Stress Awareness Month

So I stumbled across the fact that it’s National Stress Awareness Month.   That’s almost funny, given that it seems nearly everyone I talk to is under more stress than usual.

1667Here’s my take on it…  Stress is inevitable.  Life is going to continue to throw us curve balls, so the only thing we can do is have a plan for how to handle it.  I used to worry constantly, but at some point I realized that Mary Engelbreit knew what she was talking about.

I’m a woman of action.  Despite being a philosophy student, somewhere along the line, I decided that if I can’t do something about it, there’s no point in worrying about it.  That changed my stress level significantly.

As for stress management, I have the two best stress busters in the world.  It’s hard to stay wound up when the furgirls greet me so enthusiastically and want nothing more than for me to pay attention to them and to lace up my running shoes and head out with them for still more stress reduction in the form of a walk or a run.

What stresses you?  How to do you relieve that stress?

10 comments on “Stress Awareness Month

  1. Susan says:

    Nothing reduces stress like rubbing a crazy puppy, who loves you unconditionally!!!!!

  2. nancytimber says:

    I reduced my stress by retiring. ;o)

    Knitting and reading are also other ways I reduce daily stress.

  3. Katherine says:

    Talk about stress–I have a big problem! We came home from lunch with the family yesterday and either Macy or Max had left a big wet spot on our new couch. They are 12 and 5 and have never wet inside, so why now? DH says it is separation anxiety but again, why now? Ten tax clients lined up waiting to see me don’t cause as much stress as two dogs playing games with me. Help!!

  4. KM says:

    I’ve been saying no a lot. That seems to help quite a bit. I’ve been sleeping a lot. I realized that how much sleep I get really affects how my day goes. I tried setting goals for each month and somewhere mid April I realized that I’ve completely fallen off the cart. I need to have enough grace for myself… To be okay with what I haven’t gotten done.

    I bought a pair of exercise pants yesterday. With all your exercise/yoga/wogging wear… I’m wondering if you’ve ever tried Victoria’s Secret pants? I got the VS Knockout Crop. I can’t speak for how they wear over a length of time yet. But, I can say they feel amazing.

    Hoppy Easter to everyone in the woods.

  5. Sue says:

    STRESS!!! There’s too much of it going around. I find I can ofetn put stressful thoughts in the back of my mind during the day, but they creep out at night and disturb my sleep. I don’t know which is wore, not being able to sleep or having bad dreams.

  6. Marjie says:

    After my dearly beloved dodged that bullet in January, nothing stresses me much any more. Don’t feel well enough to do something which “must” be done? Don’t do it. Not enough time? Chuck something. When the person you love best in the world comes this close to dying, it makes everything else trivial. Hell, we even sent off our tax checks 4 days before we “had to”.

  7. AlisonH says:

    Knitting in happy anticipation of making someone else happy–best way to banish stress. No calories, either!

  8. Totally agree with you and Ms Englebreit. Life became more than I could bear, which forced me to make changes….I have learned to have boundaries, which is good for reducing stress as it turns out.

  9. What stresses me? family, the twin and Mr. B on a regular basis. Knitting and reading have a tremendous calming effect. Like you, I’m learning if I can’t fix it then there’s no sense in stressing about it.
    p.s. I’m still trying to fix the twin and his dog 😉

  10. Nichole says:

    I’ve got 4 wonderful stressbusters myself… along with my needles and some uber-soft yarn. You’re right – stress and life tend to go hand-in-hand these days. I’m trying to worry less…

Leave a Reply

