Bits and Bobs

Yet another week where life turned on its ear, but it’s all good stuff.  I have a great opportunity for work and was reminded again that not only did I accidentally land in the right job, but I have the best friends ever.   Instead of asking me how I could put them in such a position, they’re excited for me and while I don’t take their support for granted, I know they always have my back.  (So there’s your Thankful Thursday moment, even though I doubt any of you will actually read this on Thursday.)

And no, I didn’t forget Thorsday… never will, even when I can’t manage to get a post up.  I have a question for you over on the girls’ blog

I’m already sipping my Sleepytime Throat Tamer tea, so I’m not in a state to give you a well-organized list of things I’ve found online this week or any such cool thing, but here are some bits and bobs you might find interesting:

    • No, I’m not sick.  Dangitall, my allergies found me.  I’ve been battling itchy, “weak” eyes for several days, my nose is all goobered up (sorry… over-sharing seems to be my theme for the day), and now, there’s been enough “drip” that my throat is sore.  WAH!
    • And no, I can’t take allergy meds.  Like wee Gretchen Greer, my body just doesn’t respond well to some drugs.
    • I finally got you a decent photo of my hair color.  I don’t know what it will look like on your monitor, but I’m happy, the Knight is happy, and nearly everyone who has bothered to comment has been quite positive.

Untitled

Untitled

  • Because it’s Thorsday (as I’m composing this), we need a gratuitous doggy photo.  Enter Ellie, the unofficial canine representative in the JLC.  She’s such a sweetheart!
  • I’m sure I had more to say, but my tea is working and my brain is not.

What’s new with you?

 

16 comments on “Bits and Bobs

  1. Warm lemon water… changes the acidity in your body and makes colds/viruses not want to live inside of you. 😉

    • Jessica says:

      Oh excellent! I am going to try this one! I think I just saw an article on this the other day on Zite…I didn’t read it though…need to go back and try to find it.

  2. AlisonH says:

    Grapes have zinc in them. Throw some in the blender with your orange juice.

    Meantime, I love your hair! That’s the color mine was before the gray, so, y’know, I’m kinda partial there.

  3. Mary says:

    Love the hair color.

    I am with you on the allergies and the no-meds. Doberman is ‘not amused’ at my repetitious sneezing (never less than 3 at a time and sometimes more like 10 or 12), although she doesn’t mind eating the tissues if I forget to dispose of them quickly enough. She must believe on wiping from the inside out given the amount of paper products she consumes.

  4. Jessica says:

    GAH…allergies. I am in a fog. The pressure in my sinuses is tres annoying. Luckily not a ton of drip, but I wake up totally stuffed up every day, usually followed by a sneezing jag. I was doing a field lab the other day, and my Prof instructed that I stick my nose RIGHT UP to a dogwood flower and inhale sharply to get the scent. Um, NO. Not interested in self sabotage, thank you.

    Love the pic….your hair is a lovely shade, it is a great photo…and I am loving the denim jacket. details please! I need to update mine, I think it is well over ten years old.

  5. Barbara says:

    Now that’s a great hair photo. I love it!
    My allergies are year round….not as severe as yours, however. A sniff of Afrin takes care of mine for a few hours.
    Also, am a firm believe in a Wellness capsule from Whole Foods that I take every day. Who knows if it’s mental or not? It seems to work. After having said that, I’ll probably come down with a terrible cold. Nancy, my Key West born forever best friend used to use the expression: “don’t put your mouth on that” meaning don’t jinx yourself by saying that.

  6. nancytimber says:

    Have you tried Refresh PM eye ointment for your itchy eyes. My optometrist recommended it. It helps, but put it in right before going to bed because you will NO be able to see anything. It has relieved my itchy and watering allergy eyes.

    Love the new color: it looks great!

  7. kathy b says:

    Have you tried eye drops or nasal spray that are not systemic? THey work for me. …..
    I LOVE your hair . You look beautiful

  8. Katherine says:

    I am a Tazo Calm tea drinker–several cups a day at least and I believe it helps my itchy nose, eyes and throat. Maybe it’s just what I tell myself.

    What’s new? Time to read and knit, and I am not managing it very well because I keep thinking I should be working.

  9. Marjie says:

    Shannon brought a dog for whom she was babysitting over Easter weekend. I was sick that weekend, but managed to get a nice lamb dinner out anyway. I’m finally getting over it, but now have business issues clubbing me over the head. Ack! Try Refresh Optive eye drops in the daytime (recommended by the surgeon who fixed hubby’s cataracts), and peppermint tea helps clear my head and throat when the postnasal drip drives me nuts. I don’t have allergies, but I get some wicked attacks of bronchitis (like the one that’s gripped me for 2 weeks now), and it relieves the cough and stuffed up head.

    Or just try what everyone else suggests; they sound like great ideas to me.

  10. Kathy says:

    Your hair looks great! I also like the denim jacket. And what’s that underneath, polka dots? Cute look.

  11. Your hair, and it’s color, look lovely. As you know, been suffering for a solid month with the allergy/asthma thing. I double my vitamin C…it does help, as do some of the herbal allergy things I have tried in the past. OTC allergy drugs and I do NOT get along!

  12. Love the pic 🙂
    I have no advice…my inhalant is attached by it’s umbilical cord to my body 😉

  13. StarSpry says:

    I love the hair color! It looks great 🙂 I hope the allergy issues go away soon!

  14. Allergy season is definitely upon us, Channon. I’m so thankful that I don’t have allergies. However, both my kids do and Tabi does too. Michele swears by her essential oils for helping reive those allergies. I’ll have to find out which ones. There are tons of “home remedies” on Pinterest too.

    LOVE the hair! Just perfect! Thanks for sharing, Channon…

    P.S. What’s this I heard, one of the girls got bit?

  15. Nichole says:

    LOVE the hair – color and cut! Looks great on you! Are you able to use any drops in your eyes? After last month’s eye doc visit, I’m now using Zaditor…. so far, so good. Allergies are AWFUL this year and it has been helping.

Leave a Reply

