Run From the Roses

2Q0345.958.a.zoomI fell in love with this dress when Vineyard Vines advertised it in my inbox.  A local non-profit dear to my heart was having a fundraiser there yesterday, so even though I bought my dress for the JLC Annual Meeting months ago…  I went to look. Cry.  The manager there is a doll – seriously, she’s the truest definition of petite, and I’ve known her all of her life – or the first attempt into my normal size would have been the end of it.  Turns out they had one size larger in the back room.  THAT one at least went on, but I couldn’t do the size zip without a struggle and the bottom portion was loose OVER jeans – and not skinny jeans at that.

I tried on several other things.  Their women’s blouses/tailored shirts simply do not fit my athletic shoulders or THE GIRLS.  Sadly, their men’s small engulfs me, and they don’t make their men’s shirts in XS.  The male on staff approached me, and asked if he could be of assistance.  (That’s how I ended up trying the men’s small, which to his credit, he assured me would be too big.)

For the first time, a MAN bemoaned women’s sizing.  He asked what size pants my husband wears.  “36 X 30, without fail.”

He said, “Right?!  I mean, some brands/styles might fit better than others, but you – and his mother – know without question that if you get him 36x30s, he will be able to wear them.  Why can’t the industry do ANYTHING REMOTELY similar for women?”   We discussed my size range for their store.  I wear anything from a small to a medium in the less-tailored styles, and from a 4 – 12 in the fitted.  (I’m often 2 sizes smaller on the bottom.) He stopped me there.  Was I sure?  Um… dude… go check the fitting room.  Yeah.  And your size 12 blouses don’t gap in the front or pull at the shoulders, but the neck swims and the waist is even worse, so I wouldn’t say they FIT.

THIS is why I shop primarily Lilly Pulitzer and Talbots, with some Lands End and J Jill tossed in for good measure.  With ALL of those brands, especially if there are more than two fit reviews, I can order online and it will fit, usually without alterations.

2R0199.958.a.zoomI WANTED that dress, but if I’d ordered a 12, I would have had to have the shoulders lifted, and the skirted portion totally reconstructed.  A $200 dress shouldn’t need another $100+ in alterations, so even my young friend basically refused to even offer to order in a 12 for me. Yeah, the print comes in a skirt too, but hello?!  See above.  I can’t wear a pleated, full skirt.  The linebacker shoulders require that I accentuate the lack of hips so I don’t look like a hippo.  It comes in a pretty scarf too, but I already own a great PANK and blue scarf.  It comes in a Shep Shirt too, but I own several navy “job shirts” which are basically the same thing.  I also don’t care for the Derby embroidery on the chest.

Just doesn’t make sense, does it?

What are you running from today?

This entry was posted in Fashion.

15 comments on “Run From the Roses

  1. Sue says:

    Women’s sizing has always been a complaint of mine. Rob laughs when I scream at the TV when an obvious size 12 tells us all that she’s a 2. I guess that’s why I liked making my own clothes. I could call them any size I wanted even though I never actually did lie about my size. Why not see if you can locate some of the fabric and have a dress made to fit. It probably wouldn’t cost any more and you’d have something unique.

  2. I must admit, Channon, that dress looks adorable. (yes, I like adorable:) I’m so sorry it didn’t live up to your expectations. That happens to me a lot! I think it is one of the reasons I detest shopping so much. I admire the way you know so much about your “style.” I have come to the realization that I lack a style of sorts. I do wish they would get their “stuff” together when it comes to jeans. I know my size better in the men’s department than I do in petites. The problem with men’s jeans, or I’d be wearing them, is, they are designed for a man’s body. I’m not sure where the design comes from in women’s jeans!

    I’m not running from anything today, finally! I am just so thankful for having finally finsihed setting up the new iMac and getting the rest of the “electronics” in the house working. I had to buy a new TV too!

    Thank you so much for sharing this post, Channon. I really enjoyed it:)

  3. nancytimber says:

    Love the dress!

    Anymore , I ignore sizes and purchase items that fit or that are comfortable. Vanity sizing is crazy!!

  4. Katherine says:

    I am with you 100%. Women’s sizing is bonkers! That is why I too order almost exclusively from J Jill. I don’t ofter go to dress shops or to a mall because when an item in the “right” size doesn’t fit I tend to throw a tantrum.

    I’m running from work tomorrow. Things are revving up and I’m tired already.

  5. Running? I spent most of the post noon part of the day “Lazing On Sunday Afternoon”. Can you hear the music?

  6. gmariesews says:

    today – a day after you post – I’m running from my to-do list; I’m running from testing; I’m running from journalling my food – that’s enough, right?

    I just bought Jay jeans this weekend and I knew – exactly what size he needed – mind you – I have to hem, them, but that’s always a given. I haven’t bought clothes in so long – I don’t have a clue. That dress is adorable – I wish we lived closer – you could by the dress, we’d have a girls/dogs day and I could make it fit you while you baked something sinful for me 😉

    Happy Monday!! g

  7. Marjie says:

    Even my skinny daughters bemoan the sizing of women’s clothing. I know what size pants each of my sons wears (and one’s 30, so I haven’t purchased pants for him in a long damn time). For the girls, it’s a bunch of guesswork. I’m sorry you couldn’t get that pretty dress!

  8. kathy b says:

    I’m running from the snowblower! ! Fireman just emptied the gas out of it. It is in the 60s and there is even a Cub game to enjoy.
    CLothes…shopping…ugh…always..ugh for me

  9. AlisonH says:

    A skirt part like that is made for people like my younger daughter, whose hips are very small proportionate to the rest of her.

    Me, I’m running from the realization that the sweater pattern I want to knit doesn’t exist and I’ll have to come up with it myself and it’s going to take trial and error and a lot of time that could be spent knitting other things. On the other hand, I really want it. So it’ll happen. (Don’t hold your breath for this month, though.)

  10. Kathy says:

    And that my friend is exactly why my closet still houses clothing 5+ yrs old. I despise clothes shopping for the reasons you mentioned. Just not worth it.
    I’m running from the chores and enjoying the sunshine for the whole 48 hours it’s supposed to show itself this week 😀

  11. Kathy says:

    Adorable dress! Too bad it didn’t work for you.

    I agree with finding a brand that fits and sticking with it. For me that’s Banana Republic lately. However, several of their current skirts are flared and that doesn’t work for my no-waist body.

    It’s never easy!

  12. Blond Duck says:

    What about an online tailoring company? Something like Stitch Fix. Maybe the dress that just needs a little tweaking!

  13. Kristin says:

    Since my lil’ lady bean came along, I’m a bit, ahem, larger on top and I’ve totally struggled with my mismatched top and bottom. Sorry lady!

  14. Krystle says:

    I hate that! why can’t it just be a streamlined thing?! (and no, I’m not buying something and then paying buco bucks for alterations to make it work.) I have that issue with length a lot, and I’m very hour-glass-y so I need things with a waist, or I’ll look like a block.

  15. Blond Duck says:

    I hope you’re doing well!

Leave a Reply

