There’s a word for that

I’m all about making up words – SNOL, furgirls, PANK… but evidently, there’s already a word for “kinda’ vegetarian when it suits me.”

Flexitarian – According to About.com,  “Flexitarian” is a term recently coined to describe those who eat a mostly vegetarian diet, but occasionally eat meat. Many people who call themselves “flexitarian” or “semi-vegetarian” have given up red meat for health reasons while others, for environmental reasons, only eat free-range or organic animals and animal products.

Now… this girl isn’t giving up squat, but I was a pescatarian (didn’t eat land animal flesh) for a while many years ago, until I sincerely dreamed about a nice, rare filet mignon night after night and finally realized that I just couldn’t do it.  And I have followed a pescatarian when convenient diet ever since… right up until Marjie shattered my world with the announcement that shrimp is high in cholesterol.

Pescatarians on the hunt – not by choice… as long as you don’t count the prescription rabbit kibble era.

You have to understand…  I am the product of farmers.  My mother’s people, on both sides, farm and have farmed since the beginning of time, as near as I can tell.  My father’s grandfather was a gentleman farmer back when it wasn’t cool and trendy to play in compost on your days off, and while I lack that gene for spending hours on the tractor or nurturing little seeds into edible goodness, I got a double-dose of the pass me some fresh produce, straight from the chicken coop eggs, and by all means, I’m okay with looking my protein sources in the eyes.  (My apologies to those who aren’t…  Good for you.  My once-removed cousin with the chicken houses DID assure that I am incapable of enjoying chicken without worrying about growth hormones and free range, etc.)

Of course, I credit my farmer-relations with my ability to enjoy tofu too.  My uncle by choice (or by marriage… but as he put it years ago, marrying my mother’s sister made us kin, but we’d choose to claim each other even without that legal union) was farming soybeans long before I’d found Tofutti in my grocer’s freezer.

But don’t look for me to begin haughtily announcing I’m a flexitarian;  I still have enough trouble explaining that Episcopalian isn’t a medical condition.   No, I think that as much as I love silly words, I’ll stick with just dodging red meat most of the time, because I was also raised to feel it’s rude not to eat what’s put in front of me, or to ask non-life threatening questions about my food.  (I’m allergic to scallops, so there is a time and a place for said inquiries, and I can issue a “NO – LEAVE IT!” with such authority that even a food-driven basset draws back.)

I shared the mango-edamame salsa recipe a few posts back, but now, I’m in search of a … four-bean? salad?  Garbanzo, red, black and green, with some red onion, cilantro and …  I ate it all, so I have only my fond food memories to help me.  It seemed pretty similar to the traditional three-bean salad, but … better.  If anyone can help a gal trying to flex more and meat less, it would be awesome!

And in other almost healthy food news, did you know that gluten-free (homemade) chocolate chip cookies are basically ALWAYS chewy, not crispy?  My friend used Alton Brown’s Chewy Gluten Free recipe, and since dogs can’t have chocolate anyway, there’s no need to substitute around the corn starch for Sissy.  They aren’t close to low cholesterol, but as long as I don’t eat shrimp with them, I’m going to say it’s fine.

Don’t hate me, but with no other changes to my routine (well, add in extra stress, but evidently, only Sissy’s eye problems and my mother’s death are stressful enough to stop the eating), I’ve dropped nearly three pounds in two weeks.  I’m pretty sure I’d heard somewhere before that high fat diets aren’t healthy…  hem.

13 comments on “There’s a word for that

  1. Barbara says:

    Well, kudos on the three pounds, Chan, no matter how you got there. I do like meat, but read someplace at least one vegetarian dinner a week is good for you. So I aim for that.

  2. nancytimber says:

    I grew up eating about every kind of meat you can name. I rarely eat red meat now – no particular reason, I just don’t eat it. I do love venison and do not turn it down when offered. It’s lean and tasty if prepared correctly. Most of my protein these days comes from eggs, chicken/turkey or plants.

  3. Hmm…still going to have claim the old-fashioned “omnivore” for myself. 🙂 hope you find your bean salad recipe.

  4. kathy b says:

    Good for you Channon! I rarely eat red meat, but I cannot give up bacon. I love bacon. Jim Gaffigan calls bacon: My greasy lover.
    Im giving up creamer starting tomorrow thanks to you!
    working on increasing my steps per day as well.
    I do find gluten free cookies very very good!
    finally,
    I’ve decided those marshmallow eggs are at the lowest fat Easter treat ……
    this is quite a change from chocolate bunnies and creme filled eggs in my life.

  5. gmariesews says:

    Not sure I can put a string of cohernt thought together. I rarely eat cow or chicken, but I’m not giving up pig. And that’s another thing -why is Cow – beef or veal and pig – pork, but chicken is chicken and fish is fish? Why don’t they get a fancy schmancy name? Anyway – we eat at least one vegetarian meal a week.

    I used to make a great bean salad, that was rinsed and drained beans all the kinds you named – black, garbonzo, kidney, green and waxed (Yellow green beans?) tossed with salt, pepper, cilantro and rice wine vinegar – nothing else really. Very tasty – JB didn’t care for it and it makes a lot so I quit making it. Might have to revisit that this summer.

    I’m a bit envious of your 3# – but mine will happen.

    g

  6. Katherine says:

    I am probably a flexiterian but living in Texas one comes to believe that shrimp and fish are vile and chickens are wishy washy because they can’t decide whether to be free-range, organic, non-GMO, or plain old barnyard birds. And don’t get me started on the whole pork thing. Just give me a hunk of cow and be done with it!

  7. AlisonH says:

    Here’s a not-chewy. One cup of peanut butter (sadly, not the peanuts-only type), one cup of sugar (I’ve skimped before), and one egg. Add chocolate chips as desired, bake at 350, will not flatten out in the oven so do it yourself if you want.

    These are soft with a bit of crisp at the edges, depending on how long they’re cooked. More crisp if you add a tbl or two of flour, but then there goes your gluten-free status and it works without. Fast, simple, good, and peanut butter cookies that actually taste like peanut butter rather than just an aftertaste-ishness of it.

  8. Kathy says:

    We’re not about to give up meat here in the mountains. I do enjoy a nice bean salad or soup (although try getting that one past hubby…eyeroll). I’m not a fruit fan but give me vegetables any ole time.

  9. Marjie says:

    I’m telling you, sub egg beaters for the eggs, and you’re a long way to losing the cholesterol. I almost cried when I realized that chicken and turkey are nearly as high-c as beef, but who’d ever dream that ham is a low cholesterol treat? This is so hard. Congrats on the 3 pounds. I lost 5 whilst my dearly beloved was in the hospital, staying there with him. And I”m happy to say I didn’t put it back on, but sad to say I could lose another 5 or 10 without issue.

  10. Blond Duck says:

    I must try the gluten free recipe!!!!!!!! I don’t know if I could look my protein in the eye, but I can definitely pick it up from the meat market…

  11. Sue says:

    I’ve used egg beaters fr years in cooking. You won’t notice the difference.

    Chan, you sound so stressed lately. I wish there was something I could do to help. Just know we’re here and we care.

  12. Krystle says:

    Huh! Flexitarian is a great way to describe that, and as it turns out I often flex too, and if it weren’t for P I’d prob veg 90% of the time well Veg + seafood…I’m sure I can dig up tons of good veg recipes for you that I’ve relied on over the years… there are some great alternate sources of protein out there these days. Glad to see you are still posting through the stress!
    xo, K

  13. monnibo says:

    I’d say use a vinaigrette dressing and toss in whatever you want. I like this recipe: http://www.bcliving.ca/food/easy-vinaigrette-bean-salad

Leave a Reply

