Hair-brained

UntitledSo, I had a regularly scheduled hair appointment last night.  I think I’ve been using the current stylist about a year, maybe more.  I trust her, we have a friendly rapport and I told her I was too blonde and something had to give.

Untitled

Neither of these photos are accurate.  The top left selfie was at 10  pm last night, after my appointment.   The right photo was taken outside in cloudy conditions, and is too orange.  There is a copper glow, but not THAT much!

We arrived at this hue after a lengthy discussion.  That’s one of the things I like about my standing, Friday evening sessions.  She’s a night owl engaged to a musician, and I am not in a hurry to get to anything, so there’s time to strategize before the work starts.   I had gotten too blonde for my liking (see here), but I also didn’t want to just glaze it on back to my natural blah brown.  Interestingly, on my laptop, the photo on the right is representative of the auburn highlights my natural color gets when I spend a lot of time in the sun in the summer.

Neither photo includes any make-up.  Maybe Easter family time will yield some good photos.

Have you ever made a wild swing in your hair color?  Any advice for the new redder me?

11 comments on “Hair-brained

  1. gmariesews says:

    Oh I like it. Just do what you usually do. See if The Knight or someone can catch some photos in and out of the sun. I’m so overdue for a cut and color it isn’t funny. I’m horrible about self care. Glad you have a standing appointment and keep it. 🙂 g

  2. Oh I love it Channon. I just get nervous about how the sun reacts too. I usually go a tad lighter in the Summer but I usually go with highlights. I love them but, my favorite hair person is in New York and for the life of me, and believe me I’ve tried, I can not get a good hair day person in my area for nothing! I’m actually thinking about waiting to go to Idaho to get it done.

    I agree with gMarie, Have the Knight take some shots:)

    Just in case I don’t “see” you tomorrow, Channon, wishing You, the Knight and those lovely girls of yours a Happy and Joyful Easter!

  3. Katherine says:

    I was a natural redhead before this gray thing started. I tried to go blond once and all I got was a lighter shade of red. Then, I tried to go auburn with a brown rinse and the red was as red as ever. There are some things you just can’t fight! I really like the color on the right. It is beautiful with your coloring.

  4. I like it :).
    I always, always, always procrastinate my hair appt until I’m ready to chop it myself then I’m frantic. I should keep standing appointments, would certainly cut down the self-imposed hair frustration. Good for you on keeping them.

  5. Kathy b says:

    Love it you look amazing

  6. Walden121 says:

    I like it! I’m going tomorrow to get my hair chopped off again after the long winter and am considering some color! We shall see! 🙂

  7. You are always lovely, so I look forward to Easter photos….just because!

  8. AlisonH says:

    Beautiful!

    I had auburn-medium brown hair before it went gray. Had the gray professionally dyed in my late 30’s after being asked if I were the mother of the bride? Um… So, yeah. Then eventually I went to just a rinse to let the permanent dye grow out and then I simply quit the rinse–meaning that I went from dyed to my natural gray in about two weeks.

    And someone at church asked me, Didn’t your hair go gray, like, real fast?

    Uh, yeah…!

  9. Sue says:

    I started out blonde. They the red started creeping in so I fixed that. Then that mishap happened and my hair was lavender for a few days. Then I went back to blonde, but I tried being a redhead for awhile. Then I went natural to see what it was because it had been so long, I’d forgotten. Didn’t like it so I’m doing blonde highlites. I used to go for the ash tones, but since getting older I thought ash might look like grey so I go for a brighter blonde. So far, so good. I’ll have a touchup and a cut on Wednesday and that should improve my mood.

  10. Christina says:

    Chan – I love it!

Leave a Reply

