will take away a box for you today, with a little added surprise in there.

    And don’t sweat the shrimp. Blue crab and king crab are lower in cholesterol. And if you cook your fish wrapped in foil, I think it won’t “stink up” your house. Just a suggestion.

    Hope you get your walkies in today.

  5. Sue says:

    I’ve found that clog style shoes are most comfortable with my bone disease. I’ll look into some like yours. I like sparkly.

    My broken window is probably doors and drawers left open. I married a man who never learned to close a door or drawer. I follow him around the house closing them. I thought he might earn after nearly tearing the car door off by leaving it open as he backed out of the garage, but the lesson only lasted a few months.

  6. Kathy says:

    A to-do list? Bwahahaha….you and your mini me have so much in common ;). I have a to-do list, I just don’t do anything about it.
    Clogs….I adore clogs. Always have, always will but now to find a pair of shoes (other than sneakers) is a daunting task with the bum leg/foot but I still like to look.
    LOL on your father’s response. I’m not a writer and contemplated journaling (they’re different things to me) and still don’t think anyone would believe it.

    What’s up with me? hmmmm…..You’ll need to check my latest blog post 😉

  7. kathy b says:

    What s new is that I cannot find a sale pair of rain boots around here. Or any boots for that matter. Everyone seems to be wearing last years rain boots and I’m out of luck. I don’t want to order them on line or in a store without trying them on. Bwah

  8. Not so new…among my friends I seem to be the only one who did NOT make corned beef and cabbage on Monday…opting instead for a lovely Shepherd’s Pie! Loving your green…I cannot fit Danskos, but found a knock off version at Payless Shoes, of all places, that did fit, so I now have plain old brown and black…not as cool as sparkly green, but they work.

  9. Barbara says:

    Loved the recipe. I usually bake my corn and edamame with scallions and garlic (think I’ve posted it as it’s one of my fave salads) but the mango version looks fabulous.
    Not buying a thing down here….the older you get, the less you need.
    (Got a cortisone shot to the knee yesterday. We’ll see. )

  10. Katherine says:

    I like the green clogs but I love, love, love, the pank boots!! New for me would be a new pair of garden boots. I think I will invest in the original Hunters with high tops, in RED.

Leave a Reply

