Lots o’ Color

Some people are just naturally thoughtful givers.  GMarie is one of those souls.  She kindly test-knit my first attempt at a pattern, and made the socks for me!  See?  They fit perfectly!  I put them on right away last night, and Gretchen was especially taken with the smells, presumably from G’s four houndies.  Thank you, my friend!

I still have one more FO report, so here it is. 

That’s close to life-sized on this monitor.  It’s preemie hat #2 for Nic‘s collection. 

Pattern:  When I saw Dianne‘s hats for Nic, I knew I had to give the Mock Rib and Eyelet  Preemie Hat a try.  Sweet!  I have decided that for charity and/or kiddo hat knitting, I really like a ribbed pattern, so this one will almost assuredly get knitted up again.  I cast on for the large size, and I do believe this will fit most newborns, so I hope it will work for a larger preemie…

Yarn:  Plymouth’s Dreambaby.  I have no idea where it came from, but it was the first DK baby yarn I ran across in my stash.  It’s fine for an acrylic, and the colors made me happy.  (This photo shows the hat stretched out just a tiny bit…)

Needles:  I used my Bryspun #5 x 24″ circs (also gifted by G).  Not ideal for Magic Looping, but I managed.

Verdict:  A quick, easy project!

Sissy: I cant watch her ALL the time!

Sissy: I can't watch her ALL the time!

So, the weekend.  I’m still keeping a very low profile due to back pain/weakness.  It’s worlds better than it was, particular if I do absolutely nothing.  However, tonight the Knight is taking me to dinner and to the mall, because we have a retirement dinner to attend tomorrow night for a handful of my former co-workers.  Gretchen has seen to it that I will NOT wear the black heels and slacks I’d planned.  Sissy came to the shower door and had a FIT this morning, so I knew there was a problem.  I emerged to find my formerly perfect baby gnawing off the heel of one of the black slings I bought in December to replace the black mules that Sissy ate.   

Did I mention the Knight was a mere two feet from Gretchen?  Snoring away, oblivious to Sissy’s distress and Gretchen’s destruction…  There’s no way he’s getting out of taking me shopping.  Firstly, my back isn’t up to driving across town to the mall.  Secondly, had he gone to sleep at a reasonable hour, he wouldn’t have still been dead to the world at 7:38 this morning.

And I need a dress that will allow the brace to hide underneath.  The brace sits on my hips, so I figure something that isn’t a knit, maybe with a princess or A-line cut??  (Hmmm…  Can’t find what I want online, so how successful will I be at a store?)  I get two pairs of shoes out of the deal too, just because I’m angry that the Knight slumbered away.  Sissy was loud and upset, so a normal person – wait… a normal person would be up at 7:38 when he is to clock in by 8am – would have heard her.  Two pairs, you ask?  Why, yes.  It’s not purely petty; I figure I must replace the black heels before I need them, and I’ll need something cute and flat with decent support for tomorrow night.

Sunday, we follow our Easter tradition and head to the farm for an afternoon dinner.  I doubt I’ll be able to manage church – I know from past back issues that the pews will cause spasms before the first reading is over – but maybe something will be on TV…

Quant beginnings

Quant beginnings

I’ll be knitting too.  I cast on for Quant again last night, this time in Noro Matsuri I had in my stash.  I also have plenty of secret knitting to do, my own test-knit of my sock pattern, a crochet short-sleeved sweater, Ziggy, and who know what will jump on the needles or demand that I grab a hook?

What about you?  Are you celebrating Easter or Passover?  I’m dreading going candy shopping tonight too…  I don’t have anyone to buy chocolate-covered marshmallow eggs for this year.  May your weekend be blessed, whether it has a spiritual significance or not.

18 comments on “Lots o’ Color

  1. Sue says:

    I really liked that little hat pattern, too. I downloaded it and will try it soon. I like the happy colors in your hat.

    I get a kick out of Sissy’s telling on Gretchen. Monty used to do that. He’d meet me at the door all agitated and lead me to the damage. He was always sure to let me know he had no part in the destruction and was happy to point out the culprits.

  2. Barbara S. says:

    Well, since I live with someone who has been known to sleep up until five or ten minutes before they are supposed to be at a meeting….. Darn good thing he can phone in to some of them.
    My weekend? DTE will be home tonight, Altar Guild tomorrow and Sunday, acolyte/reader/chalice at early service, who knows what else for church, and getting ready to leave.
    How long can you stand? OK, probably not through a whole Easter service and I suppose you have already thought of the “take a pillow to sit on option.” I just know how much you really wanted to be in church this week. LHP.

  3. gaylen says:

    I really should take time to wash stuff before I mail it out. I can totally see Abby hair in that photo – no wonder Gretchie was all over them! I’m so glad they fit. They were a breeze to knit and the instructions were fabulous.

    Love the second baby hat. Yea, JB can do the same thing.

    Have you considered a portable cushion with lumbar support? Might get you through the service you so want to attend. Enjoy the shopping, but don’t overdo it. g

  4. Bubblesknits says:

    That’s just like the one that I just sent to Nichole. lol Even the yarn is almost the same. 🙂

    Okay, Gretchie…it’s only fair you go after some of the Knight’s stuff after this.

  5. Sue J. says:

    So glad to hear your back is better, Chan. Have a happy Easter and a great weekend. It will be quiet here because The Deputy is working. I intend to knit all weekend long.

  6. km says:

    Things are slowing down around here. I’m so glad. I’m about to go turn on the TV and knit. I know…I’m shocking myself.

  7. Dawn says:

    Love that hat! Have fun shopping!

    Have a blessed weekend! Lots of love and hugs!

  8. Sonya says:

    Very cute hat.
    I think it is very reasonable to get two pairs of shoes. One to replace the chewed pair and one to ease your suffering at the loss of the first pair.

    Hope you have a great weekend.

  9. Nancy says:

    That hat is cute. But,Oh NO! Poor shoes…Bad Gretchen, Good Sissy and BAD DADDY! Happy shopping..I hope you find what you need. Being shoe challenged as I am, I ususally buy 2 of whatever I find I like since I might not ever get them again. And, I love the socks! Very nice. I hope you’re feeling better!

  10. Nichole says:

    hmpfr to the Knight… but we all know how our kids ate my cell phone that HE put on the coffee table and didn’t hear/pay attention to the commotion, so I can relate… :/ Except that I had to pay to replace my phone!

    Good luck – I’m still in search of something to wear to next Sat’s wedding, but I DID get a pair of shoes yesterday.

  11. MrPuffy says:

    Awesome socks! Congratulations on coming up with such a cute pattern 🙂

    Hum. Must rummage stash to see what yarn would work with Quant!

    We celebrate both Passover and Easter 🙂 Have a joyous Easter!

  12. Dianne says:

    He slept through that? I think you need a new dress, two pair of shoes, a couple of Namaste bags, and lots and lots of yarn. 🙂

  13. grace says:

    For someone who is lying low you have a pretty busy weekend plan. We do too, but Deep down I want to hide, I don’t even want to knit, I have finished 2 projects recently (one today) that are total disasters, I am embarrassed by them to the fullest extent, I cast on Raha ===a scarf by Nancy Bush a little while a go I figure I can’t go wrong with a scarf!! At least I hope so.

    Easter will be at my sister’s its my BIL”s birthday too!

    Have a wonderful Easter

  14. monnibo says:

    awww i love the colours in the preemie hat! EASTER in a hat!

  15. Anita says:

    Love the socks!! They came out great!! And it’s YOUR pattern, how awesome is that?! 🙂

    I love that photo of Gretchie running with the ball, she looks so silly. LOL And she is still perfect! So is Sissy!!! (Hey it’s my world, I can have it the way I want it! he eh)

    Did you get some shoes & a dress?

  16. Criquette says:

    So sorry to read about your back problems. I have a bad lower back and throw it out from time to time. I don’t know if you’ve tried ThermaCare pain patches, but when I’m in the pain-spasm-pain cycle, I find that they provide enormous relief, especially when I’m having to get up and down from sitting a lot. Hope you feel better soon!

  17. Kathy says:

    Love the knitting.
    Has Gretchen been reading Mr. B’s antics? LOL

  18. […] Yarn:  Plymouth Dreambaby DK.  See HERE.  […]

Leave a comment