Coffee with Friends

July 2010 005This post was inspired by Back Home Blue.  Those of you who click over will see first-hand that the JLC really does have some of the most delightful women in the world!  She’s droll, sweet, confident and sometimes sassy, and she’s also a podunk native with the cutest Yorkie-boy terrier.  I hope you’ll love her – and Knox (the dog) – as much as I do.

The premise – as I understand it – is I’ll post as though we were hanging out, chatting over coffee, tea or whatever, just a couple of friends catching up on life.  I might even let you use one of my favorite mugs – blue, in honor of sweet Sarah of BHB!

If we were having coffee (tea, a glass of wine, whatevs), I’d tell you…

  • Evidently, I don’t look in a mirror much during the day, because I’m really not sure what color my hair is, but I like it.  In fact, I think it kinda’ matches the furgirls, from back in the day before Sissy started fading out to not quite white.
  • Sometimes, you don’t know how precious family and traditions are until you have to skip one.  While we missed going to the farm because I had a migraine, it was nice to have a good chat with my aunt this evening and know that we were missed too.
  • I have a rather disgusting fondness for Reeses Pieces eggs.  They’re roughly twice the size of regular Reeses Pieces, so that means more peanut butter yumminess.
  • Maybe I’d serve Tazo Zen, a lemongrass and spearmint green tea.  I have some every single day, plain.
  • I’d ask you to click and give a free book to a child, because reading is as natural to me as breathing and it breaks my heart that not all children have access to books.
  • And after a while, I’d get restless and ask if you’d like to go for a walk… or maybe shopping.  Does hair color change what colors I can wear around my face?  I mean, I know it makes my eyes pop…

What would you share?

15 comments on “Coffee with Friends

  1. Barbara says:

    Love your coffee cup!
    Sorry you missed the festivities….I know you’re feeling better by now!

  2. nancytimber says:

    What a fun post. Nothing like chatting with friends, sipping tea, and knitting a few rounds.

    Hope your nasty headache is gone!

  3. Krystle says:

    I just clicked over and voted for the Giving Tree… that book pricks tears in my eyes every single time I read it to the kiddos. I too, love sharing the experience of snuggling up with a good book and a cup of coffee/tea or even glass of wine.

    I like this idea of just hanging around and enjoying a cup of whatever… but I too would want to go for a walk or shopping. I’m not so good and just enjoying being still.

  4. gmariesews says:

    Yes, your hair color will change some of what you can wear around your face. Will take a look at the book link. Oh – take those reeses pieces eggs and nuke them for about 10 seconds, the peanut butter will turn into melty goodness while the outside should stay intake. It’s fantastic!!

    Love your favorite mug. I have a beautiful china dog mug the I only drink tea out of. Although it’s not a tea mug – if that makes sense. I’ll have to have a coffee chat too. I would sit and visit and then eventually I would grab my knitting – if my hands are busy the rest of me is okay being still. 🙂 Totally wish we could get together for coffee! g

  5. Katherine says:

    I would share that I love Tazo teas, especially Calm. I would also share that I hate oatmeal but DH has a way of making it that is yummy. He uses steel cut oatmeal and makes it in the crockpot overnight with cinnamon and brown sugar. Yum, yum!

    When my hair was red I wore lots of pink, red, brown and blue, but I could not wear yellow. That makes me wonder if it isn’t more about the skin tone rather than the hair color.

  6. Perfect calming post following the stress buster one.
    I like the mug

  7. Question: Do you know of any good dressy work shoes with support?

  8. Nichole says:

    What a fun post! While I just had my own colored a couple weeks ago, I swear it changes in every single mirror I look in these days……

  9. kathy b says:

    Great way to post Channon.
    I’d share:
    My new knitting pattern that I got FREE in Norfolk with Al this weekend.
    I’d tell you that we need a new washer and ask what kind you have.
    Then we’d just talk about our fur babies and sip tea

  10. Terrie says:

    What a fun post; love that coffee cup! I clicked over to give a free book to a child. Thanks for sharing the link 🙂

  11. AlisonH says:

    One Green Eggs And Ham on its way, and thank you for the heads-up about that.

  12. Yes, hair color definitely changes wardrobe colors (to a degree). Whenever I dye mine a red, I end up looking wonky in my pink outfits. 😉

    Off to click the book link. ((hugs))

  13. I recognize that tea mug! Let’s start with the weather, what a spring we’re having! Oh, and the allergies, are they affecting the fur Grrls too? And I bought this fab tea yesterday at Home Goods, and found an awesome site for buying dresses( and other clothes) that will custom make to our measurements!! EShakti.com. And lastly, why is it that my Spring Break week is busier than non-break weeks?

  14. Sue says:

    Sue and I used to have some wonderful conversations over tea. Best were the ones where we started laughing and then everything became hilarious.

Leave a Reply

