Virtual Shopping Carts

I prefer to shop online for convenience, time and because it suits my analysis paralysis problem quite well.  Things either wait for me to make up my mind or disappear.  I’m a big believer that what is meant to be will be, so if something vanishes before I decide to click and enter my credit card info, so be it.  Ironically, I shop in quite the opposite manner in person.  I’ll either stomp out in frustration very quickly or buy something that might not be what I was looking for just because it’s there.

So I thought it would be fun to share what’s in my train of virtual carts today:

n252s_4At Stella & Dot – the Madeline Pearl Necklace.  I love pearls, freshwater, cultured and of course, the luxurious natural sea varieties as well.  I finally decided that I’m a grown-up, and it’s not my fault (well… maybe it is, but I’m forgiving infant me for taking too long to come out) that I was born roughly 9 hours too late for the pearl to be my official birthstone.  So… I’m claiming it as my gem of choice and that’s that.

I love that this scattered strand can be looped as many times as it suits me, and it’s unlike any of the other pearl necklaces in my possession.   Besides, a new friend is having a party, and that’s way more than enough justifying the purchase, right?

cbd11pwo9rs_3_3_1Sticking with the baubles theme, I still don’t have a bangle from Alex and Ani.  I like the idea of the paw print, but the weirdness at the bottom of the design has kept me from completing the purchase.   I am seeing more and more of their bangles around, and I am drawn to them, but even with the modest price point, I want it to be just right, you know?

And what is with the bottom of the design?  It reminds me of siamese twin sheep or something.  (See?!  I just don’t think this is the one for me, but none of the others leap out either.)

 

42075031_7920 41075042_5958Next up, I have a couple of shirts in a cart at Talbots.  I have a gift card there, and I’ve nearly spent it several times, but I just can’t seem to find something I can’t live without.  Maybe one – or both? – of these shirts will do the trick?

The blouse on the far left has a sorta’ seahorse motif, and the floral on the near left is definitely bigger and bolder than my norm for a blouse, but I like the colors and find I enjoy feminine touches in my work attire now that skirts and dresses simply are not functional.  Talbots is definitely my favorite button-up shirt source; I think almost all of mine have their label inside, and they last forever.  My very favorite long sleeved Talbots denim shirt is at least 15 years old and still looks no worse than “broken in.”

2648659-p-MULTIVIEWThen at 6pm, I have these NYDJ crops.  I wore my green cord skinny jeans earlier this week, and with highs near 70 and humidity above that, it’s time to retire them until fall.  Anyone out there familiar with NYDJ?  Wouldn’t the left-most Talbots top and these jeans be a great almost year-round casual work outfit – with much more practical shoes?!

I never wear heels with ankle pants to work.  In fact, the only way I wear heels to work is in boots, and even then, they are 2″ or lower.  I was caught needing to till – steer the back end of a ladder truck – last week and even in practical flats, as I climbed down, I missed my sturdier footwear.

I also need a couple of new sports bras and tanks, but even with some great sales online, I haven’t gotten there yet.

zu7868687_main_tm1392846448And speaking of boots, of course I have a pair in a cart at Zulily!  These Johnny Ringos are full of springtime happiness, aren’t they?  The next few months are going to be challenging at work, because I love me some bare feet in the summertime, and I definitely can’t do open toes at work.  My feet sweat, and I don’t love capris – my summer bottom of choice – with boots either, but see above…  there are days when I miss my boots if I don’t wear them.

Sigh.  Queue Tammy Wynette’s “Sometimes it’s hard to be a woman…” (aka: her legendary hit Stand By Your Man).  My male co-workers are required to wear safety boots, so they don’t have my flexibility – or the dilemma!

Do you have anything in any shopping carts?

8 comments on “Virtual Shopping Carts

  1. AlisonH says:

    A color of colourmart silk yarn that popped up yesterday after spending, clearly, a year in someone else’s basket. To match the one that popped up the day before, same dye lot, which is already on its way here. There’s no question I’m going to buy it, so I might as well get on with it.

    Love those boots and clothes! I seem to be on a bright-clothes kick myself. Bring on the Spring!

  2. Kathy says:

    In my mental shopping cart there’s a pair of North Face shorts. I think I’m going to REI to buy them soon.

  3. Shopping carts? Oh yeah….like skeins of wonderfully colored yarn on almost every yarn site I have ever visited 😀

  4. nancytimber says:

    I prefer to hold a catalog to browse and dream. I dog-ear pages and go back when I am pleased with the choices. I order online, but I do like to hold an actual catalog.

  5. kathy b says:

    I love to read my Channon Fashion Blog . I am so much more aware of my shopping/clother choices because of you. I love my TOMS shoes. I really do. I’ll buy another pair.
    I just bought a Boulder Band for my hair: jury is still out. I love the color.
    I need to buy more spring summer tops. I lean to tshirts but they are not flattering for the most part to a 54 year old!

  6. My shopping cars are empty! I do have to get my butt to Talbots though. I love there button down shirts and as Kathy said, tee shirts aren’t the most flattering anymore when you get to a certain age especially the way they are making them now. (sorry I need a real sleeve thank you very much:) Your line, I know:) Thanks for sharing, Channon…Pearls are my official birthstone, I think:) I’ll swap you:)

  7. Katherine says:

    I dump things in my shopping cart and forget them for days. Sometimes one or two items are gone but I tell myself that what is left was meant to be. I love the pearl necklace!! Justification? The older I get the less justification I need for buying an item. The green shirt and crops are perfect together and for you! Love them.

  8. Nichole says:

    I LOVE Alex and Ani, although my collection has only grown to 3 so far. I do have the paw one and was just like you about the weirdness aspect. It’s actually the NYC skyline, as the proceeds from this “charity by design” bracelet benefit the Mayor’s Alliance for NYC animals. Given A&A’s hometown of Providence, I sure wish this was Boston instead, but it’s ok…. the cause is all good with me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

