Sunshine on a Cloudy Day

Happy Thorsday, little friday, thankful thursday, last board meeting as president, May Day…

DSCN1799The deer have eaten my rose bushes – and everything else that ever was green – so there are no raindrops on roses and I’m allergic to kittens, but there are still plenty of favorite things to make me smile.

Not everything is a cause for celebration.  The girls’ blog talks about another hurdle we’re trying to cross.  I am very grateful that Sis is okay, but my spirit is broken.  I’ve lost faith in some people, and in my own ability to keep my dogs safe, but full disclosure…  I did buy a new pair of PANK trail shoes earlier this week, so not all hope is gone.

Ebb and flow is the way of life, but this afternoon, I received one of the greatest compliments of my life.  A teenage girl, about as typical as they come (angst, challenges authority, heard moaning, “I hate my life” and the like regularly), greeted me brightly and then opened her arms wide and we hugged.

And hugged.  And held on.  And whispered things I won’t share.  Growing up can be hard, and I think she really knows not only is she the only one ever, but her parents aren’t the only adults who care deeply about her.

Neither of us are overtly affectionate, which only made the moment all the more precious.

And sometimes, being honored is inconvenient.  That’s all I’m going to say about that for now, but has anyone else ever thought, “Oh, what an honor — I just wish the timing was better”?

The sunshine and roses will be back soon.  In the meantime, I’ll take a rainy day hold tight and sway with a young friend every single time.  A resilient dog with plenty of kisses and sassy demands for a walk – even in the rain, even after being attacked – makes the world a better place too.

And yeah, I do sing “My Girl” to the furgirls, along with “You are my Sunshine.”

What lifts you up or puts sunshine on a cloudy day for you?

 

11 comments on “Sunshine on a Cloudy Day

  1. Katherine says:

    Last night our son took Macy and Max for a walk. He was a little miffed that I insisted they be on leashes, but finally he agreed because I am fearful every time they are out of my sight and he didn’t want me to worry.

    Macy and Max make me happy everyday. They make me laugh and lift my spirits. I can’t do enough for those two little fur-babies to make up for all they give me. I don’t sing to them though because they howl when I do. They have no taste in music!

  2. AlisonH says:

    I got a note from the woman I’d sent a chemo cap off to, the mom of the UCSF researcher. She loved it–and she’s a knitter! Who knew!

  3. Mary says:

    Teenagers need (safe) adults other than Mom and Dad to 1) talk to, 2) to have as mentors, 3) to listen to them as they make the transition from childhood to adulthood. And, yes, the timing of encounter may rarely be convenient, just necessary. What is more important than a human encounter where sometimes words are unnecessary in conveying the importance of the moment?

    Just look around these days: how many folks actually LISTEN to each other? SEE each other (and therefore might be able to discern by body language alone when someone is in distress). And that goes double for teenagers. Folks are too often plugged in to their tech devices and totally unaware of the people sitting next to them (while they text each other :)). Your teenage friend is lucky to have you in her life.

  4. nancytimber says:

    Mary’s thoughts echo my own.

    As for the cloudy days, “the sun will come out tomorrow. Tomorrow there’ll be sun!”

  5. kathy b says:

    You are too funny, allergic to kittens. Here’s how I chase the clouds away:
    have a coke and a smile
    buy something on Etsy
    or
    make cookies

  6. kathy b says:

    Oh and you I had a great conversation in C’ville about how I believe it takes a village !! especially with daughters

  7. Marjie says:

    Some days go better than others. But my dearly beloved is alive and greatly improved, and that makes even the most difficult of days wonderful.

    My lawyer daughter is involved in Big Brothers/Big Sisters! Is she not wonderful? I am so proud. Professor son and his bride-to-be are about to move back home for 3 months, until his teaching gig in CT starts (no sense paying rent, when instead they can camp out here, and use this as the base for mini vacations, including excursions to try to locate suitable housing). That will be nice, too.

    I read about the girls’ scary encounter. I do wish you could get the sheriff involved – he has to be friendly with your Knight, after all, and it looks like that will be the only way to get Mr. Irresponsible to do something about that cursed dog!

  8. Sue says:

    I’m stuck in the dark clouds right now and I don’t see that changing till Fudge’s surgery is over. This was a blow that I wasn’t expecting and it really hit hard.

  9. Nichole says:

    It’s always nice to receive some admiration – and yes, a hug – from those we least expect it from. Wonderful! 🙂 Sorry to hear about all the other crapola you’re dealing with…… I hope you can find some time with your needles, and furgirls curled up next to you…….

  10. Barbara says:

    What a sweet hug from that girl! Sometimes things come out of left field to surprise and please us. That’s enough to make anyone’s day!

  11. Sorry about the encounter with the girls :/. People should keep their dogs confined/leashes etc but sadly too many do not. We have the same problem in this neck of the woods.
    You and your teen friend are lucky to have one another. It’s important for teens to have solid mentors in their lives as confidants.
    What makes me happy?
    A baby’s smile
    A phone call from our youngest (her vibrance and enthusiasm for life is bound to make anyone smile)
    Good behavior from a pet (Mr. Bettis 😉 )
    And last but not least a yarn package in the mail 😀

Leave a Reply

