Discuss… Most Famous Books Map

business-insider-most-famous-book-set-in-each-state

 

Right off the bat, I disagree.  Do you?

Given current events, I’d argue that Flowers in the Attic is the most famous book set in Virginia, but certainly the ones that resonate most with me are the books by Marguerite Henry about the ponies of Chincoteague.

What about your state(s)?

14 comments on “Discuss… Most Famous Books Map

  1. Never heard of state set and certainly never heard of the one for my state. I agree to disagree

  2. AlisonH says:

    Misty of Chincoteague, definitely. I would say more Grapes of Wrath than East of Eden for California–but then I knew two people (who never knew each other to the best of my knowledge) who were both young teens when their families left Oklahoma for here. One definitely had rough edges and the other was a talented musician, a marvelous man and a gracious friend to all. His son helped produce a rock album that put Grapes of Wrath to music.

  3. Katherine says:

    No Country For Old Men? It’s okay but they could have done better, like Gates Of The Alamo.
    I am currently reading The Paris Architect and starting to feel it is one of my all time favorites.

  4. nancytimber says:

    Oh yes, I disagree. Looks like someone want to make political statements rather than focusing of good books.

  5. kathy b says:

    Huge Barbara Kingsolver fan so I agree with az. Iowa too: loved A Thousand Acres, MO, Loved Huck Finn of course, and SC Secret Life of Bees is a masterpiece….
    lots of opinions about the others.
    What a cool map . Will share with AL!

  6. Marjie says:

    Some of those books don’t even belong in the same room with others. Twilight and Gatsby? No comparison. In summation: “What Nancy Timber said.”

  7. Kathy says:

    I saw that map a while back in our local newspaper. Online a bunch of people made their choices for Texas. I think the alternate choices were all over the map, so to speak. Last year I went on a geologic field trip to south Texas, the setting for No Country for Old Men. I both watched the movie and read the book as preparation. I thought it was excellent. My previous attempts to read Cormac McCarthy were derailed by his lack of punctuation, yet this story was so engrossing that I didn’t even notice.

    As for my home state of Colorado and a huge, longtime fan (over 30 years) of Stephen King, I totally agree with The Shining. I reread it last summer in anticipation of a fall book release featuring the little boy all grown up.

    Did you see the tv production of Flowers in the Attic last fall? When I was in middle school I read the novel secretly since my mom didn’t approve of it. After the movie I reread the book. Amazing how much I remembered!

    Sorry so long! Books are hugely important to me.

  8. Kathy says:

    What are the current events you refer to? Been on vacation, not caught up yet.

  9. Barbara says:

    Huh? What a crock. Books are way too personal for a generalization like this. Did they choose Hemingway for Florida because he had a home in the Keys?

  10. Oh no, a book agenda! I’m with Marjie and Nancy on this one, Channon…

  11. Not happy with Old Country….

  12. Most famous? What, pray tell, exactly does that mean? I cannot consider East of Eden anywhere near the most famous book set in CA, as in the modern day fewer than the folks out there even know it exists. More inclined to agree with Alison re Grapes of Wrath, as last I checked it was still required reading in many High Schools.

  13. Nichole says:

    I’m not even familiar with my current states’ book, although my home state of MA and nearby ME sure sound about right!

  14. Sue says:

    I consider New York my state, so I guess Gatsby is an OK choice, but I’d pick A Tree Grows In Brooklyn.

Leave a Reply

